Page 1 of 3

[Mod] Hoppers

PostPosted: Mon Jun 01, 2015 06:10
by jordan4ibanez
It's just a clone of Minecraft hoppers, functions nearly identical to them minus mesecons making them stop and the way they're placed. I'm just releasing it now so you guys can mess around with it and have some fun.

Read this before you download

A hopper will use a chest as a reservoir. A hopper connected to a furnace from the top will put items in the source box and a hopper connected to the side will put it into the fuel. Now if you put one below the furnace, it will take smelted items out of it.
Image

You can use hoppers to transport items from chest to chest without worrying about them despawning.
Image

You can throw items into the top of hoppers. They'll get "sucked" into them.
Image

This is the recipe.
Image

Have fun.

https://www.dropbox.com/s/xn71v94evc0vn ... r.zip?dl=1

Clone it/probe it/mod it
https://github.com/jordan4ibanez/Hoppers

Video of it: https://youtu.be/Z_dYMjN75jE

Pointless development screenshots! http://imgur.com/a/UPmNA

License
Your phone or window isn't wide enough to display the code box. If it's a phone, try rotating it to landscape mode.
Code: Select all
            DO WHAT THE FUCK YOU WANT TO PUBLIC LICENSE
                    Version 2, December 2004

 Copyright (C) 2004 Sam Hocevar <sam@hocevar.net>

 Everyone is permitted to copy and distribute verbatim or modified
 copies of this license document, and changing it is allowed as long
 as the name is changed.

            DO WHAT THE FUCK YOU WANT TO PUBLIC LICENSE
   TERMS AND CONDITIONS FOR COPYING, DISTRIBUTION AND MODIFICATION

  0. You just DO WHAT THE FUCK YOU WANT TO.

Re: [Mod] Hoppers

PostPosted: Mon Jun 01, 2015 08:02
by TenPlus1
Nice one... been waiting for hoppers to come to Minetest :)

Would you mind adding a recipe to craft hopper:

Your phone or window isn't wide enough to display the code box. If it's a phone, try rotating it to landscape mode.
Code: Select all
minetest.register_craft({
   output = "hopper:hopper",
   recipe = {
      {"default:steel_ingot", "default:chest", "default:steel_ingot"},
      {"", "default:steel_ingot", ""},
   },
})

Re: [Mod] Hoppers

PostPosted: Mon Jun 01, 2015 19:20
by jordan4ibanez
TenPlus1 wrote:Nice one... been waiting for hoppers to come to Minetest :)

Would you mind adding a recipe to craft hopper:

Your phone or window isn't wide enough to display the code box. If it's a phone, try rotating it to landscape mode.
Code: Select all
minetest.register_craft({
   output = "hopper:hopper",
   recipe = {
      {"default:steel_ingot", "", "default:steel_ingot"},
      {"default:steel_ingot", "default:chest", "default:steel_ingot"},
      {"", "default:steel_ingot", ""},
   },
})


Thanks. Added a recipe. Also now you can place the hoppers with ease. I'm pretty sure this mod is finished now.

Re: [Mod] Hoppers

PostPosted: Mon Jun 01, 2015 20:55
by DS-minetest
nice mod
please do not say it is a clone of minecraft, say it is inspired of minecraft
please use an other texture maybe steel block

Re: [Mod] Hoppers

PostPosted: Mon Jun 01, 2015 21:27
by jordan4ibanez
DS-minetest wrote:nice mod
please do not say it is a clone of minecraft, say it is inspired of minecraft
please use an other texture maybe steel block

I'm very sorry, but I literally reverse engineered it into Minetest, haha.

Re: [Mod] Hoppers

PostPosted: Mon Jun 01, 2015 22:33
by jordan4ibanez

Re: [Mod] Hoppers

PostPosted: Tue Jun 02, 2015 06:01
by cd2
wow, nice video!
And the mod is really cool.
It is a bit like pipeworks (VanessaE)...

Re: [Mod] Hoppers

PostPosted: Tue Jun 02, 2015 11:28
by cx384
1+

Re: [Mod] Hoppers

PostPosted: Tue Jun 09, 2015 19:36
by TenPlus1
Hoppers seem to have a bug that allows for automatic tool repair when used tools move through them... This has been fixed so here's the latest release:

DOWNLOAD REMOVED, use github link: https://github.com/tenplus1/hopper

Re: [Mod] Hoppers

PostPosted: Sun Jun 14, 2015 11:36
by jbb
Nice mod.

But i have a question: I tested the mod in creative mode and in the inventory there are to items named" I THINK YOU HAVE BROKEN SOMETHING". Why?

and why do you use the coal texture?
In the crafting is just steel. this isnt really logic.

Re: [Mod] Hoppers

PostPosted: Fri Jun 26, 2015 17:27
by jbb
Hi,
I changed the code a bit so some nodes wich have the descriptin "I think you broke something" arent shown in creative inverntory anymore.
I also changed the texture to default_steel_block, but if you dont like this you can easily change back this. I hope my init.lua can help you.

