[Mod] Mobs Redo [1.34] [mobs]

User avatar
TenPlus1
Member
 
Posts: 1874
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2013 13:38
GitHub: tenplus1

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.03] [mobs]

by TenPlus1 » Tue Mar 10, 2015 16:20

Will look into fish soon...
 

guideahon
Member
 
Posts: 37
Joined: Mon Jan 26, 2015 12:49
In-game: guideahon

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.03] [mobs]

by guideahon » Tue Mar 10, 2015 17:01

12Me21 wrote:There should be mobs in the water, like fish (no minecraft squids, please), and maybe some more that spawn in different biomes.

Please make water mobs, it would be awesome.

QUESTION:

I made my mobs_extras mod, to add mobs, the thing is that this mobs, are stronger, but i want to make your mobs stronger withut touching your code (add the code on my mod) so i did
Your phone or window isn't wide enough to display the code box. If it's a phone, try rotating it to landscape mode.
Code: Select all
mobs:register_mob("mobs:dirt_monster", {
   -- aggressive, deals 2 damage to player when hit
   passive = false,
   attack_type = "dogfight",
   damage = 4,
   -- health & armor
   hp_min = 6, hp_max = 54, armor = 100,
})


this registers the mob again changing what i want, but if i do it on my mod, it says it doesnt follow naming conventions, is there a way to do this? Thanks, if you make it, i will upload my mod
 

User avatar
12Me21
Member
 
Posts: 826
Joined: Tue Mar 05, 2013 00:36

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.03] [mobs]

by 12Me21 » Tue Mar 10, 2015 18:46

guideahon wrote:
12Me21 wrote:There should be mobs in the water, like fish (no minecraft squids, please), and maybe some more that spawn in different biomes.

Please make water mobs, it would be awesome.

QUESTION:

I made my mobs_extras mod, to add mobs, the thing is that this mobs, are stronger, but i want to make your mobs stronger withut touching your code (add the code on my mod) so i did
Your phone or window isn't wide enough to display the code box. If it's a phone, try rotating it to landscape mode.
Code: Select all
mobs:register_mob("mobs:dirt_monster", {
   -- aggressive, deals 2 damage to player when hit
   passive = false,
   attack_type = "dogfight",
   damage = 4,
   -- health & armor
   hp_min = 6, hp_max = 54, armor = 100,
})


this registers the mob again changing what i want, but if i do it on my mod, it says it doesnt follow naming conventions, is there a way to do this? Thanks, if you make it, i will upload my mod


I think you have to do
Your phone or window isn't wide enough to display the code box. If it's a phone, try rotating it to landscape mode.
Code: Select all
mobs:register_mob(":mobs:dirt_monster", {

(colon before "mobs")
At least, that's how you would do it with nodes and craftitems, IDK if it works with mobs as well.
 

guideahon
Member
 
Posts: 37
Joined: Mon Jan 26, 2015 12:49
In-game: guideahon

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.03] [mobs]

by guideahon » Tue Mar 10, 2015 18:56

Already tried but it doesnt work, it freezes my minetest... thanks anyways
 

User avatar
TenPlus1
Member
 
Posts: 1874
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2013 13:38
GitHub: tenplus1

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.03] [mobs]

by TenPlus1 » Tue Mar 10, 2015 19:28

Register as a new mob "mobs:dirt_monster2" or just edit the dirt_monster.lua settings to make it stronger... easiest ways...
 

guideahon
Member
 
Posts: 37
Joined: Mon Jan 26, 2015 12:49
In-game: guideahon

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.03] [mobs]

by guideahon » Tue Mar 10, 2015 19:33

TenPlus1 wrote:Register as a new mob "mobs:dirt_monster2" or just edit the dirt_monster.lua settings to make it stronger... easiest ways...


but i dont want to edit my mod everytime you update yours, and i dont want to add a mob, the idea is to add a conf file on my mod, if hard = true, then.... so i double your mobs health and damage, but that cant be done (or i cant) without editing your mod
 

User avatar
firefox
Member
 
Posts: 1185
Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2015 07:34
In-game: Red_Fox

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.03] [mobs]

by firefox » Tue Mar 10, 2015 21:00

my ideas for water mobs:

blue fish: spawns in bright waters (near the surface), drops "fish" (the one you can get with the fishing rod)

coral fish: spawns near corals, drops corals

red demon fish: spawns in dark waters (deap see), not sure about the drops ...

extra for the xanadu server: red demon fish drops crimson scales that can be crafted into a special armor
 

User avatar
mahmutelmas06
Member
 
Posts: 355
Joined: Mon Mar 02, 2015 13:10
GitHub: mahmutelmas06
IRC: mahmutelmas06
In-game: masum

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.03] [mobs]

by mahmutelmas06 » Tue Mar 10, 2015 23:24

I have edited krunopavels bugs mod to work with mobsredo
I have tested singleplayer and If it works well online too i request to merge with mobsredo

-added sounds
-made them smaller like real bugs
-- changed creative icon

Mit license

bugs.zip
(136.35 KiB) Downloaded 110 times
Last edited by mahmutelmas06 on Tue Mar 10, 2015 23:43, edited 1 time in total.
My Mods:

Beverage
 

User avatar
mahmutelmas06
Member
 
Posts: 355
Joined: Mon Mar 02, 2015 13:10
GitHub: mahmutelmas06
IRC: mahmutelmas06
In-game: masum

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.03] [mobs]

by mahmutelmas06 » Tue Mar 10, 2015 23:38

TenPlus1 wrote:Will look into fish soon...


