[Mod] Green Screens [greenscreens]

JBR
Member
 
Posts: 76
Joined: Sun May 26, 2013 22:04

[Mod] Green Screens [greenscreens]

by JBR » Mon Jun 10, 2013 06:15

This mod adds these blocks to Minetest:
Image

Please note there is no crafting recipe for these block because it's not really meant to be used for building.
This is great for taking photos of objects/buildings and then cutting them out later in a photo editor.

An example "stage":
Image

Example of use:
Image

Image

Hope this comes in handy!

License: CC0
Download:
4Shared(zip)
Dropbox(zip direct download)
Last edited by JBR on Mon Jun 10, 2013 16:06, edited 1 time in total.
 

User avatar
rubenwardy
Member
 
Posts: 4500
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2012 18:11
GitHub: rubenwardy
IRC: rubenwardy
In-game: rubenwardy

by rubenwardy » Mon Jun 10, 2013 09:28

Interesting!
 

User avatar
webdesigner97
Member
 
Posts: 1307
Joined: Mon Jul 30, 2012 19:16
GitHub: webD97
IRC: webdesigner97
In-game: webdesigner97

by webdesigner97 » Mon Jun 10, 2013 10:29

Yeah, that's a great idea!
 

deivan
Member
 
Posts: 452
Joined: Fri Feb 15, 2013 10:16

by deivan » Mon Jun 10, 2013 10:31

In game Chroma key. :D
 

User avatar
Evergreen
Member
 
Posts: 2131
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 01:22
GitHub: 4Evergreen4
IRC: EvergreenTree
In-game: Evergreen

by Evergreen » Mon Jun 10, 2013 11:57

I usually just change the texture for some random block to green/blue, make a studio/stage with it, take a screenshot, open it in GIMP, use the color select tool, and press delete. Still a very interesting idea, I think I will use it. :D
Last edited by Evergreen on Mon Jun 10, 2013 11:58, edited 1 time in total.
"Help! I searched for a mod but I couldn't find it!"
http://krock-works.16mb.com/MTstuff/modSearch.php
 

User avatar
Dan Duncombe
Member
 
Posts: 904
Joined: Thu May 09, 2013 21:11

by Dan Duncombe » Mon Jun 10, 2013 15:15

I normally use cloud- but cloud is indestructable
Some Mods: Castles Prefab Camouflage
My Games: Nostalgia Realtest Revamped
Servers: See above games.
 

JBR
Member
 
Posts: 76
Joined: Sun May 26, 2013 22:04

by JBR » Mon Jun 10, 2013 15:18

Thanks for all the great comments! And thanks whoever moved it to mod releases.
 

JBR
Member
 
Posts: 76
Joined: Sun May 26, 2013 22:04

by JBR » Mon Jun 10, 2013 15:23

:o I just realized I missed out a colour in the pic(pink block) updating asp..

edit:done
Last edited by JBR on Mon Jun 10, 2013 15:32, edited 1 time in total.
 

JBR
Member
 
Posts: 76
Joined: Sun May 26, 2013 22:04

by JBR » Mon Jun 10, 2013 15:32

Hybrid Dog wrote:So you could short the code:
Your phone or window isn't wide enough to display the code box. If it's a phone, try rotating it to landscape mode.
Code: Select all
local COLOURS = {
    {"green", "Green"},
    {"lightblue", "Light Blue"},
    {"blue", "Blue"},
    {"white", "White"},
    {"black", "Black"},
    {"pink", "Pink"}
}

for i in ipairs(COLOURS) do
    local colour = COLOURS[i][1]
    minetest.register_node("greenscreens:"..colour,{
        description = COLOURS[i][2].." Screen",
        groups = {cracky = 1},
        tiles = {colour..".png"},
        drawtype="glasslike",
        paramtype = "light",
        light_source = 5,
    })
end

Thanks but will it make any difference if I do that?
 

User avatar
Evergreen
Member
 
Posts: 2131
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 01:22
GitHub: 4Evergreen4
IRC: EvergreenTree
In-game: Evergreen

by Evergreen » Mon Jun 10, 2013 15:34

JBR wrote:
Hybrid Dog wrote:So you could short the code:
Your phone or window isn't wide enough to display the code box. If it's a phone, try rotating it to landscape mode.
Code: Select all
local COLOURS = {
    {"green", "Green"},
    {"lightblue", "Light Blue"},
    {"blue", "Blue"},
    {"white", "White"},
    {"black", "Black"},
    {"pink", "Pink"}
}

for i in ipairs(COLOURS) do
    local colour = COLOURS[i][1]
    minetest.register_node("greenscreens:"..colour,{
        description = COLOURS[i][2].." Screen",
        groups = {cracky = 1},
        tiles = {colour..".png"},
        drawtype="glasslike",
        paramtype = "light",
        light_source = 5,
    })
end

Thanks but will it make any difference if I do that?

