Page 1 of 1

[Mod] change meta of nodes [ownerhack]

PostPosted: Tue Oct 06, 2015 12:13
by AiTechEye
This tool let you change metadata in node / blocks with a simple tool
Requires server priv

/giveme ownerhack:tool
or
/giveme hacktool

Licenses: code LGPL 2.1 media CC BY-SA 3.0
Depends: none

Image

Re: [Mod] ownerhack (change meta of nodes

PostPosted: Tue Oct 06, 2015 15:37
by Ferk
Nice idea.
I actually wanted to do something like this for my game as well. This is nice for adventure maps and challenge rooms since you can alter all sort of stuff from the nodes without having to add a special case and a formspec to every node you want.

Re: [Mod] ownerhack (change meta of nodes

PostPosted: Wed Oct 07, 2015 15:13
by Dorje
Nice and useful to name nodes and change owners! :)

Re: [Mod] ownerhack (change meta of nodes

PostPosted: Wed Oct 07, 2015 16:33
by Hybrid Dog
If you could also edit meta ints, you would be able to do cheats in the technic mod l assume. meta int and meta string are separated, aren't they?

Re: [Mod] ownerhack (change meta of nodes

PostPosted: Mon Oct 12, 2015 15:42
by Dorje
if i use a sign (like locked sign from the mod) it glitches out and also shows the part u need to write and overlaps everything so u cant press send :/

Re: [Mod] ownerhack (change meta of nodes

PostPosted: Mon Oct 12, 2015 15:50
by jp
Hybrid Dog wrote:meta int and meta string are separated, aren't they?

Not really, you can convert a meta string to a meta int in using it.

Re: [Mod] ownerhack (change meta of nodes

PostPosted: Mon Oct 12, 2015 17:00
by rubenwardy
All meta data is stored as strings. Integers are stored like "123". As JP said.

Re: [Mod] ownerhack (change meta of nodes

PostPosted: Tue Oct 13, 2015 15:02
by Hybrid Dog
rubenwardy wrote:All meta data is stored as strings. Integers are stored like "123". As JP said.

ok, thanks, so is it faster to use meta:get_string(name) ~= "" instead of meta:get_int(name) ~= 0?

Re: [Mod] ownerhack (change meta of nodes

PostPosted: Thu Dec 03, 2015 17:02
by jan6
why can't see any data about chests when i click them? only edit fields... btw where can i find all the strings to edit?

Re: [Mod] ownerhack (change meta of nodes

PostPosted: Fri Dec 04, 2015 16:25
by AiTechEye
Hybrid Dog wrote:
rubenwardy wrote:All meta data is stored as strings. Integers are stored like "123". As JP said.

ok, thanks, so is it faster to use meta:get_string(name) ~= "" instead of meta:get_int(name) ~= 0?


var=~"" should be faster



jan6 wrote:
rubenwardy wrote:why can't see any data about chests when i click them?


When you click somestuff you will get the inventory gui instand of meta gui.. if you click something else into it then you can select in the position to the meta instand.

Re: [Mod] ownerhack (change meta of nodes

PostPosted: Thu Jan 28, 2016 19:00
by jan6
is there any place where I can get all things i can modify using this, without examining code?

Re: [Mod] ownerhack (change meta of nodes

PostPosted: Thu Jan 28, 2016 20:26
by AiTechEye
i made the info more clear :-)
Its only 1 tool:
/giveme ownerhack:tool
or
/giveme hacktool

Re: [Mod] ownerhack (change meta of nodes

PostPosted: Fri Jan 29, 2016 16:45
by Hybrid Dog
jan6 wrote:is there any place where I can get all things i can modify using this, without examining code?

l guess it wouldn't make it easier, if the infotext e.g. appears in an own formspec (see default sign) editing it isn't easier than editing the infotext string above that multiline formspec, which shows also the other fields.
But a list formspec element could be added, you could select the meta table field from it (e.g. infotext) and then "String to edit" is set to it and "Value" is set to the current value of it.