[Mod] Craft Guide [craft_guide] - Shows crafts for all loade

madarexxx
Member
 
Posts: 144
Joined: Sat Aug 04, 2012 06:49

by madarexxx » Mon Aug 20, 2012 07:44

cornernote, to clear the air about crashes take this - https://docs.google.com/open?id=0B7HUMrW-JPIsb1NJZ2Y5YkZoaXM
it is my minetest combined linux/windows folder. Steps to get crash:
1) Open world, for example sdf. Try to use something, it shell work fine.
2) Drop something, for example a stack of cobblestone.
3) Exit to menu.
4) Try to open this world again.
5) Look, how it crashes.
6) Move a craft_guide mod folder to somewhere and launch it again. It works!
Sorry for my bad English, please help me learn it - correct my worst mistakes :)
 

cornernote
Member
 
Posts: 844
Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2012 15:02

by cornernote » Mon Aug 20, 2012 11:57

madarexxx wrote:cornernote, to clear the air about crashes take this - https://docs.google.com/open?id=0B7HUMrW-JPIsb1NJZ2Y5YkZoaXM
it is my minetest combined linux/windows folder. Steps to get crash:
1) Open world, for example sdf. Try to use something, it shell work fine.
2) Drop something, for example a stack of cobblestone.
3) Exit to menu.
4) Try to open this world again.
5) Look, how it crashes.
6) Move a craft_guide mod folder to somewhere and launch it again. It works!


Thanks for taking the time to send this bug report.

I downloaded your game, and i was able to replicate the issue, and also to see the issue go away when i removed craft_guide. However the issue also went away when i removed realistic_ores_and_metals (can you confirm this is the same for you?).

I put craft_guide and realistic_ores_and_metals on (and no others), and it loaded fine. The debug.txt showed a lot of lines like this:
Your phone or window isn't wide enough to display the code box. If it's a phone, try rotating it to landscape mode.
Code: Select all
INFO[main]: Client: Detached inventory update: "craft_guide"


Finally I tried something random that worked...

Change the 0 to 10 in init.lua on line 307, this line:
Your phone or window isn't wide enough to display the code box. If it's a phone, try rotating it to landscape mode.
Code: Select all
minetest.after(0, function()


Let me know if that works.
 

madarexxx
Member
 
Posts: 144
Joined: Sat Aug 04, 2012 06:49

by madarexxx » Mon Aug 20, 2012 12:16

cornernote wrote:I downloaded your game, and i was able to replicate the issue, and also to see the issue go away when i removed craft_guide. However the issue also went away when i removed realistic_ores_and_metals (can you confirm this is the same for you?).


No, it's not same - after moving realistic ores and metals minetest still crashes :(


cornernote wrote:Finally I tried something random that worked...

Change the 0 to 10 in init.lua on line 307, this line:
minetest.after(0, function()

Let me know if that works.


Damn, Man- It work!! Thank you for fixing this annoying bug!
Sorry for my bad English, please help me learn it - correct my worst mistakes :)
 

Matsetes
 

by Matsetes » Wed Sep 05, 2012 14:31

I tried the mod but the recipes has some errors... For example in the technic mod it display the RE battery and the battery box with the same recipe. It gives me the same problem with another pair of objects that now I don't remember...
In plus it will not show the objects of all the mod. It doesn't display the lights mod, one object of the teleport mod and all of the mesecon mod, perhaps it doesn't show more objects that the ones I noticed...
 

cornernote
Member
 
Posts: 844
Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2012 15:02

by cornernote » Fri Sep 07, 2012 06:29

Matsetes wrote:I tried the mod but the recipes has some errors... For example in the technic mod it display the RE battery and the battery box with the same recipe. It gives me the same problem with another pair of objects that now I don't remember...


I see the same thing. Seems that the builtin craft registry is not working well.

Matsetes wrote:In plus it will not show the objects of all the mod. It doesn't display the lights mod, one object of the teleport mod and all of the mesecon mod, perhaps it doesn't show more objects that the ones I noticed...


There was a known issue for items that had quotes inside quotes.

Anyhoo...

I changed it back to use my own registry. This means you will have to put a depends.txt in the default mod with the contents "craft_guide". See README.txt for more info.
 

Matsetes
 

by Matsetes » Tue Sep 11, 2012 10:01

I didn't understand...
 

cornernote
Member
 
Posts: 844
Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2012 15:02

by cornernote » Tue Sep 11, 2012 11:02

Try the latest version, should solve those issues.
 