Nope. It's just a more efficient way of coding it. (not having to register each separate color of node) Take the colored wood mod for example. There are WAY to many different colors to code each node. Also,(as Hybrid-Dog suggested)change the image size to 1x1 because it is a single flat color.
Last edited by Evergreen on Mon Jun 10, 2013 15:35, edited 1 time in total.
"Help! I searched for a mod but I couldn't find it!"
http://krock-works.16mb.com/MTstuff/modSearch.php
 

JBR
Member
 
Posts: 76
Joined: Sun May 26, 2013 22:04

by JBR » Mon Jun 10, 2013 15:40

Hybrid Dog wrote:
Evergreen wrote:Take the colored wood mod for example. There are WAY to many different colors to code each node.
I think coloredwood could look better if every block gets a special texture.

Evergreen wrote:Also,(as Hybrid-Dog suggested)change the image size to 1x1 because it is a single flat color.
If possible you could pngcrush the textures, too

pngcrush?
 

JBR
Member
 
Posts: 76
Joined: Sun May 26, 2013 22:04

by JBR » Mon Jun 10, 2013 15:57

yay I managed to get png crush working, uploading new files asap.

done(re-sized and crushed png files)
Last edited by JBR on Mon Jun 10, 2013 16:08, edited 1 time in total.
 

hampa16
Member
 
Posts: 192
Joined: Sat Jun 29, 2013 04:20

by hampa16 » Sat Aug 24, 2013 04:02

i can't get the picture to appear on the screen!
Rex 2 Double 9
=RomanFox2=
SoulKiller35
 

User avatar
philipbenr
Member
 
Posts: 1665
Joined: Fri Jun 14, 2013 01:56
GitHub: philipbenr
IRC: philipbenr
In-game: WisdomFire or philipbenr

by philipbenr » Sat Aug 24, 2013 18:51

very nice mod. I will use it well.

+1 :)
"The Foot is down!"
 

User avatar
webdesigner97
Member
 
Posts: 1307
Joined: Mon Jul 30, 2012 19:16
GitHub: webD97
IRC: webdesigner97
In-game: webdesigner97

by webdesigner97 » Sat Aug 24, 2013 20:59

What the f**k is your problem?? A forum is not a live chat!

But I don't understand your question. Which pictures do you want to show where?
 

User avatar
philipbenr
Member
 
Posts: 1665
Joined: Fri Jun 14, 2013 01:56
GitHub: philipbenr
IRC: philipbenr
In-game: WisdomFire or philipbenr

by philipbenr » Sat Aug 24, 2013 23:26

webdesigner97 wrote:But I don't understand your question. Which pictures do you want to show where?


I'd like to help as well. What do you mean, screenshot, or upload a picture onto the forum, or what?
"The Foot is down!"
 

User avatar
LionsDen
Member
 
Posts: 525
Joined: Thu Jun 06, 2013 03:19

by LionsDen » Sun Aug 25, 2013 07:26

He thinks the pictures are placed onto the green blocks, not the item that you want to takes the picture of. Easy mistake to make.

What this mod does is make single color blocks that you can place in your world. You then build a house or statue or something that you want a picture of on them. Then you position yourself so that you can see what you built with the single color blocks around it and take a screenshot. You then are able to take that screenshot into an image editing program and select the single color and delete it. Or you could invert the selection afterwards and then copy and paste your beautiful object out of the minetest world and put it into a different picture. That is all that this mod is really for. It doesn't allow you to display images onto the colored blocks.
 

hampa16
Member
 
Posts: 192
Joined: Sat Jun 29, 2013 04:20

by hampa16 » Sun Aug 25, 2013 19:38

LionsDen wrote:He thinks the pictures are placed onto the green blocks, not the item that you want to takes the picture of. Easy mistake to make.

What this mod does is make single color blocks that you can place in your world. You then build a house or statue or something that you want a picture of on them. Then you position yourself so that you can see what you built with the single color blocks around it and take a screenshot. You then are able to take that screenshot into an image editing program and select the single color and delete it. Or you could invert the selection afterwards and then copy and paste your beautiful object out of the minetest world and put it into a different picture. That is all that this mod is really for. It doesn't allow you to display images onto the colored blocks.
i took so many screenshots but one of those screenshots are not appearing on the screen
Rex 2 Double 9
=RomanFox2=
SoulKiller35
 

