[Modpack] Animals Modpack [2.5] -- 2.6 approaching

Sokomine
Member
 
Posts: 2980
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2012 17:31

by Sokomine » Sat Feb 09, 2013 19:22

sapier wrote:I'm not a graphics guy I even hate creating graphics and this is really a lot of work to get it done.

You did a very good job with the aminal models. Thank you for them!

I'm trying to add more traders. The way their buildings are stored is not unlike the way I construct buildings, but turning a finished (even small) building back into that format is a bit difficult. Maybe the more common worldedit-format might do as well. Also, some traders might live close to the things they offer (e.g. a wood trader close to wood; a clay/sand trader in the desert) or in their own city. Selecting fitting prices for trade is difficult. Money might help. A large town of traders of diffrent kinds could spawn and provide a banking institute.
A list of my mods can be found here.
 

User avatar
jojoa1997
Member
 
Posts: 2890
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2012 05:11

by jojoa1997 » Sun Feb 10, 2013 20:55

when i use the scissors o the sheep i get this error
Your phone or window isn't wide enough to display the code box. If it's a phone, try rotating it to landscape mode.
Code: Select all
ServerError: LuaError: error running function 'on_punch': ...t\animals_modpack-mobf_2_1_dev\mobf/mob_preserve.lua:76: attempt to index field 'dynamic_data' (a nil value)
Coding;
1X coding
3X debugging
12X tweaking to be just right
 

User avatar
jojoa1997
Member
 
Posts: 2890
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2012 05:11

by jojoa1997 » Sun Feb 10, 2013 21:49

here is a cooked meat texture
Image
Coding;
1X coding
3X debugging
12X tweaking to be just right
 

stingers459
New member
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Feb 11, 2013 18:15

by stingers459 » Mon Feb 11, 2013 18:17

Can someone help me how come i get the "mod error: failed to load and run animals modpack" thing when i start up the game does anyone know a way to get rid of this error?
 

User avatar
Topywo
Member
 
Posts: 1718
Joined: Fri May 18, 2012 20:27

by Topywo » Mon Feb 11, 2013 19:21

stingers459 wrote:Can someone help me how come i get the "mod error: failed to load and run animals modpack" thing when i start up the game does anyone know a way to get rid of this error?


Maybe this is the solution for you:

It's a modpack. Try extracting the whole animal_modpack (master) in the mods/minetest folder, instead of the seperate mods in the folder below it.
 

J-Block
Member
 
Posts: 39
Joined: Sun Dec 23, 2012 20:04

by J-Block » Thu Feb 14, 2013 18:24

So, I downloaded the new version.....
.....and it worked! :D

One thing- the concentration of zombie spawning looks a bit low. Perhaps in the next version you could lower the "perlin noise".

Where is the spawn control in your code?
Last edited by J-Block on Thu Feb 14, 2013 18:56, edited 1 time in total.
 

sapier
Member
 
Posts: 763
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2011 18:17

by sapier » Fri Feb 15, 2013 20:06

have a look in animal_vombie/init.lua --> spawning--> density and respawndelay
density specifies how close vombies spawn to each other respawndelay specifies in which intervals they spawn

changing density setting will only take effekt on new generated parts of world
Last edited by sapier on Fri Feb 15, 2013 20:07, edited 1 time in total.
DON'T mention coding style!
(c) sapier all rights reserved
 

BZab
Member
 
Posts: 126
Joined: Mon Jan 28, 2013 10:04

by BZab » Sat Feb 16, 2013 18:29

Chickens etc. go through fence..
@edit: through walls too
Last edited by BZab on Sat Feb 16, 2013 18:36, edited 1 time in total.
 

