[Mod] Nether [nether]

User avatar
Delaroyas
Member
 
Posts: 33
Joined: Tue Sep 30, 2014 23:01
GitHub: Delaroyas
In-game: Delaroyas

Re: [Mod] Nether [nether]

by Delaroyas » Wed Oct 19, 2016 00:26

Actually, it does not change the way the mod manages height, the problem you speak of would be present already.

I think I found a way to do it.
It just a mater of multiplying by a factor target x and z before find_surface_target_y and
dividing by the same factor before find_nether_target_y.

It did some testing with a factor of 10 (it seems more logical than the 8 from that "other game") and is seems to work fine. I'll do some more testing before submitting my code to GitHub.
 

KittyCakes
Member
 
Posts: 40
Joined: Tue Aug 30, 2016 21:10
GitHub: CandyKitty
IRC: PinkKitty
In-game: PinkCat or KittyCakes

Re: [Mod] Nether [nether]

by KittyCakes » Thu Oct 27, 2016 16:51

I built the nether portal like screenshot. I right clicked with mese fragment did not work. I remaned it nether. Since does not work if not rename. Do you rename the folder nether?
MINETEST
 

User avatar
Delaroyas
Member
 
Posts: 33
Joined: Tue Sep 30, 2014 23:01
GitHub: Delaroyas
In-game: Delaroyas

Re: [Mod] Nether [nether]

by Delaroyas » Sat Oct 29, 2016 20:32

KittyCakes wrote:I built the nether portal like screenshot. I right clicked with mese fragment did not work. I remaned it nether. Since does not work if not rename. Do you rename the folder nether?


Yes, if you mean rename the folder nether-master to nether, than yes, github adds -master to downloads and - is not accepted in mods folder names.

Also make sure you use Obsidian and not "Obsidian Block", that threw me off the first time.
 

sofar
Member
 
Posts: 781
Joined: Fri Jan 16, 2015 07:31
GitHub: sofar
IRC: sofar
In-game: sofar

Re: [Mod] Nether [nether]

by sofar » Sun Oct 30, 2016 02:22

It doesn't matter what you name the folder that the nether mod is in, since the mod has a `mod.conf` file. You can name it "Nether MacNetherface" after downloading and it should still work.
 

User avatar
Andrey01
Member
 
Posts: 431
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2016 15:18
In-game: Andrey01

Re: [Mod] Nether [nether]

by Andrey01 » Mon Oct 31, 2016 16:27

I thought, this is mod added the portal in other dimension, but he teleports player in the cave (in the simple world). Why is it so?
 

sofar
Member
 
Posts: 781
Joined: Fri Jan 16, 2015 07:31
GitHub: sofar
IRC: sofar
In-game: sofar

Re: [Mod] Nether [nether]

by sofar » Mon Oct 31, 2016 23:28

Andrey01 wrote:I thought, this is mod added the portal in other dimension, but he teleports player in the cave (in the simple world). Why is it so?


Minetest has no dimensions.
 

paramat
Member
 
Posts: 2662
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2012 00:05
GitHub: paramat

Re: [Mod] Nether [nether]

by paramat » Tue Nov 01, 2016 07:10

Also, the nether caves are not the same as in a non-modded world, they are a special lua mapgen.
Because Minetest has a 62000 cube world height there's a lot of unused space for placing new realms.
This way the 'hell' realm really is physically present below and can be reached by mining, which is more interesting than a completely separate dimension.
 

User avatar
azekill_DIABLO
Member
 
Posts: 3458
Joined: Wed Oct 29, 2014 20:05
GitHub: azekillDIABLO
In-game: azekill_DIABLO

Re: [Mod] Nether [nether]

by azekill_DIABLO » Tue Nov 01, 2016 15:53

this is a cool concept imho. easy but costful way: portal! /// cheap but hard way: mining!
Your phone or window isn't wide enough to display the code box. If it's a phone, try rotating it to landscape mode.
Code: Select all
Hi, my username is azekill_DIABLO and i'm an exelent bug-maker(yeah...i know...i have a bad reputation)

azekill_DIABLO said: Mineyoshi+ABJ+Baggins= TOPIC HIJACKED.
My Mods and Stuff | Voxellar | VoxBox on GITHUB | M.I.L.A Monster engine
WEIRD MODDING CONTEST !!!
 

User avatar
Andrey01
Member
 
Posts: 431
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2016 15:18
In-game: Andrey01

Re: [Mod] Nether [nether]

by Andrey01 » Wed Nov 02, 2016 17:33

sofar wrote:
Andrey01 wrote:I thought, this is mod added the portal in other dimension, but he teleports player in the cave (in the simple world). Why is it so?


Minetest has no dimensions.

Why doesn`t Minetest have dimensions?Really a dimension isn`t it possible to do in Minetest?
 

sofar
Member
 
Posts: 781
Joined: Fri Jan 16, 2015 07:31
GitHub: sofar
IRC: sofar
In-game: sofar

Re: [Mod] Nether [nether]

by sofar » Thu Nov 03, 2016 02:26

Andrey01 wrote:Why doesn`t Minetest have dimensions?Really a dimension isn`t it possible to do in Minetest?


It's open source, you'll have to write the code to support it.
 

User avatar
firefox
Member
 
Posts: 1185
Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2015 07:34
In-game: Red_Fox

Re: [Mod] Nether [nether]

by firefox » Thu Nov 03, 2016 13:50

Andrey01 wrote:
sofar wrote:
Andrey01 wrote:I thought, this is mod added the portal in other dimension, but he teleports player in the cave (in the simple world). Why is it so?


Minetest has no dimensions.