User avatar
Evergreen
Member
 
Posts: 2131
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 01:22
GitHub: 4Evergreen4
IRC: EvergreenTree
In-game: Evergreen

by Evergreen » Sun Aug 25, 2013 19:48

hampa16 wrote:so can you tell me do do this the easy way
they won't show up on the screens
Listen, the green screens aren't supposed to have a picture show up on them. They are for image editing pictures only, so if you aren't going to edit the screenshots afterwards, then this mod is useless to you. And also, there is no "easier" way of doing that in an image editor.
"Help! I searched for a mod but I couldn't find it!"
http://krock-works.16mb.com/MTstuff/modSearch.php
 

hampa16
Member
 
Posts: 192
Joined: Sat Jun 29, 2013 04:20

by hampa16 » Sun Aug 25, 2013 21:15

Evergreen wrote:
hampa16 wrote:so can you tell me do do this the easy way
they won't show up on the screens
Listen, the green screens aren't supposed to have a picture show up on them. They are for image editing pictures only, so if you aren't going to edit the screenshots afterwards, then this mod is useless to you. And also, there is no "easier" way of doing that in an image editor.
WELL THIS MOD IS USELESS NOW


Edit: Spoiler Abuse
Last edited by sfan5 on Sun Aug 25, 2013 21:32, edited 1 time in total.
Rex 2 Double 9
=RomanFox2=
SoulKiller35
 

User avatar
sfan5
Member
 
Posts: 3636
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 09:44
GitHub: sfan5
IRC: sfan5

by sfan5 » Sun Aug 25, 2013 21:31

hampa16 wrote:
Evergreen wrote:
hampa16 wrote:so can you tell me do do this the easy way
Listen, the green screens aren't supposed to have a picture show up on them. They are for image editing pictures only, so if you aren't going to edit the screenshots afterwards, then this mod is useless to you. And also, there is no "easier" way of doing that in an image editor.
[spoiler]WELL THIS MOD IS USELESS NOW[/spoiler]

Do not abuse spoilers
Mods: Mesecons | WorldEdit | Nuke
Minetest builds for Windows (32-bit & 64-bit)
 

User avatar
Evergreen
Member
 
Posts: 2131
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 01:22
GitHub: 4Evergreen4
IRC: EvergreenTree
In-game: Evergreen

by Evergreen » Sun Aug 25, 2013 21:43

hampa16 wrote:
Evergreen wrote:
hampa16 wrote:so can you tell me do do this the easy way
Listen, the green screens aren't supposed to have a picture show up on them. They are for image editing pictures only, so if you aren't going to edit the screenshots afterwards, then this mod is useless to you. And also, there is no "easier" way of doing that in an image editor.
WELL THIS MOD IS USELESS NOW


Edit: Spoiler Abuse
It is useless for you, but it is very useful for lots of people. (including me)
"Help! I searched for a mod but I couldn't find it!"
http://krock-works.16mb.com/MTstuff/modSearch.php
 

User avatar
Dan Duncombe
Member
 
Posts: 904
Joined: Thu May 09, 2013 21:11

by Dan Duncombe » Mon Aug 26, 2013 09:48

hampa16 wrote:
Evergreen wrote:
hampa16 wrote:so can you tell me do do this the easy way
Listen, the green screens aren't supposed to have a picture show up on them. They are for image editing pictures only, so if you aren't going to edit the screenshots afterwards, then this mod is useless to you. And also, there is no "easier" way of doing that in an image editor.
WELL THIS MOD IS USELESS NOW


Edit: Spoiler Abuse


Ahem. This mod is meant to provide a background to images so they can easily be edited out. These DO NOT DISPLAY ANYTHING
Some Mods: Castles Prefab Camouflage
My Games: Nostalgia Realtest Revamped
Servers: See above games.
 

hampa16
Member
 
Posts: 192
Joined: Sat Jun 29, 2013 04:20

by hampa16 » Sat Aug 31, 2013 19:25

sfan5 wrote:
hampa16 wrote:
Evergreen wrote:Listen, the green screens aren't supposed to have a picture show up on them. They are for image editing pictures only, so if you aren't going to edit the screenshots afterwards, then this mod is useless to you. And also, there is no "easier" way of doing that in an image editor.
[spoiler]WELL THIS MOD IS USELESS NOW[/spoiler]

Do not abuse spoilers
hampa16 wrote:
LionsDen wrote:He thinks the pictures are placed onto the green blocks, not the item that you want to takes the picture of. Easy mistake to make.

What this mod does is make single color blocks that you can place in your world. You then build a house or statue or something that you want a picture of on them. Then you position yourself so that you can see what you built with the single color blocks around it and take a screenshot. You then are able to take that screenshot into an image editing program and select the single color and delete it. Or you could invert the selection afterwards and then copy and paste your beautiful object out of the minetest world and put it into a different picture. That is all that this mod is really for. It doesn't allow you to display images onto the colored blocks.
i took so many screenshots but one of those screenshots are not appearing on the screen
how do you make the pictures of objects and buildings go on the screen?(by using PhotoEditor?)
Rex 2 Double 9
=RomanFox2=
SoulKiller35
 

User avatar
Dan Duncombe
Member
 
Posts: 904
Joined: Thu May 09, 2013 21:11

by Dan Duncombe » Sat Aug 31, 2013 19:31

hampa16 wrote:how do you make the pictures of objects and buildings go on the screen?(by using PhotoEditor?)

