[Mod] Vines and Rope [2.3] [vines]

User avatar
Bas080
Member
 
Posts: 398
Joined: Mon May 21, 2012 15:54
GitHub: bas080
IRC: bas080
In-game: bas080

[Mod] Vines and Rope [2.3] [vines]

by Bas080 » Thu Jul 12, 2012 13:49

Now with the new vines mod you can just climb your way out of it.

Fell in a cave? Let your teammate throw you a rope. Working on a high altitude project? Use the rope to get down and climb up. Making an adventure map? Make your levels more traverse-able and dynamic.

Image
Image

Get vines using shears
Find some good old vines and dig them with the shears. Now you can craft a ropebox or use the vines for decorations.

Using the ropebox
1 - Craft the ropebox
2 - Place the ropebox
3 - Watch as the rope descends into the abyss

Depends
biome_lib

Suggestions
tiny_trees ( wip )
more_trees

Download https://github.com/bas080/vines/zipball/master
[i]...or see code
https://github.com/bas080/vines

Documentation

License
Last edited by Bas080 on Sun Aug 09, 2015 15:44, edited 8 times in total.
 

User avatar
VanessaE
Member
 
Posts: 3894
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2012 12:38
GitHub: VanessaE
IRC: VanessaE
In-game: VanessaEzekowitz

by VanessaE » Mon Jul 16, 2012 13:33

To which parts does the license apply? Any dependencies?
You might like some of my stuff:
Plantlife ~ More Trees ~ Home Decor ~ Pipeworks ~ HDX Textures (16-512px)
Tips (BTC): 13LdcdUFcNCFAm7HfvAXh5GHTjCnnQj6KE
 

User avatar
Bas080
Member
 
Posts: 398
Joined: Mon May 21, 2012 15:54
GitHub: bas080
IRC: bas080
In-game: bas080

by Bas080 » Tue Jul 17, 2012 08:10

VanessaE wrote:To which parts does the license apply? Any dependencies?


Ty for the feedback.
 

User avatar
VanessaE
Member
 
Posts: 3894
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2012 12:38
GitHub: VanessaE
IRC: VanessaE
In-game: VanessaEzekowitz

by VanessaE » Tue Jul 17, 2012 12:25

Topic moved :-)
You might like some of my stuff:
Plantlife ~ More Trees ~ Home Decor ~ Pipeworks ~ HDX Textures (16-512px)
Tips (BTC): 13LdcdUFcNCFAm7HfvAXh5GHTjCnnQj6KE
 

cornernote
Member
 
Posts: 844
Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2012 15:02

by cornernote » Fri Jul 27, 2012 04:33

Removing the rope was killing my server. I changed it to be like this:

Your phone or window isn't wide enough to display the code box. If it's a phone, try rotating it to landscape mode.
Code: Select all
minetest.register_on_dignode(function (pos, node, player)
    if node.name == 'vines:rope_block' then
        local p = {x=pos.x, y=pos.y-1, z=pos.z}
        local n = minetest.env:get_node(p)
        while n.name == 'vines:rope' do
            minetest.env:remove_node(p)
            p = {x=p.x, y=p.y-1, z=p.z}
            n = minetest.env:get_node(p)
        end
        if n.name == 'vines:rope_end' then
            minetest.env:remove_node(p)
        end
    end
end)
 

User avatar
Bas080
Member
 
Posts: 398
Joined: Mon May 21, 2012 15:54
GitHub: bas080
IRC: bas080
In-game: bas080

by Bas080 » Fri Jul 27, 2012 16:14

Cornernote:
Ty for noticing and giving feedback on my mod. I think you have used my older version. It is fixed in newer ones.

I am thinking of extending this mod to support several different drawtypes for vines. VanessaE's posin ivy mod has a bush that grows against a tree trunk. I would like to use the same draw style to make vines drop down leaves/trees and cobble/stone. Please let me know what you think for i still haven't made up my mind about the vines.
 

cornernote
Member
 
Posts: 844
Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2012 15:02

by cornernote » Sat Jul 28, 2012 01:48

Bas080:

No worries. I double checked and the code I changed is what you still have on git.

Your phone or window isn't wide enough to display the code box. If it's a phone, try rotating it to landscape mode.
Code: Select all
minetest.register_on_dignode(function (pos, node, player)
    if node.name == 'vines:rope_block' then
   
        local p = {x=pos.x, y=pos.y-1, z=pos.z}
        local n = minetest.env:get_node(p)
       
        print(n.name)
       
        if n.name == 'vines:rope' then
            while n.name ~= 'vines:rope_end' do
                print(n.name) <-----   I added this line, it caused it to spew out some unknown/invalid node name
                minetest.env:remove_node(p)
                p = {x=p.x, y=p.y-1, z=p.z}
                n = minetest.env:get_node(p)
            end
        end
        if n.name == 'vines:rope_end' then
            minetest.env:remove_node(p)
        end
    end
end)


My question is, why do you need to check if it's ~= rope_end. Why not just check if its == rope, if it is then remove it.
 

