Minetestmapper rewritten into C++

User avatar
VanessaE
Member
 
Posts: 3894
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2012 12:38
GitHub: VanessaE
IRC: VanessaE
In-game: VanessaEzekowitz

by VanessaE » Fri Dec 21, 2012 22:07

One thing I've noticed with this mapper is that it leaves lots of big holes all over my map image. By holes, I don't mean white spots, but rather little circular or square stone depressions in the land all over the place. Each of those spots has nodes that the mapper isn't familiar with, such as a conifer tree from cisoun's Conifers mod, white fencing from my Colored Woods mod, lighting blocks from my Home Decor mod, or most of the plants in my Plantlife modpack. One would assume nodes without a colors.txt entry would just be treated as air... :-)

Python version, as of minetest git commit 40dac4cd[...]:
Image

C++ version, as of mapper commit 7d15dbf4[...]:
Image

Don't mind the difference in colors, I've got an expanded colors.txt that I use with the python mapper.
You might like some of my stuff:
Plantlife ~ More Trees ~ Home Decor ~ Pipeworks ~ HDX Textures (16-512px)
Tips (BTC): 13LdcdUFcNCFAm7HfvAXh5GHTjCnnQj6KE
 

User avatar
Casimir
Member
 
Posts: 1101
Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2012 16:59

by Casimir » Mon Dec 31, 2012 08:25

Can someone make a tutorial on how to use this?
Please.
Last edited by Casimir on Mon Dec 31, 2012 21:25, edited 1 time in total.
 

User avatar
VanessaE
Member
 
Posts: 3894
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2012 12:38
GitHub: VanessaE
IRC: VanessaE
In-game: VanessaEzekowitz

by VanessaE » Wed Jan 16, 2013 07:26

I was playing around with this again today and also noticed that it does not load the entire colors.txt file - many entries therein are skipped. Maybe it's due to the sheer number of entries are in mine, I dunno. This colors.txt is what I use with the python mapper.
You might like some of my stuff:
Plantlife ~ More Trees ~ Home Decor ~ Pipeworks ~ HDX Textures (16-512px)
Tips (BTC): 13LdcdUFcNCFAm7HfvAXh5GHTjCnnQj6KE
 

User avatar
jojoa1997
Member
 
Posts: 2890
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2012 05:11

by jojoa1997 » Wed Jan 16, 2013 11:09

I was wondering if someone could make a version that i don't have to compile. Like a build or pre compiled version.
Coding;
1X coding
3X debugging
12X tweaking to be just right
 

User avatar
PilzAdam
Member
 
Posts: 4026
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 16:19
GitHub: PilzAdam
IRC: PilzAdam

by PilzAdam » Wed Jan 16, 2013 15:47

jojoa1997 wrote:I was wondering if someone could make a version that i don't have to compile. Like a build or pre compiled version.

You have to tell us wich OS you are using.
 

User avatar
jojoa1997
Member
 
Posts: 2890
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2012 05:11

by jojoa1997 » Wed Jan 16, 2013 17:15

Windows 7
Coding;
1X coding
3X debugging
12X tweaking to be just right
 

User avatar
Casimir
Member
 
Posts: 1101
Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2012 16:59

by Casimir » Sat Jan 26, 2013 20:04

jojoa1997 wrote:Windows 7

Me too. Please?
 

User avatar
Jordach
Member
 
Posts: 4412
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2011 17:58
GitHub: Jordach
IRC: Jordach
In-game: Jordach

by Jordach » Sat Jan 26, 2013 22:36

Last edited by Jordach on Sat Jan 26, 2013 22:36, edited 1 time in total.

( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°) ( ͡o ͜ʖ ͡o) [$ ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°) $] ( ͡$ ͜ʖ ͡$) ヽ༼ຈل͜ຈ༽ノ



My image and media server is back online and is functioning as normal.
 

User avatar
RAPHAEL
Member
 
Posts: 627
Joined: Tue Nov 01, 2011 09:09

by RAPHAEL » Sun Jan 27, 2013 04:55

The map generates but am curious as to why it says this:
Your phone or window isn't wide enough to display the code box. If it's a phone, try rotating it to landscape mode.
Code: Select all
Unknown nodes:
christmas:ligs
conifers:leaves
conifers:leaves_special
conifers:sapling
conifers:trunk
darkage:chalk
darkage:desert_stone_with_iron
darkage:mud
...
wool:black
wool:grey
wool:white
workbench:4x4