User avatar
MirceaKitsune
Member
 
Posts: 809
Joined: Sat May 21, 2011 22:31
GitHub: MirceaKitsune
IRC: Taoki
In-game: MirceaKitsune

by MirceaKitsune » Sat Feb 16, 2013 18:55

I have some suggestions for the mob framework. I posted them in the wrong thread, so I should re-post them here since I think it is a different author:
 

User avatar
MirceaKitsune
Member
 
Posts: 809
Joined: Sat May 21, 2011 22:31
GitHub: MirceaKitsune
IRC: Taoki
In-game: MirceaKitsune

by MirceaKitsune » Sat Feb 16, 2013 18:57

I have two suggestions for the mob framework. I posted them in the wrong thread, so re-writing here since I think this mod is by another author:

1 - Alert levels for mobs before attacking. The more a mob is aware of the player (has visual contact or hears them walking) the faster its alert level grows, while no longer seeing or hearing the player makes alert decrease until it goes back to 0. The higher the alert level, the more that mob will run and investigate the spot where it last sensed the player. Once alert level reaches 1, the the mob will attack the player and be fully aware of them. If during battle the player manages to lose the mob (without putting the chunk to sleep and de-spawning it) the mob's alert level will again begin to drop till it eventually goes back to 0. An alert mob will also increase the alertness of nearby mobs slowly. How fast the mob gets aware and forgets should be a per-monster settings.

For example: Lets say a mob needs to see the player for one second before realizing it should attack. If the player manages to hide behind a solid block after half a second of being seen, the mob's alert level will be 0.5. It will be pretty nervous and investigate the area. Now if it sees the player for a quarter second, its alert would increase by another 0.25 and get to 0.75, making the mob even more scared while knowing more exactly where the player is. But the player is no longer seen for 10 seconds, so alert level begins to slowly drop. In 30 seconds, the mob forgets what happened and resumes to walking around.

Although this might sound hard, it should be easy to do in LUA. Whenever the player alerts a mob, its last position is saved as a vector which is the spot that mob is alert of. Alertness level would be a float ranging from 0 to 1 and indicating how much the mob will try to run toward that spot and around it. The location accuracy and frequency of this would depend on alertness level itself.

2 - Similar to 1, but a separate idea that can be a different system. When a mob is hurt during battle, it would cry out, alerting other mobs of its kind in the area (who would normally not see the player) to come and help. They will come and attack the player too.

Let me know what you think and if any of this can be put on your list. It would be fantastic if you could consider adding such behavior to the AI, and I'd totally love to see something like that :)
 

User avatar
jojoa1997
Member
 
Posts: 2890
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2012 05:11

by jojoa1997 » Sat Feb 16, 2013 19:00

sapier if you could please add a auto spawner file in mobf so that i can make a pull request for automatic spawners like in my npc mod
Coding;
1X coding
3X debugging
12X tweaking to be just right
 

Matsetes
Member
 
Posts: 70
Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2012 23:36

by Matsetes » Sat Feb 16, 2013 19:02

BZab wrote:Chickens etc. go through fence..
@edit: through walls too

I saw the same thing in my game... Cows that disappear..
 

BZab
Member
 
Posts: 126
Joined: Mon Jan 28, 2013 10:04

by BZab » Mon Feb 18, 2013 18:14

Your phone or window isn't wide enough to display the code box. If it's a phone, try rotating it to landscape mode.
Code: Select all
19:13:24: ERROR[main]: ServerEnvironment::deactivateFarObjects(): id=2 m_static_exists=true but static data doesn't actually exist in (61,0,19)
WARNING: StaticObjectList::remove(): id=2 not found
19:13:25: ERROR[main]: ServerError: LuaError: error: ...st1/worldmods/animals_modpack/mobf_settings/init.lua:38: attempt to call field 'settings_save' (a nil value)
19:13:25: ERROR[main]: stack traceback:
Naruszenie ochrony pamięci (core dumped)
(I use latest git version)


EDIT:Nevermind - i had to delete "s" -> settings
Now works
Last edited by BZab on Mon Feb 18, 2013 18:32, edited 1 time in total.
 

4aiman
Member
 
Posts: 1208
Joined: Mon Jul 30, 2012 05:47

by 4aiman » Mon Feb 18, 2013 21:49

Sapier, how about this ones:
http://dl.dropbox.com/u/39772195/mt%20screens/mobf/DM1.blend
http://dl.dropbox.com/u/39772195/mt%20screens/mobf/DM1.x
1. Is my DM "smaller" after convertion now?
2. Did I properly exported blend file to the *.X format?
3. Where can I find b3d (or was it "b3b"?) exporter?
 

