Pick block by middle clicking (on_middleclick)

User avatar
Kenney
Member
 
Posts: 131
Joined: Fri Jan 02, 2015 12:12
In-game: Kenney

Pick block by middle clicking (on_middleclick)

by Kenney » Fri Jan 16, 2015 13:29

Use the middle mouse button (scrollwheel) on a block to pick it. If creative (this should be modded) it should always pick the block and place it in inventory and wield it, to quickly select a block that has been placed in the world.

In survival it would seek in your inventory if you have that block, and select/wield it.
Last edited by Kenney on Fri Jan 16, 2015 16:30, edited 2 times in total.
Games:
Voxus | UFO Race
 

TriBlade9
Member
 
Posts: 89
Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2014 09:35

Re: Pick block by middle clicking

by TriBlade9 » Fri Jan 16, 2015 15:39

Kenney wrote:Use the middle mouse button (scrollwheel) on a block to pick it. If creative (this should be modded) it should always pick the block and place it in inventory and wield it, to quickly select a block that has been placed in the world.

In surival it would seek in your inventory if you have that block, and select/wield it.

+1.
Perhaps make a GitHub issue? I don't suspect it would be too complicated. (If we could send keypresses through Lua it could be done with a mod)
 

User avatar
Evergreen
Member
 
Posts: 2131
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 01:22
GitHub: 4Evergreen4
IRC: EvergreenTree
In-game: Evergreen

Re: Pick block by middle clicking

by Evergreen » Fri Jan 16, 2015 16:18

I think the best way to go about doing this is by adding a lua function which would look something like on_middleclick(), since different subgames have different ways of handling creative mode.
"Help! I searched for a mod but I couldn't find it!"
http://krock-works.16mb.com/MTstuff/modSearch.php
 

User avatar
Kenney
Member
 
Posts: 131
Joined: Fri Jan 02, 2015 12:12
In-game: Kenney

Re: Pick block by middle clicking

by Kenney » Fri Jan 16, 2015 16:30

Good point idea, on_middleclick() would be better.
Games:
Voxus | UFO Race
 

User avatar
addi
Member
 
Posts: 605
Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2012 03:16

Re: Pick block by middle clicking (on_middleclick)

by addi » Fri Jan 16, 2015 19:16

not shure if this would be a good idea. I playing sometimes on my Laptop, and the touchpad does not have midleclick.
if this gets added, I hope its configurable, to get the old controls back.
 

User avatar
Kenney
Member
 
Posts: 131
Joined: Fri Jan 02, 2015 12:12
In-game: Kenney

Re: Pick block by middle clicking (on_middleclick)

by Kenney » Fri Jan 16, 2015 19:26

addi wrote:if this gets added, I hope its configurable, to get the old controls back.

There are no old controls for this, so you won't be missing out if you don't have a middle mouse button available.
Games:
Voxus | UFO Race
 

User avatar
afflatus
Member
 
Posts: 302
Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2014 19:47
GitHub: 0-afflatus
IRC: afflatus
In-game: afflatus

Re: Pick block by middle clicking

by afflatus » Fri Jan 16, 2015 21:47

Evergreen wrote:I think the best way to go about doing this is by adding a lua function which would look something like on_middleclick(), since different subgames have different ways of handling creative mode.


+ 1 with the proviso that there must be a key combo alternative, for players that can't use middleclick.
Grailtest is sleeping ...
 

User avatar
ExeterDad
Member
 
Posts: 1121
Joined: Sun Jun 01, 2014 20:00
In-game: ExeterDad

Re: Pick block by middle clicking (on_middleclick)

by ExeterDad » Fri Jan 16, 2015 23:41

addi wrote:not shure if this would be a good idea. I playing sometimes on my Laptop, and the touchpad does not have midleclick.
if this gets added, I hope its configurable, to get the old controls back.