User avatar
Bas080
Member
 
Posts: 398
Joined: Mon May 21, 2012 15:54
GitHub: bas080
IRC: bas080
In-game: bas080

by Bas080 » Sat Jul 28, 2012 11:17

cornernote wrote:Bas080:
My question is, why do you need to check if it's ~= rope_end. Why not just check if its == rope, if it is then remove it.


When I run my code it does not freeze my server. When does it happen on your server? I have implemented your lines in the code just to be safe. It is a bit nicer compared to mine as you are using just one while and not a unneeded if statement like in my code. Committing now.
 

cornernote
Member
 
Posts: 844
Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2012 15:02

by cornernote » Sat Jul 28, 2012 12:12

Hi Bas080,

It goes into an infinite loop the instant the Rope Block is removed. The client is still responsive, but the server is stuck in a loop.

Im not sure why, but it had to do with n.name was not rope (and there is no check inside the loop to ensure it is rope, you just keep going down until you hit rope_end .. perhaps my rope had no rope end because i was playing with another mod and using rope without an end).

Anyway, thanks for committing the change.
 

User avatar
rubenwardy
Member
 
Posts: 4500
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2012 18:11
GitHub: rubenwardy
IRC: rubenwardy
In-game: rubenwardy

by rubenwardy » Wed Aug 15, 2012 21:02

I love it...
 

User avatar
CaKeSs
Member
 
Posts: 48
Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2012 02:48

by CaKeSs » Sat Oct 13, 2012 03:12

Lol! Very helpful indeed! But the rope is creeping me out, looks like the spine :S But it's a cool mod, Downloading
lalalalala, Hit, dig, break, collect! -JusticeV before he fell in lava.
|Youtube||Unrealsoftware Account|Granite Mod|
 

User avatar
jordan4ibanez
Member
 
Posts: 1865
Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2011 18:44
GitHub: jordan4ibanez
IRC: jordan4ibanez
In-game: jordan4ibanez

by jordan4ibanez » Thu Nov 01, 2012 03:35

Nice
If you can think it, you can make it.
 

User avatar
Inocudom
Member
 
Posts: 2889
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2012 01:14
IRC: Inocudom
In-game: Inocudom

by Inocudom » Fri Jan 11, 2013 21:20

Will there be any further updates to this mod?
 

User avatar
Bas080
Member
 
Posts: 398
Joined: Mon May 21, 2012 15:54
GitHub: bas080
IRC: bas080
In-game: bas080

by Bas080 » Wed Jan 16, 2013 02:14

Inocudom wrote:Will there be any further updates to this mod?


The "moretrees" mod has vines now too. I'm thinking of removing the vines from the mod and just make it about the ropebox.

Change the crafting recipe to support more trees vines and/or (wool)string

I have no ideas for extending the mod. I'm open for ideas.
 

User avatar
jojoa1997
Member
 
Posts: 2890
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2012 05:11

by jojoa1997 » Wed Jan 16, 2013 02:18

allow ropes to go horizontal like a zip line.
Coding;
1X coding
3X debugging
12X tweaking to be just right
 

User avatar
VanessaE
Member
 
Posts: 3894
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2012 12:38
GitHub: VanessaE
IRC: VanessaE
In-game: VanessaEzekowitz

by VanessaE » Wed Jan 16, 2013 04:27

bas080, moretrees relies on your mod to provide vines actually. It doesn't register any of its own. :-)

Now that said, I use a copy of vines/ropes on my server that's modified so that vines won't grow on regular trees (instead, only on jungle trees, and only if the vine starters were spawned when the tree grew).
You might like some of my stuff:
Plantlife ~ More Trees ~ Home Decor ~ Pipeworks ~ HDX Textures (16-512px)
Tips (BTC): 13LdcdUFcNCFAm7HfvAXh5GHTjCnnQj6KE
 

User avatar
Bas080
Member
 
Posts: 398
Joined: Mon May 21, 2012 15:54
GitHub: bas080
IRC: bas080
In-game: bas080

by Bas080 » Tue Jan 22, 2013 14:00

VanessaE, so you do not use a leave abm. I'll do the same in the update! That does mean that you'll have to spwan them in the trees mod. I'll make sure to add more types of vines.
- Thick vine/root that grows to the ground
- Hanging vines (already have that but could use texture update)
- Side hanging vines. Vines that hang on the side of leaves. (similar texture as the plantlike vines.