Basically, here is what the mod does:
It adds nodes, which you can put other nodes on.
You can take a screenshot and edit out the special nodes this mod adds, because they are basically shadowless.
You can then have the picture of the nodes you placed with no background.
Some Mods: Castles Prefab Camouflage
My Games: Nostalgia Realtest Revamped
Servers: See above games.
 

hampa16
Member
 
Posts: 192
Joined: Sat Jun 29, 2013 04:20

by hampa16 » Sat Aug 31, 2013 19:57

Dan Duncombe wrote:
hampa16 wrote:how do you make the pictures of objects and buildings go on the screen?(by using PhotoEditor?)

Basically, here is what the mod does:
It adds nodes, which you can put other nodes on.
You can take a screenshot and edit out the special nodes this mod adds, because they are basically shadowless.
You can then have the picture of the nodes you placed with no background.
???(this is too confusing)
Rex 2 Double 9
=RomanFox2=
SoulKiller35
 

User avatar
Dan Duncombe
Member
 
Posts: 904
Joined: Thu May 09, 2013 21:11

by Dan Duncombe » Sat Aug 31, 2013 20:11

hampa16 wrote:???(this is too confusing)

Basically This
Some Mods: Castles Prefab Camouflage
My Games: Nostalgia Realtest Revamped
Servers: See above games.
 

User avatar
LionsDen
Member
 
Posts: 525
Joined: Thu Jun 06, 2013 03:19

by LionsDen » Sat Aug 31, 2013 21:05

Dan Duncombe wrote:
hampa16 wrote:???(this is too confusing)

Basically This


English must not be his first language because I don't know what else we can say to tell him what this mod is for. He should go the foreign language forum and ask about it in his own language.
 

User avatar
VanessaE
Member
 
Posts: 3894
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2012 12:38
GitHub: VanessaE
IRC: VanessaE
In-game: VanessaEzekowitz

by VanessaE » Sat Aug 31, 2013 23:38

hampa16:

The whole purpose of these blocks is to let you set up a structure such that you can create screenshots of it that make it easy to cut everything but the structure from the screenshot, and get a nice, clean, sharp edge around it, so that you don't have to do a ton of manual select-and-erase operations.

Try this:

1. Place a few pieces of cobblestone on the ground:

Your phone or window isn't wide enough to display the code box. If it's a phone, try rotating it to landscape mode.
Code: Select all
  c   
 ccc           c = cobblestone block
ccccc


2. Now, place some of the greenscreen blocks behind the cobble. Place enough greenscreen blocks so that they stick out past the sides, top, and bottom of the cobble -- so that the cobble appears to be completely surrounded by the green field.

Your phone or window isn't wide enough to display the code box. If it's a phone, try rotating it to landscape mode.
Code: Select all
GGGGGGG
GGGcGGG
GGcccGG         G = the greenscreen block
GcccccG
GGGGGGG


3. Take a screenshot.

4. Open the screenshot file with your favorite graphic editor (GIMP, Photoshop, etc).

5. Give the screenshot an alpha channel.

6. Use the select-by-color tool to select the green areas.

7. Edit -> Cut, or maybe press delete.

8. Un-select all.

9. Use the eraser tool to get rid of the rest of the parts of the screenshot you don't want to keep.

You now have an image of a stack of cobblestone with a transparent background, which you can then paste into some other image after you erase the rest of the image that you don't want. Imagine doing this with some block you've just invented, in place of the cobble. You could edit and scale the screenshot to use as an icon or something.

What you do with the part of the image you isolated from the rest is up to you.
You might like some of my stuff:
Plantlife ~ More Trees ~ Home Decor ~ Pipeworks ~ HDX Textures (16-512px)
Tips (BTC): 13LdcdUFcNCFAm7HfvAXh5GHTjCnnQj6KE
 

User avatar
Jordach
Member
 
Posts: 4412
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2011 17:58
GitHub: Jordach
IRC: Jordach
In-game: Jordach

by Jordach » Sat Aug 31, 2013 23:48

Blender > Green Screens.

But this is nice either way.

( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°) ( ͡o ͜ʖ ͡o) [$ ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°) $] ( ͡$ ͜ʖ ͡$) ヽ༼ຈل͜ຈ༽ノ



My image and media server is back online and is functioning as normal.
 

Next

Return to Mod Releases

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 61 guests

cron