[Mod] Workbench (3x3,4x4,5x5) [workbench]

User avatar
darkrose
Member
 
Posts: 91
Joined: Mon Jun 04, 2012 04:25

[Mod] Workbench (3x3,4x4,5x5) [workbench]

by darkrose » Mon Jun 04, 2012 04:46

Adds workbenches (crafting tables) with 3x3, 4x4, and 5x5 crafting grids, so bring on the complicated recipes!

This uses the new api, so requires version 0.4.2-rc1 or later.

Image

Your phone or window isn't wide enough to display the code box. If it's a phone, try rotating it to landscape mode.
Code: Select all
CRAFTING:

3x3 workbench:

wood    wood

wood    wood


4x4 workbench:

stone    stone    stone

wood    wood    wood

wood    wood    wood


5x5 workbench:

steel_ingot    steel_ingot    steel_ingot    steel_ingot

wood        wood        wood        wood

wood        wood        wood        wood

wood        wood        wood        wood


mese (as a 5x5 example):

steelblock    steelblock    steelblock    steelblock    steelblock

steelblock    steelblock    steelblock    steelblock    steelblock

steelblock    steelblock    steelblock    steelblock    steelblock

steelblock    steelblock    steelblock    steelblock    steelblock

steelblock    steelblock    steelblock    steelblock    steelblock



Code: LGPLv2.1/later, textures: WTFPL

Mod dependencies: default

Download: workbench 0.2Updated to work with 0.4.2rc1
Git: Darkrose's minetest_mods github repository
Last edited by darkrose on Fri Aug 03, 2012 06:57, edited 1 time in total.
Take a look at Minetest Classic, and it's updated Development Tree, also check out my server.
 

User avatar
Calinou
Member
 
Posts: 3124
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2011 14:26
GitHub: Calinou
IRC: Calinou
In-game: Calinou

by Calinou » Mon Jun 04, 2012 09:35

Ahah, nice idea! But I like 3x3 inventory crafting.
 

User avatar
darkrose
Member
 
Posts: 91
Joined: Mon Jun 04, 2012 04:25

by darkrose » Mon Jun 04, 2012 09:53

So do I, but I figured if I create a bigger crafting grid someone'll make use of it. Plus I was testing the nodemetadata changes. :)
Take a look at Minetest Classic, and it's updated Development Tree, also check out my server.
 

User avatar
jordan4ibanez
Member
 
Posts: 1865
Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2011 18:44
GitHub: jordan4ibanez
IRC: jordan4ibanez
In-game: jordan4ibanez

by jordan4ibanez » Mon Jun 04, 2012 11:44

ahh very nice mate!
If you can think it, you can make it.
 

User avatar
LolManKuba
Member
 
Posts: 939
Joined: Fri Feb 10, 2012 22:36

by LolManKuba » Mon Jun 04, 2012 11:49

Theres not much for 3x3 workbench because of the inventory workbench
 

User avatar
mauvebic
Member
 
Posts: 1550
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2012 11:32

by mauvebic » Mon Jun 04, 2012 13:02

could be very useful for me - after 100 or so recipes 3x3 only provides so many combinations lol
Last edited by mauvebic on Mon Jun 04, 2012 13:03, edited 1 time in total.
"Fuck the hat." - Paulie Gualtieri
 

User avatar
NakedFury
Member
 
Posts: 151
Joined: Thu Dec 08, 2011 03:55

by NakedFury » Mon Jun 04, 2012 16:34

LolManKuba wrote:Theres not much for 3x3 workbench because of the inventory workbench


To counter that items could be made to require specific workbenches depending on item type. Sort of like how in Skyrim you need different tables to craft different type of items.

A wood working table
A leather working
A metal specific table
A cooking table

The player inventory would be used for the most primitive items: Wood and Stone tools, transforming from tree to wood, and other things that would need more special items to work with.
 

User avatar
InfinityProject
Member
 
Posts: 1009
Joined: Sat Mar 17, 2012 00:52

by InfinityProject » Mon Jun 04, 2012 21:45

wait, can the init.lua support more than 9 crafting slots? I tried to make a recipe with 4 rows (12 slots) but the game wouldnt start with an lua error every time.
 

