Page 10 of 22

PostPosted: Sun Mar 17, 2013 18:31
by mauvebic
It would be handy if we could bind unused keys to different formspecs - enabling GUI's for a variety of mods without further encumbering the inventory :-)

PostPosted: Sun Mar 17, 2013 20:32
by Temperest
That would be great, but ideally we'd have Lua callbacks for each key, so that modders can bind them to anything. To show formspecs, we'd use minetest.show_formspec(playername, formname, formspec).

PostPosted: Mon Mar 18, 2013 17:52
by nextmissinglink
what does metasave and load mean

PostPosted: Mon Mar 18, 2013 18:36
by VanessaE
The meta* commands save/load extra information about some nodes, such as the contents of a chest, the text on a sign, or the program in a microcontroller, if those nodes have such data.

The metasave (.wem) format is different from the regular (.we) format to accommodate this.

PostPosted: Mon Mar 18, 2013 19:19
by jojoa1997
VanessaE wrote:The meta* commands save/load extra information about some nodes, such as the contents of a chest, the text on a sign, or the program in a microcontroller, if those nodes have such data.

The metasave (.wem) format is different from the regular (.we) format to accommodate this.
how do you do this

PostPosted: Mon Mar 18, 2013 20:17
by Temperest
Well, node metadata can be manipulated using a MetaRef, which you obtain using EnvRef:get_meta(pos). The metaref allows you to do things like access the inventory, formspec, infotext, and other fields.

If you mean accessing the functionality in WorldEdit, see the //metasave and //metaload commands. Although these commands will be removed soon, possibly today. In its place, //save and //load will have the same functionality.

PostPosted: Tue Mar 19, 2013 12:11
by nextmissinglink
oh so is there a way of moving a building from one world to another

PostPosted: Tue Mar 19, 2013 14:41
by Temperest
Yep, copy the .wem or .we file in your schems folder to the same place in another world. When you open that world, the schematic will be available.

PostPosted: Wed Mar 20, 2013 21:36
by Temperest
Update:

  • //metasave and //metaload have been removed! Functionality has been replaced by //save and //load
  • //save and //load now support metadata!
  • worldedit.deserialize and worldedit.allocate now support every version of the WorldEdit file format, even the very first release.
  • The deprecated worldedit.deserialize_old and worldedit.allocate_old functions have been removed, since their modern equivalent also supports the old file formats. However, in order to avoid breaking mods, the compatibility layer aliases them to their modern equivalents.
  • The worldedit.metasave and worldedit.metaload functions have been removed, since worldedit.serialize and worldedit.deserialize now do their task. However, in order to avoid breaking mods, the compatibility layer reimplements them using their modern equivalents.
  • Don't like a module? Delete it! Dynamic module loading is fully supported. If, for example, you don't want the visualization API to be available, just delete visualization.lua. The mod will work just fine without it. NOTE: you should make sure mods using worldedit support this before deleting anything.

PostPosted: Wed Mar 20, 2013 21:47
by Jordach
Fuck yeah!

PostPosted: Wed Mar 27, 2013 17:35
by Sokomine
56k nodes does not seem to be that much. Make sure the area where the volcano ought to appear is loaded and generated. Did you copy the blueprint to the schems folder of the new world?

PostPosted: Wed Mar 27, 2013 20:18
by Temperest
Almost nothing? As Sokomine said, you will need to make sure all the blocks are loaded. That means you or another player needs to be able to see the nodes (although this is not necessarily always the case) and the blocks need to be loaded on the server.

That said, it may be a problem with the latest deserialization code. Would you mind sending me the save file so I can debug it?

PostPosted: Wed Mar 27, 2013 20:52
by mauvebic
I dont think this is a worldedit issue, none of my bin's or bp's are spawning properly in the latest git version of minetest, the first two spawns places very little nodes, and subsequent calls terminate in under 4 seconds with no additional nodes placed. So no system-wide update/6D facedir for me :/

PostPosted: Wed Mar 27, 2013 22:09
by Temperest
Small update: itemstacks in inventories in nodes with metadata are properly serialized as strings.

Hybrid Dog: the issue seems to be with Minetest, it will need further debugging, I think.

PostPosted: Wed Mar 27, 2013 23:15
by Temperest
It's worth trying again. Also, if you saved that file yourself, you are using an old version of WorldEdit. The latest version uses a different format, although it's completely backwards compatible.