Jordanlw
New member
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Dec 02, 2011 05:41

by Jordanlw » Wed Sep 12, 2012 00:25

I was just wondering if you knew that you can drag the listed items (which you don't own) out of the craft guide window onto the ground and pick them up?
Also it's currently not displaying any items at all (except for the craft guide PC & sign), I only have craft guide installed, I tried adding "craft_guide" to the depends.txt in the right location but I get this error:

09:25:42: ERROR[main]: ModError: mod "craft_guide" has unsatisfied dependencies: "default" "stairs".

Thanks.
 

cornernote
Member
 
Posts: 844
Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2012 15:02

by cornernote » Wed Sep 12, 2012 01:14

Jordanlw wrote:I was just wondering if you knew that you can drag the listed items (which you don't own) out of the craft guide window onto the ground and pick them up?


LOL, no I didnt know that! I wonder how you prevent that from happening?...

Remove the depends.txt from craft_guide and try again. Let me know how you go. I removed it in git too.

EDIT - these issues are fixed in latest Git
Last edited by cornernote on Wed Sep 12, 2012 02:03, edited 1 time in total.
 

Jordanlw
New member
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Dec 02, 2011 05:41

by Jordanlw » Wed Sep 12, 2012 01:41

Is there a unique item ID? (one for EACH item?), if so maybe you can save that ID during craft guide use and after it, if there's a item with matching ID delete it?

EDIT: forgot to mention, craft guide's working now! Thanks.
Last edited by Jordanlw on Wed Sep 12, 2012 01:41, edited 1 time in total.
 

cornernote
Member
 
Posts: 844
Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2012 15:02

by cornernote » Wed Sep 12, 2012 02:05

Jordanlw wrote:Is there a unique item ID? (one for EACH item?), if so maybe you can save that ID during craft guide use and after it, if there's a item with matching ID delete it?


Each item has a name like mod:name, default:wood, wool:red, etc

Not sure what you mean about deleting it. Do you mean about the previous exploit where you can drop items off the side? If so thats fixed now.
 

Jordanlw
New member
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Dec 02, 2011 05:41

by Jordanlw » Wed Sep 12, 2012 02:10

Ooh, I was just wondering if there was a unique identifier for every instance of a item, like a serial number for each item which could be used to track if the item came from the craft guide interface, if so delete it after the interface is closed?
But now that bugs fixed it doesn't matter.
 

Temperest
Member
 
Posts: 651
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2011 23:13
GitHub: Uberi

by Temperest » Wed Sep 12, 2012 02:14

Oh, just a note, both links in the download section point to the ZIP, whereas the "git" link should probably point to the GitHub repository.
WorldEdit 1.0 released

The Mesecons Laboratory - the art of Mesecons circuitry
Latest article: Mesecons Basics.
 

Jordanlw
New member
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Dec 02, 2011 05:41

by Jordanlw » Wed Sep 12, 2012 08:06

I just found another bug, if you open the craft guide and move an item you don't own into the bookmark section, you can then drag it to the floor and keep it.
 

cornernote
Member
 
Posts: 844
Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2012 15:02

by cornernote » Wed Sep 12, 2012 08:52

fixed, you hacker you =)
 

madarexxx
Member
 
Posts: 144
Joined: Sat Aug 04, 2012 06:49

by madarexxx » Sun Sep 16, 2012 13:01

cornernote, you said that if you will use your register method, you will be able to see all craft recipes. What about updating your mod, with alternate recipes viewing support? And it will be cool, if there will be any filter/search for finding all recipes with something.(for example finding all recipes using wood)
Sorry for my bad English, please help me learn it - correct my worst mistakes :)
 

cornernote
Member
 
Posts: 844
Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2012 15:02

by cornernote » Mon Sep 17, 2012 05:15

madarexxx wrote:What about updating your mod, with alternate recipes viewing support?


Done! =)

madarexxx wrote:And it will be cool, if there will be any filter/search for finding all recipes with something.(for example finding all recipes using wood)


Yeah, I agree that would be cool. I'll think about how to do that.
 

User avatar
jordan4ibanez
Member
 
Posts: 1865
Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2011 18:44
GitHub: jordan4ibanez
IRC: jordan4ibanez
In-game: jordan4ibanez

by jordan4ibanez » Wed Sep 19, 2012 23:20

your mod saved my buttox!
If you can think it, you can make it.
 

madarexxx
Member
 
Posts: 144
Joined: Sat Aug 04, 2012 06:49

by madarexxx » Mon Sep 24, 2012 16:39

Is it possible to optimize craft_guide? Loading takes ages!
Sorry for my bad English, please help me learn it - correct my worst mistakes :)
 

User avatar
jordan4ibanez
Member
 
Posts: 1865
Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2011 18:44
GitHub: jordan4ibanez
IRC: jordan4ibanez
In-game: jordan4ibanez

by jordan4ibanez » Mon Sep 24, 2012 16:47

madarexxx wrote:Is it possible to optimize craft_guide? Loading takes ages!

exactly! does it not read from memory and read from the disk?
If you can think it, you can make it.
 

cornernote
Member
 
Posts: 844
Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2012 15:02

by cornernote » Tue Sep 25, 2012 00:29

I think it's cos the server hasn't sent on_receive_fields back to the client.