Edited by sfan5: Maybe use Pastebin for that?
Last edited by sfan5 on Sun Jan 27, 2013 10:00, edited 1 time in total.
"Before you speak, ask yourself: Is it kind, is it true, is it necessary, does it improve upon the silence?"
My mods: http://goo.gl/n4kpn
(Currently Various, Industrial, Fakeblocks, Jail, MoarCraft, Christmas, Replicator, minetest dev installer for linux, bash mod installer, windows mod installer)
 

User avatar
VanessaE
Member
 
Posts: 3894
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2012 12:38
GitHub: VanessaE
IRC: VanessaE
In-game: VanessaEzekowitz

by VanessaE » Sun Jan 27, 2013 05:01

Download and copy this colors.txt file in place of the default one. It supports many different mods:

http://digitalaudioconcepts.com/vanessa/hobbies/minetest/colors.txt

Those nodes that are unrecognized just means that the mapper is supposed to ignore them (this doesn't work properly in the C++ mapper).
You might like some of my stuff:
Plantlife ~ More Trees ~ Home Decor ~ Pipeworks ~ HDX Textures (16-512px)
Tips (BTC): 13LdcdUFcNCFAm7HfvAXh5GHTjCnnQj6KE
 

User avatar
Jordach
Member
 
Posts: 4412
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2011 17:58
GitHub: Jordach
IRC: Jordach
In-game: Jordach

by Jordach » Sun Jan 27, 2013 11:19

RAPHAEL wrote:The map generates but am curious as to why it says this:
Your phone or window isn't wide enough to display the code box. If it's a phone, try rotating it to landscape mode.
Code: Select all
Unknown nodes:
christmas:ligs
conifers:leaves
conifers:leaves_special
conifers:sapling
conifers:trunk
darkage:chalk
darkage:desert_stone_with_iron
darkage:mud
...
wool:black
wool:grey
wool:white
workbench:4x4

Edited by sfan5: Maybe use Pastebin for that?

It probably tells you what nodes it does not recognise.

( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°) ( ͡o ͜ʖ ͡o) [$ ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°) $] ( ͡$ ͜ʖ ͡$) ヽ༼ຈل͜ຈ༽ノ



My image and media server is back online and is functioning as normal.
 

User avatar
RAPHAEL
Member
 
Posts: 627
Joined: Tue Nov 01, 2011 09:09

by RAPHAEL » Sun Jan 27, 2013 19:15

VanessaE wrote:Download and copy this colors.txt file in place of the default one. It supports many different mods:

http://digitalaudioconcepts.com/vanessa/hobbies/minetest/colors.txt

Those nodes that are unrecognized just means that the mapper is supposed to ignore them (this doesn't work properly in the C++ mapper).


Thank you VanessaE.. here is my contribution to it (for now)

snow:snow 255 255 255
snow:snow_block 255 255 255
snow:ice 116 187 251
snow:dirt_with_snow 255 255 255

traps:cage 107 134 51

jail:jailwall 108 123 139

industrial:cement 108 123 139
industrial:asphalt 0 0 0
industrial:white_brick 255 255 255

stairs:slab_asphalt 0 0 0
stairs:slab_cement 108 123 139
stairs:stair_cement 108 123 139
stairs:stair_asphalt 0 0 0

lightsplus:light_on 255 255 255
lightsplus:slab_light 255 255 255
lightsplus:slab_light_on 255 255 255
lightsplus:slab_light_wall 255 255 255
lightsplus:slab_light_wall_on 255 255 255

maptools:glass 183 183 222
maptools:stone 128 128 128

more_fences:fence_cobble 123 123 123
more_fences:fence_iron 108 123 139
more_fences:fence_stone 128 128 128

various:lawngrass 107 134 51

scaffolding:scaffolding 104 78 42


EDIT: updated colors
Last edited by RAPHAEL on Sun Jan 27, 2013 19:38, edited 1 time in total.
"Before you speak, ask yourself: Is it kind, is it true, is it necessary, does it improve upon the silence?"
My mods: http://goo.gl/n4kpn
(Currently Various, Industrial, Fakeblocks, Jail, MoarCraft, Christmas, Replicator, minetest dev installer for linux, bash mod installer, windows mod installer)
 

User avatar
VanessaE
Member
 
Posts: 3894
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2012 12:38
GitHub: VanessaE
IRC: VanessaE
In-game: VanessaEzekowitz

by VanessaE » Sun Jan 27, 2013 21:53

Thanks, Raphael. I've added your edited settings and updated the downloadable file.
You might like some of my stuff:
Plantlife ~ More Trees ~ Home Decor ~ Pipeworks ~ HDX Textures (16-512px)
Tips (BTC): 13LdcdUFcNCFAm7HfvAXh5GHTjCnnQj6KE
 

User avatar
Casimir
Member
 
Posts: 1101
Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2012 16:59

by Casimir » Sun Jan 27, 2013 22:30

Jordach wrote:
Casimir wrote:
jojoa1997 wrote:Windows 7

Me too. Please?
Already is: https://github.com/mireq/minetest-mapper-cpp/downloads

Usage:

http://forum.minetest.net/viewtopic.php?pid=40321#p40321

It works! I love it!
 