Re: [Mod] Hoppers

PostPosted: Mon Jun 29, 2015 18:42
by dannyplaysminetest
Thanks for this Mod, i love to build Machines in MineTest using Furnaces, Tubes, Mesecons, Digilines, Technic, etc the Hoppers fit in perfectly with the Tools i have already. ^_^

I just tested this mod works perfectly, a hopper above a chest (a perfect garbage collector) gonna use this in my city since i always throw items away, it´s a much faster way of storing items in a chest, just press Q several times for the items you want to drop (get rid of) while you stand on the hopper or next to it and like magic the Hopper stores it all in the chest.
Image

Realy cool and useful, it will also solve the problem i had before with overloading a Furnace with Fuel and or Raw materials when they are hooked up to other machines. :)

Re: [Mod] Hoppers

PostPosted: Tue Aug 18, 2015 17:32
by Napiophelios
This is a very handy mod :)

I added textures to TenPlus1's version 4.0
to keep up with the 32px texture pack I use.
Also added inventory images.

Here it is if anyone wants to check it out.
hopper-0.4_[modified].zip
added 32px textures
(11.72 KiB) Downloaded 210 times


Image

Re: [Mod] Hoppers

PostPosted: Tue Aug 18, 2015 19:00
by TenPlus1
Nice textures dude...

Re: [Mod] Hoppers

PostPosted: Tue Aug 18, 2015 19:38
by Napiophelios
Thanks man. I cant code worth a crap
but I am picking up some M$Paint skillz :P

Re: [Mod] Hoppers

PostPosted: Wed Nov 04, 2015 10:42
by TenPlus1
Updated to version 0.8:

  • Added Napiophelios' new textures (optimized)
  • Hoppers hold half as much (won't affect current hoppers)
  • Can be dug using wooden axe
  • Recipe changed to use only 3 steel ingots
  • Fixed rotational bug causing minetest to crash
  • Tweaked and tidied code

https://github.com/tenplus1/hopper

Re: [Mod] Hoppers

PostPosted: Wed Nov 04, 2015 22:14
by philipbenr
Napiophelios wrote:Thanks man. I cant code worth a crap
but I am picking up some M$Paint skillz :P


LOL, do you really use M$paint???

Re: [Mod] Hoppers

PostPosted: Wed Nov 04, 2015 23:38
by Napiophelios
HAHA No Of course not :)
I use Photofiltre 7 by Antonio DaCruz

Re: [Mod] Hoppers

PostPosted: Sat Nov 14, 2015 11:09
by mbb
i like this mod but jbbs is coooler

Re: [Mod] Hoppers

PostPosted: Wed Nov 25, 2015 05:18
by wilkgr76
mbb wrote:i like this mod but jbbs is coooler

Is that where your name comes from?

Re: [Mod] Hoppers

PostPosted: Wed Nov 25, 2015 10:58
by TenPlus1
Updated to version 0.9:

  • Added protection checks
  • Added support for wine mod's wine barrel

https://github.com/tenplus1/hopper

Re: [Mod] Hoppers

PostPosted: Tue Feb 16, 2016 20:54
by TenPlus1
Updated to 1.0:

- New node timer furnaces don't work properly so reverted back to abm one's instead

https://github.com/tenplus1/hopper

Re: [Mod] Hoppers

PostPosted: Wed Feb 17, 2016 04:04
by jordan4ibanez
TenPlus1 wrote:Updated to 1.0:

- New node timer furnaces don't work properly so reverted back to abm one's instead

https://github.com/tenplus1/hopper


That's pretty awesome. Could you reimplement the auto place of side and normal hoppers based on the pointed_thing.above when you place a hopper?

Re: [Mod] Hoppers

PostPosted: Thu Feb 18, 2016 03:13
by K1ck
Hi guys,

Sorry for the silly question, but I'm not a minecraft player and I barely have 2 weeks playing testcraft. Today I installed the mod (the version from tenplus1) but I can't connect connectir from the sides.

I tried to do something like the image in the first post, I can place it in a side of the furnance (shift+r_click) but it does not connect neither one to each other. The only way it works for me is when they are one in the top of the other, in the top or bottom of the chests.

Any idea about what I'm doing wrong?

Regards

Re: [Mod] Hoppers

PostPosted: Thu Feb 18, 2016 07:53
by TenPlus1
Place a hopper into the crafting grid and it becomes a 'side' hopper, place side-hopper and use a screwdriver tool (1 stick with 1 steel on top) to rotate the hopper until connected with chest or furnace etc.

Re: [Mod] Hoppers

PostPosted: Thu Feb 18, 2016 08:13
by K1ck
Thanks, that worked

Re: [Mod] Hoppers

PostPosted: Mon Mar 28, 2016 10:14
by TenPlus1
Updated to 1.1:

- Hoppers now work with abm timed Furnaces
- Reduced Abm's needed
- Tidied and tweaked code

https://github.com/tenplus1/hopper

Re: [Mod] Hoppers

PostPosted: Mon Mar 28, 2016 17:57
by azekill_DIABLO
is it possible to make them interact with mesecons mod?

exemple: mese on >> hopper locked
mese off >>hopper ok

or: mese on>>>>super fast hopper
mese off>>>>normal hopper

I ho(p)pe(r) you will add it!

Re: [Mod] Hoppers

PostPosted: Mon Mar 28, 2016 18:14
by TenPlus1
Will have to look at mesecon functions and maybe have it so that mesecon ON disabled hopper.

Re: [Mod] Hoppers

PostPosted: Mon May 30, 2016 16:41
by Rate85
2 Questions
1: Can You Make It Have a Smaller Inventory Like The Minecraft Ones
2: Do I Need To Update To Make It Look Like Steel Blocks?