I'll have a look today and see if I can optimize it.

Edit... Just had a look real quick and it seems that it just takes time for the server to give the next page sometimes. If anyone has some code improvements please share, but I can't see how to make it faster.

Edit... To explain in more detail now I am on the PC...

The mod loads all the crafts at the start of the game, and for each craft it puts an item into a detached (shared for everyone on the server) inventory.

When you click NEXT/PREV it simply updates the formspec with the inventory starting at a new starting offset. This is exactly the same way the creative mode works, does that lag sometimes too?
Last edited by cornernote on Tue Sep 25, 2012 01:15, edited 1 time in total.
 

User avatar
jordan4ibanez
Member
 
Posts: 1865
Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2011 18:44
GitHub: jordan4ibanez
IRC: jordan4ibanez
In-game: jordan4ibanez

by jordan4ibanez » Tue Sep 25, 2012 01:56

cornernote wrote:does that lag sometimes too?

the real reason has been discovered, the chat box will overlay the buttons, not allowing you to click them
Last edited by jordan4ibanez on Tue Sep 25, 2012 02:07, edited 1 time in total.
If you can think it, you can make it.
 

cornernote
Member
 
Posts: 844
Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2012 15:02

by cornernote » Tue Sep 25, 2012 02:07

i ran my eye over it again, and i just don't see how it can be faster, this is the main file:
https://github.com/cornernote/minetest-craft_guide/blob/master/craft_guide/api_craft_guide.lua

i'm open to ideas and suggestions, if you don't understand the file tell me and i'll add more (a lot more) comment lines.
 

User avatar
jordan4ibanez
Member
 
Posts: 1865
Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2011 18:44
GitHub: jordan4ibanez
IRC: jordan4ibanez
In-game: jordan4ibanez

by jordan4ibanez » Tue Sep 25, 2012 02:08

cornernote wrote:i ran my eye over it again, and i just don't see how it can be faster, this is the main file:
https://github.com/cornernote/minetest-craft_guide/blob/master/craft_guide/api_craft_guide.lua

i'm open to ideas and suggestions, if you don't understand the file tell me and i'll add more (a lot more) comment lines.

i'm telling you the reason in the irc channel
If you can think it, you can make it.
 

cornernote
Member
 
Posts: 844
Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2012 15:02

by cornernote » Tue Sep 25, 2012 03:54

all the buttons are now at the bottom, away from the chat interface that was preventing them from being clicked.

let me know how it goes
 

User avatar
Zeg9
Member
 
Posts: 608
Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2012 11:02

by Zeg9 » Sat Oct 27, 2012 08:17

This is a really useful mod;
I noticed one problem though: it doesn't work fine with 5x5 crafting recipes (used in workbench) :/
Image
↑ The 5x5 workbench is on the "output" field
Last edited by Zeg9 on Fri Nov 02, 2012 09:12, edited 1 time in total.
I made a few (a lot of?) mods for minetest: here is a list.
See also the MT-Faithful texture pack (work in progress).
 

cornernote
Member
 
Posts: 844
Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2012 15:02

by cornernote » Fri Nov 02, 2012 02:52

UPDATE - added search!

-- thanks @Jeija
Last edited by cornernote on Fri Nov 02, 2012 02:55, edited 1 time in total.
 

User avatar
jordan4ibanez
Member
 
Posts: 1865
Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2011 18:44
GitHub: jordan4ibanez
IRC: jordan4ibanez
In-game: jordan4ibanez

by jordan4ibanez » Fri Nov 02, 2012 02:54

YAY :D
If you can think it, you can make it.
 

madarexxx
Member
 
Posts: 144
Joined: Sat Aug 04, 2012 06:49

by madarexxx » Mon Nov 05, 2012 08:53

Found 2 bugs:
1) I put wood planks in output section, put chest on planks, throw away planks, pick them up. Cheat!
2) recipes, containing "group:*" are showing not correctly - there are "unknown item" in recipe.

P.s. what about reverse search? All recipes using wood for example.
Sorry for my bad English, please help me learn it - correct my worst mistakes :)
 

Michael Eh?
Member
 
Posts: 282
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2012 17:21

by Michael Eh? » Wed Nov 07, 2012 21:41

thanks for the mod. worked perfectly picking up everything installed. Plan to demo mionetest on workstations. This saves having to leave a book of how each mod works.
 

PreviousNext

Return to Mod Releases

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 42 guests

cron