Page 1 of 3

Illustrated Server Creation Guide

PostPosted: Sun Aug 26, 2012 05:29
by Menche
This is my attempt at a straightforward server guide using the GUI. I may make a guide for the CLI way later.
  1. Start the server.
    1. Go to the "advanced" tab in Minetest.
    2. Use the buttons at the bottom to create and select a world if you haven't already.
    3. Select a username, port (default of 30000 recommended), and (optionally) a password. Leave the Address field blank, so your client starts it's own server rather than try to connect to one. The window should look something like this:
      Image
    4. Start the game. This is your server, so leave this window open.

  2. Test the server on your own computer.
    1. Open a second minetest window.
    2. Select a username different from the one you used in step 1.
    3. Connect to the address 127.0.0.1. This address tells minetest to connect to a server on your own computer.
      Image
    4. You should have 2 minetest windows open, and should be able to see yourself:
      Image
    5. Now you can close the second window; it was just a test client.
  3. Make the server available over the Internet.
    You have two choices here:
    • VPN: easy, but requires everyone to have additional software.
      1. Install Remobo and make an account.
      2. Tell anyone you want on your server to do the same.
      3. Add them as a "buddy" on Remobo, or have them add you.
      4. When both you and another player are logged in to Remobo, they should be able to connect to you in minetest. The Remobo client should tell the address.
    • Port-forwarding: more involved and requires changing settings on your router but doesn't require additional software.
      1. Get your local IP. From Wikihow:
        Windows: Open the command prompt (Windows+R then type in cmd) and enter ipconfig. Look at "IPv4 Address".
        OS X: Open the command prompt and enter netstat -nr.
        Linux: Open the command prompt and enter ifconfig. Look at "inet adr" near "wlan0" or "eth0".
      2. Open your router configuration. These next steps vary, depending on your router brand.
        Here is a good Wikihow article, follow it up to step 3: Set up Port Forwarding on a Router.
        Add a service, with Minetest as the name, 30000 as both the start and end port, UDP as the protocol, and your local IP you found earlier as the IP.
      3. It should look something like this. At least the last part of your IP will likely be different however.
        Image

PostPosted: Sun Aug 26, 2012 08:22
by rubenwardy
That is how you host a multiplayer game, not a server.

To make a server in windows, instead of step 1D, make a shortcut to the Minetest program.
Do Right-click > Properties on the shortcut. Put quotes around the shortcut's path and add:

Your phone or window isn't wide enough to display the code box. If it's a phone, try rotating it to landscape mode.
Code: Select all
 --server --worldname TheWorld'sName


Replace "TheWorld'sName" with the world you want to use.
(Make sure it is not a single player map, if it is navigate to it and delete players/singleplayer and auth.txt)
The path should now look like this:

Your phone or window isn't wide enough to display the code box. If it's a phone, try rotating it to landscape mode.
Code: Select all
"C://programfiles/minetest/bin/minetest.exe" --server --worldname TheWorld'sName


When you open the shortcut, just Minetest's Console (The black window with text in) will open, and you have a server.

PostPosted: Sun Aug 26, 2012 13:40
by JangoFett154
Um i got as far as the last few steps, the server ip address it keeps saying its invalid and wont let me save changes, im using a belkin but its not letting me enter the ip for it, i went to belkin site and it said enter "•Enter the IP address in the Private IP address field of the computer you want to grant access to the network." but i want other people to use it,

i dont know if this means anything but when i test my server it makes my main account fly and go through stuff, is that suppose to happen?

PostPosted: Sun Aug 26, 2012 20:19
by Menche
JangoFett154 wrote:Um i got as far as the last few steps, the server ip address it keeps saying its invalid and wont let me save changes, im using a belkin but its not letting me enter the ip for it, i went to belkin site and it said enter "•Enter the IP address in the Private IP address field of the computer you want to grant access to the network." but i want other people to use it,

i dont know if this means anything but when i test my server it makes my main account fly and go through stuff, is that suppose to happen?

I don't know if this is the same model as yours, but here is a howto I quickly found for a belkin router. If its a different model from yours, try googling your model number and port forwarding.
As for the flying, you must have enabled free_move. Press "k" to enable/disable that.

rubenwardy wrote:That is how you host a multiplayer game, not a server.

Uh, a multiplayer game needs a server, and this is one way of starting one... I prefer the command-line method too but this is easier to explain.

PostPosted: Wed Aug 29, 2012 16:48
by Kacey
i finally understand how to port forward with my router. but idk if my server works right now :/

PostPosted: Tue Feb 26, 2013 18:14
by Xewdrad
ok if i did port forwarding right how long should it usually take to connect?

PostPosted: Tue Feb 26, 2013 18:39
by sfan5
Xewdrad wrote:ok if i did port forwarding right how long should it usually take to connect?

It takes quite a while for the media to load

PostPosted: Tue Feb 26, 2013 20:28
by rarkenin
It depends on your bandwidth.

PostPosted: Tue Mar 12, 2013 00:49
by RabbiBob
So that it doesn't get lost: A guide to server creation

PostPosted: Fri Mar 22, 2013 11:27
by Tedypig
Question... How do I get it to show the name instead of the ip on the multiplayer list?