All of them being climbable

jojoa1997 wrote:allow ropes to go horizontal like a zip line.

Not just vertical but horizontal. I'll think about it.
 

Spots
Member
 
Posts: 124
Joined: Tue Jul 24, 2012 12:12

by Spots » Tue Jan 22, 2013 14:20

Bas080 wrote:VanessaE, so you do not use a leave abm. I'll do the same in the update! That does mean that you'll have to spwan them in the trees mod. I'll make sure to add more types of vines.
- Thick vine/root that grows to the ground
- Hanging vines (already have that but could use texture update)
- Side hanging vines. Vines that hang on the side of leaves. (similar texture as the plantlike vines.

All of them being climbable

jojoa1997 wrote:allow ropes to go horizontal like a zip line.

Not just vertical but horizontal. I'll think about it.


if you do the horizontal wouldn't you also have to come up with a way to move on them like hand over hand or sliding
maybe you could make it shoot across an expanse and then form a rope bridge kind of like these
https://www.google.com/search?q=rope+bridge&oe=utf-8&aq=t&rls=org.mozilla:en-US:official&client=firefox-a&um=1&ie=UTF-8&hl=en&tbm=isch&source=og&sa=N&tab=wi&ei=0Z_-UNiXMYim9gTd44GYBw&biw=1920&bih=916&sei=15_-UJ6ZAob69QTM3ICQCQ#imgrc=JyVdzGDQN8Is-M%3A%3B6ylpfiKraEDJvM%3Bhttp%253A%252F%252Fwww.psgtech.edu%252Fncc%252Fimages%252FWings%252FEP%252FBridges%252FRope%252520Bridge01.jpg%3Bhttp%253A%252F%252Fwww.psgtech.edu%252Fncc%252F4wEP.html%3B400%3B400
maybe crafting would be top row : empty / middle row : rope box , planks , rope box / bottom row : empty
Last edited by Spots on Tue Jan 22, 2013 14:23, edited 1 time in total.
 

rarkenin
Member
 
Posts: 668
Joined: Tue Nov 20, 2012 20:48

by rarkenin » Tue Jan 22, 2013 14:28

Spots wrote:if you do the horizontal wouldn't you also have to come up with a way to move on them like hand over hand or sliding
maybe you could make it shoot across an expanse and then form a rope bridge kind of like these
https://www.google.com/search?q=rope+bridge&oe=utf-8&aq=t&rls=org.mozilla:en-US:official&client=firefox-a&um=1&ie=UTF-8&hl=en&tbm=isch&source=og&sa=N&tab=wi&ei=0Z_-UNiXMYim9gTd44GYBw&biw=1920&bih=916&sei=15_-UJ6ZAob69QTM3ICQCQ#imgrc=JyVdzGDQN8Is-M%3A%3B6ylpfiKraEDJvM%3Bhttp%253A%252F%252Fwww.psgtech.edu%252Fncc%252Fimages%252FWings%252FEP%252FBridges%252FRope%252520Bridge01.jpg%3Bhttp%253A%252F%252Fwww.psgtech.edu%252Fncc%252F4wEP.html%3B400%3B400
maybe crafting would be top row : empty / middle row : rope box , planks , rope box / bottom row : empty


In some cases, ladders may be placed horizntally, and they behave in a similar fashion to what is needed. Can that behavior be adapted?
Admin pro tempore on 0gb.us:30000. Ask me if you have a problem, or just want help.
This is a signature virus. Add me to your signature so that I can multiply.
Now working on my own clone, Mosstest.
I guess I'm back for some time.
 

User avatar
jojoa1997
Member
 
Posts: 2890
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2012 05:11

by jojoa1997 » Tue Jan 22, 2013 14:39

You could have to place another block for it to go to.the rope will only go up to 50 blocks
Coding;
1X coding
3X debugging
12X tweaking to be just right
 

User avatar
Bas080
Member
 
Posts: 398
Joined: Mon May 21, 2012 15:54
GitHub: bas080
IRC: bas080
In-game: bas080

by Bas080 » Wed Jan 23, 2013 03:24

Spots, . I'm not making a rope bridge maker. you can make a ropebridge yourself using the horizontal rope. However, the images you shared clearly show that a rope tends to bend deapest in the middle. If only i could recreate that effect.

rarkenin, Yes i could and most likely will give it that behavior.

Jojoa, a limit to the length of the rope. Why not!
 