You should look into AnimalsModpack for fish.
Check it out and maybe use its models.
It has cca license
My Mods:

Beverage
 

Rochambeau
Member
 
Posts: 68
Joined: Tue Sep 23, 2014 11:37

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.03] [mobs]

by Rochambeau » Thu Mar 12, 2015 07:30

I started a new map with paragenv7 because I like the generated landscape very much.

The problem is, in new biomes, the mobs from this mob do not spawn, because of unknown ground (paragenv7:dirt, paragenv7:grass, and so on).

Could you change the spawn function from working with nodes to working with node_groups?

Example:
Your phone or window isn't wide enough to display the code box. If it's a phone, try rotating it to landscape mode.
Code: Select all
mobs:register_spawn("mobs:cow", {"default:dirt_with_grass", "ethereal:green_dirt_top", "ethereal:prairie_dirt"}, 20, 0, 11000, 1, 31000)


to

Your phone or window isn't wide enough to display the code box. If it's a phone, try rotating it to landscape mode.
Code: Select all
mobs:register_spawn("mobs:cow", {"group:soil"}, 20, 0, 11000, 1, 31000)


So your mobs mod would work with every mapgen mod without adding new nodetypes to the spawn function.
 

poet.nohit
Member
 
Posts: 55
Joined: Fri Mar 06, 2015 00:50
GitHub: poet-nohit

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.03] [mobs]

by poet.nohit » Thu Mar 12, 2015 20:38

Using the soil group would let them spawn on farm land, but otherwise that seems like a good idea.
 

User avatar
TenPlus1
Member
 
Posts: 1874
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2013 13:38
GitHub: tenplus1

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.03] [mobs]

by TenPlus1 » Thu Mar 12, 2015 20:45

I cannot do that, in the new minetest desert_sand comes under the soil group also and you would have animals spawning in the desert... That's why I had them spawn on specific nodes which could be easily changed...
 

User avatar
12Me21
Member
 
Posts: 826
Joined: Tue Mar 05, 2013 00:36

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.03] [mobs]

by 12Me21 » Fri Mar 13, 2015 13:37

TenPlus1 wrote:I cannot do that, in the new minetest desert_sand comes under the soil group also and you would have animals spawning in the desert... That's why I had them spawn on specific nodes which could be easily changed...

sand should not be considered soil... that should be changed.
 

User avatar
TenPlus1
Member
 
Posts: 1874
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2013 13:38
GitHub: tenplus1

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.03] [mobs]

by TenPlus1 » Fri Mar 13, 2015 14:03

Then you would have to talk to the Minetest devs as it is now default in the game... However, my Farming Redo mod only uses dirt at soil and leaves sand as simply sand...
 

User avatar
12Me21
Member
 
Posts: 826
Joined: Tue Mar 05, 2013 00:36

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.03] [mobs]

by 12Me21 » Fri Mar 13, 2015 14:12

TenPlus1 wrote:Then you would have to talk to the Minetest devs as it is now default in the game... However, my Farming Redo mod only uses dirt at soil and leaves sand as simply sand...


I think you can just redefine the sand node in the mod.
 

User avatar
TenPlus1
Member
 
Posts: 1874
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2013 13:38
GitHub: tenplus1

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.03] [mobs]

by TenPlus1 » Fri Mar 13, 2015 17:01

I could but that would mean mobs redo would break any other mod that relies on sand being soil...

Note: Mobs Redo 1.04 has babies!!!!! feed the parents (cow, sheep, hog) to get them in the mood and hopefully a little baby version will appear, although they grow up so fast :)
 

poet.nohit
Member
 
Posts: 55
Joined: Fri Mar 06, 2015 00:50
GitHub: poet-nohit

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.04] [mobs]

by poet.nohit » Fri Mar 13, 2015 20:40

Nice. Thanks for all the hard work you're doing. Makes playing this game so much more fun.
 

User avatar
qyron
Member
 
Posts: 50
Joined: Sat Jan 07, 2012 00:07

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.04] [mobs]

by qyron » Sun Mar 15, 2015 21:04

I was redirect here from the original mod thread.

Somehow, in my system, all creatures are displayed with an error. All I get are pink boxes.
 