User avatar
minetesting
Member
 
Posts: 38
Joined: Thu May 31, 2012 07:31

by minetesting » Mon Jun 04, 2012 22:22

InfinityProject wrote:wait, can the init.lua support more than 9 crafting slots? I tried to make a recipe with 4 rows (12 slots) but the game wouldnt start with an lua error every time.


I get the same error, i think..
ask about the cakes
 

User avatar
darkrose
Member
 
Posts: 91
Joined: Mon Jun 04, 2012 04:25

by darkrose » Tue Jun 05, 2012 04:23

InfinityProject wrote:wait, can the init.lua support more than 9 crafting slots? I tried to make a recipe with 4 rows (12 slots) but the game wouldnt start with an lua error every time.


I've tested 4x4 and 5x5 recipes, and they work fine with the new api.
Take a look at Minetest Classic, and it's updated Development Tree, also check out my server.
 

User avatar
Topywo
Member
 
Posts: 1718
Joined: Fri May 18, 2012 20:27

by Topywo » Tue Jun 05, 2012 09:07

Yes, the mod works in the latest version. At least when I used (smooth) stone instead of cobble...

Thank you!
 

User avatar
InfinityProject
Member
 
Posts: 1009
Joined: Sat Mar 17, 2012 00:52

by InfinityProject » Tue Jun 05, 2012 16:11

Was the problem thatI did 12 slots instead of 16?
 

User avatar
minetesting
Member
 
Posts: 38
Joined: Thu May 31, 2012 07:31

by minetesting » Tue Jun 05, 2012 17:33

oh it is working for me now that i've upgraded to latest.
ask about the cakes
 

User avatar
kddekadenz
Member
 
Posts: 323
Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2011 17:21
GitHub: tinyworlds

by kddekadenz » Wed Jun 06, 2012 15:55

mauvebic wrote:could be very useful for me - after 100 or so recipes 3x3 only provides so many combinations lol


possible combinations = number of blocks + 1 (nothing) ^ 9

e.g. 15 different blocks -> (15 + 1) ^ 9 = 68719476736 combinations!
 

User avatar
Jordach
Member
 
Posts: 4412
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2011 17:58
GitHub: Jordach
IRC: Jordach
In-game: Jordach

by Jordach » Wed Jun 06, 2012 21:07

kddekadenz wrote:
mauvebic wrote:could be very useful for me - after 100 or so recipes 3x3 only provides so many combinations lol


possible combinations = number of blocks + 1 (nothing) ^ 9

e.g. 15 different blocks -> (15 + 1) ^ 9 = 68719476736 combinations!

Now madblocks will become "mad".

( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°) ( ͡o ͜ʖ ͡o) [$ ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°) $] ( ͡$ ͜ʖ ͡$) ヽ༼ຈل͜ຈ༽ノ



My image and media server is back online and is functioning as normal.
 

User avatar
MirceaKitsune
Member
 
Posts: 809
Joined: Sat May 21, 2011 22:31
GitHub: MirceaKitsune
IRC: Taoki
In-game: MirceaKitsune

by MirceaKitsune » Thu Jun 21, 2012 14:55

Very nice mod, I should try it soon. I'm still waiting for a workbench to be added into MineTest officially, so it works the same as in MC (2 x 2 inventory crafting and 3 x 3 workbench crafting). Being able to do everything from inventory is very boring. Not sure about 4 x 4 or 5 x 5 recipes, but optionality I imagine those could be added to MT officially as well.
 

User avatar
SegFault22
Member
 
Posts: 870
Joined: Mon May 21, 2012 03:17

by SegFault22 » Sat Jun 23, 2012 19:47

This could work great with Naqueda Circuits for the stargate DHD - making the DHD requires 5 different naqueda-powered circuit boards, and you have to ''build'' them in a 20x20 crafting grid (or bigger :D)
Great mod! This should be added to Minetest as a default ''mod'' that comes with every minetest :D
Resources are abundant; only money is scarce. People should not have to work hard and remain poor just to pay for the needs of survival.
Society can thrive without money - but only if productive members of society are rewarded for being productive.
 

ACDC
Member
 
Posts: 41
Joined: Sat May 12, 2012 18:12

by ACDC » Sat Jun 23, 2012 19:49

You dont get tired of copying mods do you? first you wanna copy bad command now dark rose lol.....