User avatar
jojoa1997
Member
 
Posts: 2890
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2012 05:11

by jojoa1997 » Wed Jan 23, 2013 03:35

i am wondering if you understand what i am saying. place a rope begin box, walk to other mountain and place an end box, then the rope appears
Coding;
1X coding
3X debugging
12X tweaking to be just right
 

User avatar
Bas080
Member
 
Posts: 398
Joined: Mon May 21, 2012 15:54
GitHub: bas080
IRC: bas080
In-game: bas080

by Bas080 » Wed Jan 23, 2013 04:49

jojoa1997 wrote:i am wondering if you understand what i am saying. place a rope begin box, walk to other mountain and place an end box, then the rope appears


If I didn't understand it the first time i sure do now. Btw I understood you the first time.
 

User avatar
jojoa1997
Member
 
Posts: 2890
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2012 05:11

by jojoa1997 » Wed Jan 23, 2013 04:52

Bas080 wrote:
jojoa1997 wrote:i am wondering if you understand what i am saying. place a rope begin box, walk to other mountain and place an end box, then the rope appears


If I didn't understand it the first time i sure do now. Btw I understood you the first time.
ok good
Coding;
1X coding
3X debugging
12X tweaking to be just right
 

User avatar
Bas080
Member
 
Posts: 398
Joined: Mon May 21, 2012 15:54
GitHub: bas080
IRC: bas080
In-game: bas080

by Bas080 » Sat Jan 26, 2013 03:56

Big update! Uses the plants_lib now! See changelog to read other changes or download it and see it with your own eyes.
 

vktRus
Member
 
Posts: 67
Joined: Wed May 01, 2013 07:23

by vktRus » Sat May 18, 2013 10:13

Your phone or window isn't wide enough to display the code box. If it's a phone, try rotating it to landscape mode.
Code: Select all
14:11:05: ERROR[main]: ERROR: An unhandled exception occurred: ServerError: LuaError: error: ...home/minetest/.minetest/mods/minetest/vines/init.lua:68: bad argument #-2 to 'add_node' (string expected, go
t nil)
 

User avatar
Bas080
Member
 
Posts: 398
Joined: Mon May 21, 2012 15:54
GitHub: bas080
IRC: bas080
In-game: bas080

by Bas080 » Thu May 23, 2013 19:32

vktRus, can you reproduce error? Aka, when does it happen?
 

User avatar
Mossmanikin
Member
 
Posts: 599
Joined: Sun May 19, 2013 16:26

by Mossmanikin » Fri May 24, 2013 11:38

Like this mod very much!

Noob 4 life!
My stuff
 

User avatar
VanessaE
Member
 
Posts: 3894
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2012 12:38
GitHub: VanessaE
IRC: VanessaE
In-game: VanessaEzekowitz

Re: [Mod] Vines and Rope [2.2.1] [vines]

by VanessaE » Wed Sep 10, 2014 21:28

Since this mod seems to be pretty much dead, it has been absorbed into my Plantlife Modpack to avoid getting lost to antiquity. Any further changes to this mod should be directed there.
 

iperpido
New member
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Sep 16, 2014 09:24
In-game: Iperpido

Re: [Mod] Vines and Rope [2.2.1] [vines]

by iperpido » Tue Sep 23, 2014 23:27

I had a very strange bug using this mod (well, actually it was the version included into Vanessa's plantlife modpack --> viewtopic.php?f=11&t=3898 ).
When i try to use the the shears on a wounded animal (from mobf/animals modpack) , i see a menu with 2 buttons: "debuginfo" and "heal".
If i press "debuginfo" nothing happens, if i press "heal", the server crashes.
here's the log:
Your phone or window isn't wide enough to display the code box. If it's a phone, try rotating it to landscape mode.
Code: Select all
01:22:28: ERROR[main]: ERROR: An unhandled exception occurred: .../user/.minetest/mods/animals_modpack/mobf/fighting.lua:1315: attempt to index field 'healdb' (a nil value)
01:22:28: ERROR[main]: stack traceback:
01:22:28: ERROR[main]:  .../user/.minetest/mods/animals_modpack/mobf/fighting.lua:1315: in function 'callback'
01:22:28: ERROR[main]:  /home/user/.minetest/mods/animals_modpack/mobf/mobf.lua:855: in function </home/user/.minetest/mods/animals_modpack/mobf/mobf.lua:837>
01:22:28: ERROR[main]:  /usr/share/games/minetest/builtin/game/register.lua:348: in function </usr/share/games/minetest/builtin/game/register.lua:336>


Probably some conflict with other mods... and i don't even know if the problem is really caused by the shears themselves or by other mods.

But that was actually strange since i don't have any other mod wich includes the shears as item


Any ideas?
 

Next

Return to Mod Releases

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 51 guests

cron