PostPosted: Fri Mar 22, 2013 12:17
by Calinou

PostPosted: Fri Mar 22, 2013 12:29
by LionLAD
Thanks Menche this help me get my server up :)

PostPosted: Wed Mar 27, 2013 13:12
by Tedypig

PostPosted: Sun Mar 31, 2013 22:48
by LionLAD
Tedypig wrote:

Did not work. Still has my IP.


Tedypig you need to copy this into your minetest.conf and get rid of the # in front of server_name

PostPosted: Tue Jun 04, 2013 16:15
by BrunoMine
sorry to ask but ...
If I do this procedure to create UMServer with direct CONNECTION.
The name of my server will appear on the "Show Publicos" when someone access the minetest?

PostPosted: Tue Jun 04, 2013 16:37
by sfan5
brunob.santos wrote:sorry to ask but ...
If I do this procedure to create UMServer with direct CONNECTION.
The name of my server will appear on the "Show Publicos" when someone access the minetest?

Only if you forwarded the port and enabled the "Public" option

PostPosted: Tue Jul 02, 2013 06:13
by MaxCZ
yes super

PostPosted: Sun Jul 07, 2013 19:17
by King of Doom
I have a question, if i use Remobo, do i still need to supply the address?

PostPosted: Sun Jul 07, 2013 20:35
by Menche
King of Doom wrote:I have a question, if i use Remobo, do i still need to supply the address?

No. The other players will not be connecting to your public address; they will connect to your Remobo address which will be displayed in their Remobo buddy list.

PostPosted: Mon Jul 08, 2013 19:23
by King of Doom
Another problem: When i try to access my public address from another computer, it never loads just like how i used my ip.

PostPosted: Tue Jul 09, 2013 11:39
by BrunoMine
I can not open doors to create a server. It will be impossible then.

PostPosted: Tue Jul 09, 2013 22:00
by BrunoMine
sfan5 wrote:
brunob.santos wrote:sorry to ask but ...
If I do this procedure to create UMServer with direct CONNECTION.
The name of my server will appear on the "Show Publicos" when someone access the minetest?

Only if you forwarded the port and enabled the "Public" option

I did not understand. Ja created but now what?

PostPosted: Fri Jul 19, 2013 16:10
by Element
this helps but how do i make a MULTIPLAYER SERVER!!!!! and do i need remobo

PostPosted: Mon Aug 12, 2013 12:01
by big8666
JangoFett154 wrote:Um i got as far as the last few steps, the server ip address it keeps saying its invalid and wont let me save changes, im using a belkin but its not letting me enter the ip for it, i went to belkin site and it said enter "•Enter the IP address in the Private IP address field of the computer you want to grant access to the network." but i want other people to use it,

i dont know if this means anything but when i test my server it makes my main account fly and go through stuff, is that suppose to happen?

The Flying part is ment to happe all you have to push is j or k and you should stop flying

PostPosted: Fri Aug 23, 2013 20:01
by programa00leo30
Hey, maybe I'm trying to place online public acseso server.
Testing the instruction to create a REAL server on the internet.
Linux-based operating system:

Your phone or window isn't wide enough to display the code box. If it's a phone, try rotating it to landscape mode.
Code: Select all
sudo wine ./bin/minetest.exe --server --wordlname minetestwordl


The problem is that this instruction has an error and I can not find. the case is that the server does not start.
here I leave the answer given by the server:

Your phone or window isn't wide enough to display the code box. If it's a phone, try rotating it to landscape mode.
Code: Select all
fixme:ntdll:NtLockFile I/O completion on lock not implemented yet


Do you could help?

PS: do not write in English. my language is Spanish and this is google translate.

PostPosted: Fri Aug 23, 2013 21:30
by kaeza
Why are you running Minetest under Wine instead of using a native Linux executable?

What Linux distro are you using?

-------------------------------------

¿Por qué ejecutas Minetest bajo Wine en vez de usar un ejecutable nativo de Linux?

¿Cual distro de Linux usas?

PostPosted: Thu Sep 05, 2013 12:07
by Eminie
I got lost at get the local ip from wikihow. I went on the site. But I couldn't find the thing.. ip address whatever. Is there a link or something you can give me. I'd appreciate it. Answer back in pms..

PostPosted: Sat Sep 07, 2013 07:37
by CraigyDavi
I can set up the first window but when I use the second window to connect it comes up with this error:

08:34:43: ERROR[ServerThread]: Server: peer_id=3: failed to emerge player

PostPosted: Wed Sep 11, 2013 16:53
by CraigyDavi
CraigyDavi wrote:I can set up the first window but when I use the second window to connect it comes up with this error:

08:34:43: ERROR[ServerThread]: Server: peer_id=3: failed to emerge player


Does anyone know the problem?

PostPosted: Wed Sep 11, 2013 22:57
by Menche
CraigyDavi wrote:
CraigyDavi wrote:I can set up the first window but when I use the second window to connect it comes up with this error:

08:34:43: ERROR[ServerThread]: Server: peer_id=3: failed to emerge player


Does anyone know the problem?

Did you use a different username the second time? Usually that error is caused when someone tries to connect with a username that is already online.