User avatar
TenPlus1
Member
 
Posts: 1874
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2013 13:38
GitHub: tenplus1

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.04] [mobs]

by TenPlus1 » Sun Mar 15, 2015 22:00

are you renaming the mod folder to simply 'mobs' ?
 

User avatar
Linuxdirk
Member
 
Posts: 497
Joined: Wed Sep 17, 2014 11:21
GitHub: dsohler
In-game: Linuxdirk

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.04] [mobs]

by Linuxdirk » Sun Mar 15, 2015 22:13

Just a quick feedback.

I think my crashing problem is caused by unknown nodes and the mod breaks while trying to read the node’s properties.

After extensive removing of unknown nodes (created by Carbone which I don’t use any longer) the mod crashes less.
 

User avatar
TenPlus1
Member
 
Posts: 1874
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2013 13:38
GitHub: tenplus1

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.04] [mobs]

by TenPlus1 » Mon Mar 16, 2015 08:53

Linuxdirk: glad to hear your game is running fine...
 

User avatar
Linuxdirk
Member
 
Posts: 497
Joined: Wed Sep 17, 2014 11:21
GitHub: dsohler
In-game: Linuxdirk

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.04] [mobs]

by Linuxdirk » Mon Mar 16, 2015 12:14

It doesn’t. It just does not crash that often :)

Could you implement something that fetches the error and circumvents it instead of simply crashing? Does Lua support exceptions and the handling of it?
 

User avatar
TenPlus1
Member
 
Posts: 1874
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2013 13:38
GitHub: tenplus1

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.04] [mobs]

by TenPlus1 » Mon Mar 16, 2015 15:17

That is IF the error has to do with the mobs redo and NOT another mod interfering with it... Will look into feedback though, but if you find an error pointing back to the mod itself let me know :)
Last edited by TenPlus1 on Mon Mar 16, 2015 18:41, edited 1 time in total.
 

User avatar
Linuxdirk
Member
 
Posts: 497
Joined: Wed Sep 17, 2014 11:21
GitHub: dsohler
In-game: Linuxdirk

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.04] [mobs]

by Linuxdirk » Mon Mar 16, 2015 16:53

When enabling all my mods and starting a new world it works. When Playing in my Carbone generated world it crashes within a function in conjunction with nodes so I guess it’s caused by that :)
 

User avatar
qyron
Member
 
Posts: 50
Joined: Sat Jan 07, 2012 00:07

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.04] [mobs]

by qyron » Tue Mar 17, 2015 10:42

The abnormal behaviour displaying mobs was gone just as it appeared. Most probably an error as I added the mod in an already created world or perhaps an issue with another mod.

On another line: compiling a document with all the workings (a.k.a "users manual") for this mod would be a good idea. Even with the Readme included there's a lot of information about the working of the mod that is hard to get just by using it, specially if someone is a new user of the mod.
 

poet.nohit
Member
 
Posts: 55
Joined: Fri Mar 06, 2015 00:50
GitHub: poet-nohit

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.04] [mobs]

by poet.nohit » Tue Mar 17, 2015 19:40

Well, here's a tutorial:

Right-click sheep to get their wool.

Right click a cow with an empty bucket to get milk. Feed it (right-click) 8 wheat to get more milk.

Feed a warthog 8 wheat to tame it. Feeding sheep, cows, or warthogs will also make them breed.

Right click a chicken to pick it up or place it.

Try to avoid getting killed by unfriendly mobs.
 

User avatar
TenPlus1
Member
 
Posts: 1874
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2013 13:38
GitHub: tenplus1

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.04] [mobs]

by TenPlus1 » Tue Mar 17, 2015 20:01

Am adding the finishing touches to the multiple textures feature for mobs and once that is done I will write up some documentation...
 

User avatar
Linuxdirk
Member
 
Posts: 497
Joined: Wed Sep 17, 2014 11:21
GitHub: dsohler
In-game: Linuxdirk

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.04] [mobs]

by Linuxdirk » Tue Mar 17, 2015 20:27

If you breed mobs, will they stay or will they despawn?
 

User avatar
TenPlus1
Member
 
Posts: 1874
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2013 13:38
GitHub: tenplus1

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.04] [mobs]

by TenPlus1 » Wed Mar 18, 2015 20:35

Any baby animals that appear will automatically have self.tame set to true which means they will not despawn...

Note: Bunny's added to mob, thanks Exeterdad...
 

User avatar
Don
Member
 
Posts: 1641
Joined: Sat May 17, 2014 18:40
GitHub: DonBatman
IRC: Batman
In-game: Batman

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.05] [mobs]

by Don » Thu Mar 19, 2015 01:44

Now ExeterDad needs to make a snake
Many of my mods are now a part of Minetest-mods. A place where you know they are maintained!

A list of my mods can be found here
 

PreviousNext

Return to Mod Releases

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 14 guests

cron