User avatar
jojoa1997
Member
 
Posts: 2890
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2012 05:11

by jojoa1997 » Fri Feb 08, 2013 13:37

Can anyone make a windows build for it?
Coding;
1X coding
3X debugging
12X tweaking to be just right
 

User avatar
Casimir
Member
 
Posts: 1101
Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2012 16:59

by Casimir » Fri Feb 08, 2013 14:06

See one post above.
 

User avatar
jojoa1997
Member
 
Posts: 2890
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2012 05:11

by jojoa1997 » Fri Feb 08, 2013 14:09

Casimir wrote:See one post above.
I mean a pre-compiled version
Coding;
1X coding
3X debugging
12X tweaking to be just right
 

User avatar
Casimir
Member
 
Posts: 1101
Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2012 16:59

by Casimir » Fri Feb 08, 2013 18:32

It is.
Download the file, download the colors.txt. Put both into the same folder. Press shift and rightclick into that folder (not on the files). Click "Open command window here" (or something similar). Then you type the line you see in the post linked by Jordach. That should work.
When you get an error make sure you have the right path, and try it with and without the \ at the end.
 

User avatar
VanessaE
Member
 
Posts: 3894
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2012 12:38
GitHub: VanessaE
IRC: VanessaE
In-game: VanessaEzekowitz

by VanessaE » Wed Mar 13, 2013 07:34

New revision to my colors.txt today to accommodate the latest moreblocks+stairsplus as well as adding a bunch of blocks on my server that weren't being covered before.

Get it from the same download location as mentioned above.
You might like some of my stuff:
Plantlife ~ More Trees ~ Home Decor ~ Pipeworks ~ HDX Textures (16-512px)
Tips (BTC): 13LdcdUFcNCFAm7HfvAXh5GHTjCnnQj6KE
 

LazyJ
Member
 
Posts: 479
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2012 12:29

by LazyJ » Wed Mar 13, 2013 17:40

Thanks, Vanessa!
.: Minetest 0.4.14 ~ Linux Mint ~ A moka pot, a French press, a dirty coffee cup, and a spoiled-rotten kitty :.
Visit our Minetest server at: LinuxGaming2.com, port 30000
Screenshots, overview maps, and server info at: http://forum.minetest.net/viewtopic.php?f=10&t=5684
My blog: http://lazyjminetest.blogspot.com/
 

User avatar
VanessaE
Member
 
Posts: 3894
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2012 12:38
GitHub: VanessaE
IRC: VanessaE
In-game: VanessaEzekowitz

by VanessaE » Wed Mar 13, 2013 17:53

Glad I could help :-)
You might like some of my stuff:
Plantlife ~ More Trees ~ Home Decor ~ Pipeworks ~ HDX Textures (16-512px)
Tips (BTC): 13LdcdUFcNCFAm7HfvAXh5GHTjCnnQj6KE
 

User avatar
Rancon
Member
 
Posts: 240
Joined: Tue Jan 01, 2013 14:59

by Rancon » Mon Jun 10, 2013 02:26

how do I use this?
Do I use it as an exe file?
Any tips on blender, gimp, or codea?
 

User avatar
VanessaE
Member
 
Posts: 3894
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2012 12:38
GitHub: VanessaE
IRC: VanessaE
In-game: VanessaEzekowitz

by VanessaE » Mon Jun 10, 2013 04:56

On Linux, it's a command-line program that works substantially the same as the python version that comes with Minetest. On Windows, no clue. :-)
You might like some of my stuff:
Plantlife ~ More Trees ~ Home Decor ~ Pipeworks ~ HDX Textures (16-512px)
Tips (BTC): 13LdcdUFcNCFAm7HfvAXh5GHTjCnnQj6KE
 

Iqualfragile
Member
 
Posts: 160
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2012 22:11

by Iqualfragile » Mon Jun 10, 2013 22:07

yeah, when you are on windows just forget it, you wont need it anyways
Gr8 b8, m8. I rel8, str8 appreci8, and congratul8. I r8 this b8 an 8/8. Plz no h8, I'm str8 ir8. Cr8 more, can't w8. We should convers8, I won't ber8, my number is 8888888, ask for N8. No calls l8 or out of st8. If on a d8, ask K8 to loc8. Even with a full pl8, I always have time to communic8 so don't hesit8.
 