None of my laptops have middle mouse buttons. But they all emulate middle click when clicking left and right at the same time. Not sure if drivers are OS specific as our laptops (and desktops) are Linux and I pretty much haven't touched Windows since XP came out.
٩(̾●̮̮̃̾•̃̾)۶

Kibbie and I have a beautiful public server now! HOMETOWN
 

User avatar
afflatus
Member
 
Posts: 302
Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2014 19:47
GitHub: 0-afflatus
IRC: afflatus
In-game: afflatus

Re: Pick block by middle clicking (on_middleclick)

by afflatus » Sat Jan 17, 2015 01:57

A lot of Windows users don't realise that the scroll wheel is also a mouse button even if they have one.
Grailtest is sleeping ...
 

User avatar
Kalabasa
Member
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2015 17:36
GitHub: Kalabasa
IRC: Kalabasa
In-game: Kalabasa

Re: Pick block by middle clicking (on_middleclick)

by Kalabasa » Wed Jan 21, 2015 14:40

Or instead of middle click, use a key (like P for pick). Similar to color picking in OpenSpades/AoS
insert signature here
 

TriBlade9
Member
 
Posts: 89
Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2014 09:35

Re: Pick block by middle clicking (on_middleclick)

by TriBlade9 » Wed Jan 21, 2015 23:02

Kalabasa wrote:Or instead of middle click, use a key (like P for pick). Similar to color picking in OpenSpades/AoS

Oh, that's how it works in OpenSpades. Thanks for the info, I was wondering.
 

SneakySNGamer
Member
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Jan 26, 2015 00:05

Re: Pick block by middle clicking (on_middleclick)

by SneakySNGamer » Wed Jan 28, 2015 01:07

This should be added, I don't know why it wasn't added in the original Minetest.
 

User avatar
Krock
Member
 
Posts: 3598
Joined: Thu Oct 03, 2013 07:48
GitHub: SmallJoker

Re: Pick block by middle clicking (on_middleclick)

by Krock » Wed Jan 28, 2015 18:36

I'm not sure what it should do.
Should the middle click "dig" a node or just highlight it?
Newest Win32 builds - Find a mod - All my mods
ALL YOUR DONATION ARE BELONG TO PARAMAT (Please support him and Minetest)
New DuckDuckGo !bang: !mtmod <keyword here>
 

User avatar
Evergreen
Member
 
Posts: 2131
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 01:22
GitHub: 4Evergreen4
IRC: EvergreenTree
In-game: Evergreen

Re: Pick block by middle clicking (on_middleclick)

by Evergreen » Wed Jan 28, 2015 23:50

Krock wrote:I'm not sure what it should do.
Should the middle click "dig" a node or just highlight it?

The point of middle click is to pick a node when in creative. For instance, if you middle click a dirt block you get a dirt block.
"Help! I searched for a mod but I couldn't find it!"
http://krock-works.16mb.com/MTstuff/modSearch.php
 

Sokomine
Member
 
Posts: 2980
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2012 17:31

Re: Pick block by middle clicking (on_middleclick)

by Sokomine » Sun May 31, 2015 19:34

Plese don't forget about facedir. Picking the block type is just one part of it. Many blocks need to be aligned in one way or another. Using the screwdriver for each one drives you crazy. Therefore, I've written my replacer mod some time ago. It does not only pick "color", but also orientation. Instead of middle clicking, it's SHIFT+RIGHTCLICK. After that, it's as if you'd wield the block (only that you can't see the stored blocktype) - except that it gets placed with the stored facedir. And you don't have to dig the old block first - it replaces it immediately.
Don't get me wrong on that - using the middle mouse button to select a node is a nice idea. But if you've got people on your server who love to build something more complex than an ugly cobble box, you really ought to have the replacer mod installed. Maybe I ought to try to get it added to minetest_game.
A list of my mods can be found here.
 

prestidigitator
Member
 
Posts: 632
Joined: Thu Feb 21, 2013 23:54

Re: Pick block by middle clicking (on_middleclick)

by prestidigitator » Sun May 31, 2015 20:44

Krock wrote:I'm not sure what it should do.
Should the middle click "dig" a node or just highlight it?

It's an eyedropper tool.

I like it. In non-creative, it would have to somehow move stuff from elsewhere in inventory to the hotbar, or change to a hotbar slot that has the item. I suggest simply finding the item in inventory and swapping that slot with whatever is in the currently active hotbar slot.
 


Return to Minetest Features

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 31 guests

cron