MinetestMapperGui - Graphical userinterface for mtmapper

User avatar
addi
Member
 
Posts: 605
Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2012 03:16

Re: MinetestMapperGui - Graphical userinterface for mtmapper

by addi » Wed Oct 12, 2016 13:29

Here is a beta portable package: https://www.magentacloud.de/lnk/5ZM1hZ8m

It has now the command line feature:
Your phone or window isn't wide enough to display the code box. If it's a phone, try rotating it to landscape mode.
Code: Select all
Usage: MinetestMapperGui.exe [options]
This program provides a graphical user interface for minetestmapper.
If you are looking for the command line interface of minetesmapper please execute minetestmapper directly.

Options:
  -?, -h, --help  Displays this help.
  -v, --version   Displays version information.
  -p, --portable  Starts in portable mode which reads and writes settings and
                  profiles relative to current directory

Please test it and report all errors you find. Please report also if it works great.
Thanks
 

twoelk
Member
 
Posts: 1092
Joined: Fri Apr 19, 2013 16:19

Re: MinetestMapperGui - Graphical userinterface for mtmapper

by twoelk » Wed Oct 12, 2016 14:51

hmm, when trying on Windows10 I get this:
Your phone or window isn't wide enough to display the code box. If it's a phone, try rotating it to landscape mode.
Code: Select all
Die Version von blahblahblah\MinetestMapperGui.exe ist mit der ausgeführten Windows-Version nicht kompatibel. Überprüfen Sie die Systeminformationen des Computers, und wenden Sie sich anschließend an den Herausgeber der Software.


using this in the batch, so I could see the error message as the console window normally closes instantly
Your phone or window isn't wide enough to display the code box. If it's a phone, try rotating it to landscape mode.
Code: Select all
@start MinetestMapperGui --portable 2>debug.txt
pause


clicking directly on the exe gives me a similar message in white on blue.
 

User avatar
addi
Member
 
Posts: 605
Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2012 03:16

Re: MinetestMapperGui - Graphical userinterface for mtmapper

by addi » Wed Oct 12, 2016 15:02

twoelk wrote:hmm, when trying on Windows10 I get this:
Your phone or window isn't wide enough to display the code box. If it's a phone, try rotating it to landscape mode.
Code: Select all
Die Version von blahblahblah\MinetestMapperGui.exe ist mit der ausgeführten Windows-Version nicht kompatibel. Überprüfen Sie die Systeminformationen des Computers, und wenden Sie sich anschließend an den Herausgeber der Software.


using this in the batch, so I could see the error message as the console window normally closes instantly
Your phone or window isn't wide enough to display the code box. If it's a phone, try rotating it to landscape mode.
Code: Select all
@start MinetestMapperGui --portable 2>debug.txt
pause

odd :-/ I used a windows 10 test computer too and it worked great there. Do you really use a 64bit version?
The instant close is exactly what the start command should doing. Minetestmappergui is (like each other gui application) not able to write into the windows console, so there is no need to keep it open.
What edition of Windows do you use exactly? What Cpu do you have?
 

twoelk
Member
 
Posts: 1092
Joined: Fri Apr 19, 2013 16:19

Re: MinetestMapperGui - Graphical userinterface for mtmapper

by twoelk » Wed Oct 12, 2016 16:29

oops, 32bit system running on:
Your phone or window isn't wide enough to display the code box. If it's a phone, try rotating it to landscape mode.
Code: Select all
CPU:           AMD Athlon II X4 640 (Propus, BL-C3 (Bloodhound))
               3000 MHz (15.00x200.0) @ 3000 MHz (15.00x200.0)
Motherboard:   MSI 880GM-E43 (MS-7596)
Chipset:       AMD 880G/980G (RS880P) + SB750/SB710
Memory:        4096 MBytes @ 666 MHz, 9-9-9-24
Graphics:      ATI/AMD Radeon HD 4250 (RS880P) [Micro-Star International]
               AMD Radeon HD 4250, 256 MB DDR2 SDRAM

OS:            Microsoft Windows 10 Professional Build 10240.17113


I'll try it on a 64bit system later tonight.
But surely the new version will not be 64bit only?
 