User avatar
MirceaKitsune
Member
 
Posts: 809
Joined: Sat May 21, 2011 22:31
GitHub: MirceaKitsune
IRC: Taoki
In-game: MirceaKitsune

by MirceaKitsune » Tue Feb 19, 2013 01:02

BrandonReese wrote:I have played with pathfinding AI in the past. I might look into working on this...

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pathfinding
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/A*_search_algorithm


Thanks, I'm glad you're considering it! Would love to see those AI features in MineTest :) Path finding is another thing that would be quite neat... prolly different from alert levels still.
 

User avatar
jojoa1997
Member
 
Posts: 2890
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2012 05:11

by jojoa1997 » Wed Feb 20, 2013 01:04

could you add a soft dependency for inventory plus and make the menu for mobf settings.
Coding;
1X coding
3X debugging
12X tweaking to be just right
 

BZab
Member
 
Posts: 126
Joined: Mon Jan 28, 2013 10:04

by BZab » Wed Feb 20, 2013 15:26

jojoa1997 wrote:could you add a soft dependency for inventory plus and make the menu for mobf settings.

Maybe for Unified inv. too then?
 

User avatar
jojoa1997
Member
 
Posts: 2890
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2012 05:11

by jojoa1997 » Wed Feb 20, 2013 15:30

BZab wrote:
jojoa1997 wrote:could you add a soft dependency for inventory plus and make the menu for mobf settings.

Maybe for Unified inv. too then?
no because unified doesn,'t support outside mods. Unified takes over the inventory while inventory plus allows other mods to edit the inventory.
Coding;
1X coding
3X debugging
12X tweaking to be just right
 

User avatar
Traxie21
Member
 
Posts: 753
Joined: Mon Dec 31, 2012 10:48

by Traxie21 » Wed Feb 20, 2013 16:25

Where can I find/import the .b3d files into blender? I want to make them look... ehh... BETTER.

Also, is there a way to disable the console? The animals lag like hell.

EDIT: I'm using .x ATM.

How does one specify animations and such? Without a way to test these b3d's, I can't be sure how to do that. ATM I have a static, untextured sheep in-game, but it looks better than the ones you have. Its more minecraft-like, but with a nose and tail.
Last edited by Traxie21 on Wed Feb 20, 2013 17:12, edited 1 time in total.
 

User avatar
jojoa1997
Member
 
Posts: 2890
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2012 05:11

by jojoa1997 » Wed Feb 20, 2013 17:15

Type /mobf_settings I think
Coding;
1X coding
3X debugging
12X tweaking to be just right
 

User avatar
Inocudom
Member
 
Posts: 2889
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2012 01:14
IRC: Inocudom
In-game: Inocudom

by Inocudom » Wed Feb 20, 2013 17:18

Do you have any plans to add the oerkki to this modpack? It can add more variety to underground areas.
 

User avatar
jojoa1997
Member
 
Posts: 2890
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2012 05:11

by jojoa1997 » Wed Feb 20, 2013 18:07

Could you make dungeons have multiple layers and bigger
Coding;
1X coding
3X debugging
12X tweaking to be just right
 

User avatar
MirceaKitsune
Member
 
Posts: 809
Joined: Sat May 21, 2011 22:31
GitHub: MirceaKitsune
IRC: Taoki
In-game: MirceaKitsune

by MirceaKitsune » Wed Feb 20, 2013 18:32

Traxie21 wrote:Where can I find/import the .b3d files into blender? I want to make them look... ehh... BETTER.

Also, is there a way to disable the console? The animals lag like hell.

EDIT: I'm using .x ATM.

How does one specify animations and such? Without a way to test these b3d's, I can't be sure how to do that. ATM I have a static, untextured sheep in-game, but it looks better than the ones you have. Its more minecraft-like, but with a nose and tail.


That's one reason why I prefer x over b3d. I couldn't find a working b3d export script either, while x is supported natively by Blender and also a more common format. My recommendation is to go with x.

As for specifying animations, look at player.blend and the player.lua script. Basically, you put all animations on the timeline in Blender, one after another. Then in the LUA script you specify the start and end frames of each animation.
Last edited by MirceaKitsune on Wed Feb 20, 2013 18:33, edited 1 time in total.
 