GameBoom is where its at :)
 

User avatar
LolManKuba
Member
 
Posts: 939
Joined: Fri Feb 10, 2012 22:36

by LolManKuba » Sat Jun 23, 2012 19:52

ACDC, he didn't copy Bad_Command
 

ACDC
Member
 
Posts: 41
Joined: Sat May 12, 2012 18:12

by ACDC » Sat Jun 23, 2012 19:59

LolManKuba wrote:ACDC, he didn't copy Bad_Command


hes trying to make a mod that does exactly what bc's does, and he asked him to remove the privs restrictions cause he doesnt know how to do it, since all he has done is copied :) i rest my case
 

User avatar
LolManKuba
Member
 
Posts: 939
Joined: Fri Feb 10, 2012 22:36

by LolManKuba » Sat Jun 23, 2012 20:32

Segfault didn't know that Bad_Command had a mod, he never posted it when Segfault did.
 

ACDC
Member
 
Posts: 41
Joined: Sat May 12, 2012 18:12

by ACDC » Sat Jun 23, 2012 20:39

LolManKuba wrote:Segfault didn't know that Bad_Command had a mod, he never posted it when Segfault did.


well he has been on gameboom so he knows about it, and why are you justifying him anyway?
 

User avatar
SegFault22
Member
 
Posts: 870
Joined: Mon May 21, 2012 03:17

by SegFault22 » Sat Jun 23, 2012 21:14

What is ''gameboom''?
oh and P.S. I still can't get the stargate to work when someone walks-into the event horizon, need to work on that a bit...
P.S.S. I am not copying darkrose either, I was stating that this mod should be added to ''default'' in minetest, so other mods can have more recipes.
Resources are abundant; only money is scarce. People should not have to work hard and remain poor just to pay for the needs of survival.
Society can thrive without money - but only if productive members of society are rewarded for being productive.
 

User avatar
LolManKuba
Member
 
Posts: 939
Joined: Fri Feb 10, 2012 22:36

by LolManKuba » Sat Jun 23, 2012 22:42

Gameboom is a server.
 

User avatar
SegFault22
Member
 
Posts: 870
Joined: Mon May 21, 2012 03:17

by SegFault22 » Sun Jun 24, 2012 02:50

Cool.
Now, I shall go help rebuild Redcrab's Server (the normal-build-stuff-you-want-server)
Resources are abundant; only money is scarce. People should not have to work hard and remain poor just to pay for the needs of survival.
Society can thrive without money - but only if productive members of society are rewarded for being productive.
 

User avatar
GloopMaster
Member
 
Posts: 213
Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2012 18:03

by GloopMaster » Fri Aug 03, 2012 02:27

Appears to not support shapeless crafts. Fix please. Otherwise, yes, this is undeniably cool.
Meow.

That is all.
 

bob
Member
 
Posts: 66
Joined: Thu Feb 16, 2012 00:59

by bob » Fri Aug 03, 2012 03:14

I like it because of the easyness to create complex craftable mods i make it you build it bit by bit, but with this you can build it in 1 go! +1
 

User avatar
LolManKuba
Member
 
Posts: 939
Joined: Fri Feb 10, 2012 22:36

by LolManKuba » Fri Aug 03, 2012 05:26

Does this mod even work anymore?
 

User avatar
darkrose
Member
 
Posts: 91
Joined: Mon Jun 04, 2012 04:25

by darkrose » Fri Aug 03, 2012 06:55

I just updated the zip in the first post, so it works with 0.4.2+ now.
Take a look at Minetest Classic, and it's updated Development Tree, also check out my server.
 

User avatar
MirceaKitsune
Member
 
Posts: 809
Joined: Sat May 21, 2011 22:31
GitHub: MirceaKitsune
IRC: Taoki
In-game: MirceaKitsune

by MirceaKitsune » Fri Aug 03, 2012 08:36

Haven't tried the mod yet, but one question: Does this also make the default (inventory) crafting grid 2 x 2? Or can LUA not modify the size of the inventory craft area yet? A 3 x 3 workbench sounds useless until this is possible as well, but hopefully it is now.
 

Next

Return to Old Mods

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests

cron