User avatar
Dan Duncombe
Member
 
Posts: 904
Joined: Thu May 09, 2013 21:11

by Dan Duncombe » Wed Jul 31, 2013 09:15

How do I use the Windows exe? Where do I put it, etc.
Some Mods: Castles Prefab Camouflage
My Games: Nostalgia Realtest Revamped
Servers: See above games.
 

User avatar
Jordach
Member
 
Posts: 4412
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2011 17:58
GitHub: Jordach
IRC: Jordach
In-game: Jordach

by Jordach » Wed Jul 31, 2013 10:11

Dan Duncombe wrote:How do I use the Windows exe? Where do I put it, etc.

RabbiBob wrote:
Jordach wrote:Can we have some arguments please?

Here is the contents:

Your phone or window isn't wide enough to display the code box. If it's a phone, try rotating it to landscape mode.
Code: Select all
minetest_mapper.exe -i C:\Documents and Settings\Jordan\Desktop\Minetest 0.4.2\worlds\city\ -o output_file.png


And the world SHOULD work. But it does not generate any .png anywhere.


Try one of two things:

Add " around the path

Your phone or window isn't wide enough to display the code box. If it's a phone, try rotating it to landscape mode.
Code: Select all
minetest_mapper.exe -i "C:\Documents and Settings\Jordan\Desktop\Minetest 0.4.2\worlds\city" -o output_file.png


or

  • Create a util directory at C:\Documents and Settings\Jordan\Desktop\Minetest 0.4.2\
  • Put minetest_mapper.exe and color.txt in C:\Documents and Settings\Jordan\Desktop\Minetest 0.4.2\util\
  • Create map.bat and put the following in it:
    • minetest_mapper.exe -i ../worlds/city/ -o output.png
  • Save it and run the bat file

The latter way gives you a quick double click way of running the mapper.

( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°) ( ͡o ͜ʖ ͡o) [$ ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°) $] ( ͡$ ͜ʖ ͡$) ヽ༼ຈل͜ຈ༽ノ



My image and media server is back online and is functioning as normal.
 

Exilyth
Member
 
Posts: 60
Joined: Sun Jul 28, 2013 18:46

by Exilyth » Sun Aug 04, 2013 15:16

Nice - I can even make out my cactus farm on the map (after playing arund with the parameters, ofc) ;)

A command line argument "--centeronplayer playername" would be useful, which would center the map on the named player.
I'm running 0.4.13 stable with [technic][carts][farming_plus][biome_lib][unified_inventory] and a few other mods.
 

User avatar
Rancon
Member
 
Posts: 240
Joined: Tue Jan 01, 2013 14:59

by Rancon » Mon Aug 05, 2013 20:53

Hey, um.. I'm not sure if it's okay to bring back an old topic, but when I run it, it turns and right back off after about a frame, or tick, or whatever you want to call it. May I have some help? I use Windows 8
Any tips on blender, gimp, or codea?
 

User avatar
Dan Duncombe
Member
 
Posts: 904
Joined: Thu May 09, 2013 21:11

by Dan Duncombe » Sun Aug 11, 2013 18:14

Rancon wrote:Hey, um.. I'm not sure if it's okay to bring back an old topic, but when I run it, it turns and right back off after about a frame, or tick, or whatever you want to call it. May I have some help? I use Windows 8


I have Windows 7, but I will try to help. Firstly, put minetest_mapper.exe and colors.txt in the minetest/worlds folder. Then, press shift and right-click any empty space in the worlds folder. Click 'open command window here'. When it opens type
Your phone or window isn't wide enough to display the code box. If it's a phone, try rotating it to landscape mode.
Code: Select all
minetest_mapper

Then type:
Your phone or window isn't wide enough to display the code box. If it's a phone, try rotating it to landscape mode.
Code: Select all
minetest_mapper -i "Worldname_Here" -o A_Mapname_Here.png


This will then generate a map in the worldsfolder.
Some Mods: Castles Prefab Camouflage
My Games: Nostalgia Realtest Revamped
Servers: See above games.
 

GreenGerm
Member
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Sun Jul 07, 2013 15:10

by GreenGerm » Mon Aug 12, 2013 14:45

Rancon wrote:Hey, um.. I'm not sure if it's okay to bring back an old topic, but when I run it, it turns and right back off after about a frame, or tick, or whatever you want to call it. May I have some help? I use Windows 8

same happens here. I'm windows 8 as .well
I'm not GreenGerm from Minecraft and Roblox. I'm XXGreenGermXX on Roblox and DJ_IbMasterX on Minecraft.
 

PreviousNext

Return to Minetest-Related

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 14 guests

cron