PostPosted: Tue Apr 09, 2013 21:47
by MirceaKitsune
Interesting mod, and very nicely done from what I'm seeing. Funny enough, I started writing my own such mod before finding out about Worldedit. Nothing to worry about since it does use a different approach and has a slightly different purpose (such as mapgen integration so text file structures are automatically spawned in the world). I went for a main node with 3 markers to specify the area, which then allows you to import and export via the formspec menu.

Never the less, I set the format to be the same as Worldedit so structures should be possible to import / export between the two mods. Would be fun to see a comparison, since the I/O functions use a different code and likely different approach.

PostPosted: Sun Apr 14, 2013 13:50
by Nore
I found a bug: trying to save something containing a chest with something inside crashes Minetest.

PostPosted: Sun Apr 14, 2013 17:26
by Temperest
I can't confirm the issue; are you sure you're using the latest version?

Saving a single chest with a steel block inside completed perfectly, and so did a 3x3x3 glass cube with a chest in the middle.

Could you post your world if this problem persists?

PostPosted: Mon Apr 15, 2013 05:00
by Nore
I just checked: my version is older than the commit that fixed that. Sorry for this bug report.

PostPosted: Sun Apr 21, 2013 05:07
by Temperest
If you've been having trouble loading huge saves, try downloading WorldEdit again. Due to a limitation of Minetest's LuaJIT version, it fizzes and sparks at only a few tens of thousands of nodes. WorldEdit now uses a workaround to make sure your file loading is smooth and bug-free.

PostPosted: Mon Apr 22, 2013 03:10
by rcthomas93
Feature Request:

It would be really nice to have a blend function such as the one in the MC voxel editor. That way, when creating landscape features such as hills or mountains, you could get a much more natural effect.

PostPosted: Mon Apr 22, 2013 16:44
by Temperest
Blend feature? Please elaborate.

PostPosted: Tue Apr 23, 2013 19:43
by rcthomas93
The blend feature is mainly for building hills/mountains. Basically, once you build up the basic structure, the tool will then blend it out between peaks/to the ground so it looks more natural without having to place each individual block.

PostPosted: Sat Apr 27, 2013 01:48
by BenAmaranth
Can we get half spheres or domes? Or is it possible to work something like that up? In fact, itd be cool to learn how to make WorldEdit commands.

PostPosted: Sat Apr 27, 2013 07:33
by rcthomas93
It's actually called the smooth feature, not blend. Here's a video demonstrating how it works in MC.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CKbT9YUUCs8

PostPosted: Sat Apr 27, 2013 22:32
by Temperest
BenAmaranth wrote:Can we get half spheres or domes? Or is it possible to work something like that up? In fact, itd be cool to learn how to make WorldEdit commands.


Image

Enjoy! Please refer to the WorldEdit API reference for a guide on how to use the API. If you want to make your own commands, check out the worldedit_commands mod included in the download for examples.

Update:

  • New commands: //hollowdome and //dome!
  • New API functions: worldedit.hollow_dome and worldedit.dome.
  • Improved sphere code to be faster and more efficient.

Download it, as always, in the first post.

rcthomas93: would you mind giving a quick summary of the tool? Skimming through the video, I didn't see anything about smoothing.

PostPosted: Sun Apr 28, 2013 04:04
by rcthomas93
Ok, sorry!
Basically if you make something out of spheres, such as a mountain or an island, the smooth brush makes everything smooth so that you get the more natural "step" like gradient on the land instead of the very spherical or hard lines. It's just used to make everything look like a naturally generated landscape. It's a little hard for me to explain, but I hope that did it. If it's still not making sense, this video discusses it around 6 mins in.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=btcG_hYuHQ4

PostPosted: Sun Apr 28, 2013 15:47
by sfan5
What I'm working on right now: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-cZ5bXa1Ubk
Don't Panic: It will not be that slow
Warning: Will use some RAM
But it will be switchable off.

PostPosted: Sun Apr 28, 2013 16:34
by Temperest
Excellent! You might also want to check out WorldEdit++, where the block queue is already working quite quickly.

PostPosted: Sun Apr 28, 2013 16:45
by sfan5
I've already tested WorldEdit++