User avatar
Traxie21
Member
 
Posts: 753
Joined: Mon Dec 31, 2012 10:48

by Traxie21 » Wed Feb 20, 2013 18:39

I did keyframes, but no luck.
Also, do object keyframes work? Can you use multiple objects for keyframe animation or does it have to be armatures?

Thanks for the help.

ATM I have a uv-mapped sheep in game, but it is completely unanimated and only somewhat skinned.
Last edited by Traxie21 on Wed Feb 20, 2013 18:40, edited 1 time in total.
 

User avatar
MirceaKitsune
Member
 
Posts: 809
Joined: Sat May 21, 2011 22:31
GitHub: MirceaKitsune
IRC: Taoki
In-game: MirceaKitsune

by MirceaKitsune » Wed Feb 20, 2013 23:25

Traxie21 wrote:I did keyframes, but no luck.
Also, do object keyframes work? Can you use multiple objects for keyframe animation or does it have to be armatures?

Thanks for the help.

ATM I have a uv-mapped sheep in game, but it is completely unanimated and only somewhat skinned.


I only animate by armatures, so I don't know if other ways work. And that should be fine... I'm not sure what's happening on your end that it's not. Make sure you select both the mesh and armature, and in the x exporter enable the proper options to the left (I think you need to manually tick the "include armatures" checkbox or what it's called).
 

User avatar
Traxie21
Member
 
Posts: 753
Joined: Mon Dec 31, 2012 10:48

by Traxie21 » Thu Feb 21, 2013 00:41

I dont know how to use armatures very well, but I'll try. UV texture editing is a PAIN.

Wait... the exporter has options? All I see is export to DirectX, then a choose file dialog, and it's done.

Also, nice choice of avatar :3. Luna is best pony. >:|
Last edited by Traxie21 on Thu Feb 21, 2013 00:42, edited 1 time in total.
 

sapier
Member
 
Posts: 763
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2011 18:17

by sapier » Tue Feb 26, 2013 20:16

@jojoa what do you mean with "auto spawner"?

I once had mobf_settings depend on inventory_plus until it wasn't updated for some time and broke mobf_settings therefore I removed it to avoid having to update inventory_plus too.

@traxie https://supertuxkart.svn.sourceforge.net/svnroot/supertuxkart/media/trunk/blender_25/B3DExport.py is b3d export script. I'm sorry I can't help with blender usage there are plenty of tutorials I'm beginner with blender too.
DON'T mention coding style!
(c) sapier all rights reserved
 

prestidigitator
Member
 
Posts: 632
Joined: Thu Feb 21, 2013 23:54

by prestidigitator » Tue Feb 26, 2013 21:10

Traxie21 wrote:I dont know how to use armatures very well, but I'll try. UV texture editing is a PAIN.

Wait... the exporter has options? All I see is export to DirectX, then a choose file dialog, and it's done.

Also, nice choice of avatar :3. Luna is best pony. >:|

Yeah. It would be nice if someone who has had some success with this could post some good documentation to the dev wiki. I tried just looking at the default character mesh and texture the other day, and I have no idea how it can possibly be working (unless the exported version is different from the source version), because the UV mapping for the head is wrong. It maps the face—and perhaps the whole head—into a completely black region of the texture. I'll try mucking with it again at some point, but that was enough to put me off.

Well, that and discovering the fact that entities cannot generate light; I was hoping to create an attachable torch of some sort and figured since we could do weapons, why not?
Last edited by prestidigitator on Tue Feb 26, 2013 21:11, edited 1 time in total.
 

User avatar
jojoa1997
Member
 
Posts: 2890
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2012 05:11

by jojoa1997 » Wed Feb 27, 2013 01:31

the auto spawner is a block that automatically spawns animals. my npc mod uses it.
Coding;
1X coding
3X debugging
12X tweaking to be just right
 

4aiman
Member
 
Posts: 1208
Joined: Mon Jul 30, 2012 05:47

by 4aiman » Wed Feb 27, 2013 04:07

Any chance I get the answer? :'(
 

PreviousNext

Return to Mod Releases

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests

cron