Why doesn`t Minetest have dimensions?Really a dimension isn`t it possible to do in Minetest?

by the standard world design, stacked realm layers is the best solution for multiple worlds/dimensions.
for literal dimensions (separate worlds) you would have to code new features for the engine to transport players with their inventories, health and everything else between different game worlds.
 

User avatar
Andrey01
Member
 
Posts: 431
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2016 15:18
In-game: Andrey01

Re: [Mod] Nether [nether]

by Andrey01 » Thu Nov 03, 2016 16:48

For example, in game Minecraft the dimension Hell - that other world there, and in Minetest Nether - that the same world, what being deep in cave.How is done the dimension in Minecraft?
 

User avatar
xeranas
Member
 
Posts: 99
Joined: Fri Feb 05, 2016 11:06
GitHub: xeranas

Re: [Mod] Nether [nether]

by xeranas » Thu Nov 03, 2016 21:17

Andrey01 wrote:For example, in game Minecraft the dimension Hell - that other world there, and in Minetest Nether - that the same world, what being deep in cave.How is done the dimension in Minecraft?

I guess your question is not directly related with Nether mod itself. I would recommend continue dimensions discussion on more related thread - Multiple worlds infrastructure?.
 

KittyCakes
Member
 
Posts: 40
Joined: Tue Aug 30, 2016 21:10
GitHub: CandyKitty
IRC: PinkKitty
In-game: PinkCat or KittyCakes

Re: [Mod] Nether [nether]

by KittyCakes » Thu Nov 10, 2016 13:31

Theres and error. When I try to get it for 4.8 or later.
MINETEST
 

User avatar
Andrey01
Member
 
Posts: 431
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2016 15:18
In-game: Andrey01

Re: [Mod] Nether [nether]

by Andrey01 » Thu Nov 10, 2016 16:34

KittyCakes wrote:Theres and error. When I try to get it for 4.8 or later.

As a version nothing in MineTest
 

User avatar
taikedz
Member
 
Posts: 587
Joined: Sun May 15, 2016 11:11
GitHub: taikedz
IRC: DuCake
In-game: DuCake

Re: [Mod] Nether [nether]

by taikedz » Thu Nov 10, 2016 18:00

KittyCakes wrote:Theres and error. When I try to get it for 4.8 or later.


Check your ~/.minetest directory there should be a debug.txt

What's the error?

Also open a terminal (are you still on Ubuntu Mate?), and run

Your phone or window isn't wide enough to display the code box. If it's a phone, try rotating it to landscape mode.
Code: Select all
minetest --version


What does this give?

Have you installed using the Minetest PPA to get 0.4.14?

https://launchpad.net/~minetestdevs/+ar ... ntu/stable
 

KittyCakes
Member
 
Posts: 40
Joined: Tue Aug 30, 2016 21:10
GitHub: CandyKitty
IRC: PinkKitty
In-game: PinkCat or KittyCakes

Re: [Mod] Nether [nether]

by KittyCakes » Thu Nov 10, 2016 19:32

taikedz wrote:
KittyCakes wrote:Theres and error. When I try to get it for 4.8 or later.


Check your ~/.minetest directory there should be a debug.txt

What's the error?

Also open a terminal (are you still on Ubuntu Mate?), and run

Your phone or window isn't wide enough to display the code box. If it's a phone, try rotating it to landscape mode.
Code: Select all
minetest --version


No nothing to do with that. When I click on the link for the mod. It literally says "Internal Error 500".

What does this give?

Have you installed using the Minetest PPA to get 0.4.14?

https://launchpad.net/~minetestdevs/+ar ... ntu/stable
MINETEST
 

User avatar
taikedz
Member
 
Posts: 587
Joined: Sun May 15, 2016 11:11
GitHub: taikedz
IRC: DuCake
In-game: DuCake

Re: [Mod] Nether [nether]

by taikedz » Fri Nov 11, 2016 17:50

Unless my browser is playing tricks on me, you didn't post a response.... :-/
 

MinisterFarrigut
Member
 
Posts: 40
Joined: Fri Oct 14, 2016 14:59

Re: [Mod] Nether [nether]

by MinisterFarrigut » Wed Dec 28, 2016 17:29

I feel kinda stupid for asking this but I have tried to find the Nether Dungeons but I cannot find anything. In the Nether, I mean. Anyone got suggestions?
 

paramat
Member
 
Posts: 2662
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2012 00:05
GitHub: paramat

Re: [Mod] Nether [nether]

by paramat » Wed Dec 28, 2016 18:15

There are no special dungeons like in MC, just the normal Minetest dungeons but with a new brick texture, sometimes you need to travel a while to find some. I coded the mapgen so that dungeons are not excavated so they should be floating in the caverns or projecting from the walls.
 

MinisterFarrigut
Member
 
Posts: 40
Joined: Fri Oct 14, 2016 14:59

Re: [Mod] Nether [nether]

by MinisterFarrigut » Thu Dec 29, 2016 02:49

Ah i see. Is it possible someday to have a Nether mod like Minecraft? with new dungeons and all that?
 

User avatar
texmex
Member
 
Posts: 226
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2016 21:08
GitHub: tacotexmex
In-game: texmex

Re: [Mod] Nether [nether]

by texmex » Thu Jan 19, 2017 21:27

Just wanted to state that this mod disables the same type of use of a mese fragment in the telemosaic teleporting mod. Hope it can be fixed.
I spend all my days going down to the mines. Under the ground where the sun never shines. Breaking my back I put heat in your house. I’ve got the roar of a digtron, the breath of a mouse.
 

Previous

Return to Mod Releases

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 18 guests

cron