User avatar
addi
Member
 
Posts: 605
Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2012 03:16

Re: MinetestMapperGui - Graphical userinterface for mtmapper

by addi » Wed Oct 12, 2016 17:02

XD yeah that would explain it :)

Of course there will be a x32 version too. But as I already said, zip packages does make more work for me then a Installer. Just had not the time to collect all x32 dlls and zip the folder
 

twoelk
Member
 
Posts: 1092
Joined: Fri Apr 19, 2013 16:19

Re: MinetestMapperGui - Graphical userinterface for mtmapper

by twoelk » Thu Oct 13, 2016 11:37

so I tried it on a 64bit system ...
it complained about some missing runtime files so I dumped these into the folder the exe resides in
msvcp140.dll
vcruntime140.dll

yay the program started!

but I only had time to try a few configurations.
+ Sadly they all ended like this


I was able to create a local profile though.
+ The one active in the example above goes like this
Attachments
Zwischenablage-1.png
Zwischenablage-1.png (70.5 KiB) Viewed 10030 times
 

User avatar
addi
Member
 
Posts: 605
Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2012 03:16

Re: MinetestMapperGui - Graphical userinterface for mtmapper

by addi » Thu Oct 13, 2016 12:58

hmm the errorcode -1073741515 or 0xC0000135 means there is some *.dll missing. could you please check the following two things?:
execute minetestmapper.exe without MinetestmapperGui. Does it tell you which dll is missing?
Does it works correctly if you install the vcredist.x64.exe that I delivered inside the zip file?

Thanks for your patience.
 

twoelk
Member
 
Posts: 1092
Joined: Fri Apr 19, 2013 16:19

Re: MinetestMapperGui - Graphical userinterface for mtmapper

by twoelk » Thu Oct 20, 2016 17:16

started minetestmapper.exe ->it complained msvcr100.dll was missing and failed to start.
installed vc_redist.x64.exe -> minetestmapper had the same issues as before
installed msvcr100.dll -> minetestmapper started and seemed happy
started MinetestMapperGui in portable mode -> worked with no problems
started MinetestMapper from ASuite with parameters (not using the batch file) -> worked and the local profile was used.

so to be truly portable as in "not needing to install anything on the host system" I usually put all files within the MinetestMapper folder. I haven't investigated yet what else vc_redist.x64.exe installed that I might need when I plug my portable device into some other computer that may not be mine and thus would not allow to install anything.
 

User avatar
addi
Member
 
Posts: 605
Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2012 03:16

Re: MinetestMapperGui - Graphical userinterface for mtmapper

by addi » Sat Oct 22, 2016 07:52

Thanks twoelk :-) Because of your help, I found out that the sqlite3.dll still had requirements to msvcr100.dll which I have resolved now.
Back to topic:

I m happy to announce now the first downloads with the option to start in portable mode:

MinetestMapperGui_Portable_x32.zip
7.1 MB
MinetestMapperGui_Portable_x64.zip 8.8 MB
Due to the modular Qt 5.7 and the fact that minetestmapper itself is now build with MSVC too, the file size is much smaller then the first builds. This builds should work pretty stable, but please report any error you find. Thanks.

This packages also contains a MakeColors.exe (source code can be found here: https://bitbucket.org/adrido/makecolors ). This is a tool to generate a colors.txt file out of the nodes.txt file generated by the Minetest mod dumpnodes its experimental and does currently not produce the same colors as the original, but better then nothing. If you want to test it, please do so and report your experiences here. thanks

Have fun!
 

Fixerol
Member
 
Posts: 633
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2011 11:23
IRC: Fixer
In-game: Fixer

Re: MinetestMapperGui - Graphical userinterface for mtmapper

by Fixerol » Sun Oct 23, 2016 13:02

It works! Thank you very much.
 

User avatar
maikerumine
Member
 
Posts: 946
Joined: Mon Aug 04, 2014 14:27
GitHub: maikerumine
In-game: maikerumine

Re: MinetestMapperGui - Graphical userinterface for mtmapper

by maikerumine » Sun Oct 23, 2016 13:54

Fixerol wrote:It works! Thank you very much.

Thank you for pointing me here!!
 

hajo
Member
 
Posts: 262
Joined: Thu Oct 13, 2016 10:45

Re: MinetestMapperGui - Graphical userinterface for mtmapper

by hajo » Tue Oct 25, 2016 21:20

I tried MinetestMapperGui with the tiny map of TutorialWorld (128x128),
and noticed:

* map features/drawscale: the generated picture is not wide enough to show the last number of the x-axis

* map limits:
** scalefactor: for such a small map, an enlarging scalefactor would be nice
BTW, can the mapper use worldedit/schematics as input ?
** Center/dimensions X,Y vs. min/max-Y (height): shouldn't that be Center X,Z ?
** the tooltips for geometrymode have no newlines, so they run all across the screen

* the placeholders <date> etc. for output-filename use the current date.
It would be nice to also have a placeholder for the filedate.

The output shows a lot of
Your phone or window isn't wide enough to display the code box. If it's a phone, try rotating it to landscape mode.
Code: Select all
Unknown nodes:
arrow_signs:wall_down
..
cottages:bench
..
darkage:basalt_brick
..
tutorial:wall

How would I specify which colors to use for these ?

Also, I would like to put markers with text onto the map, for points-of-interest.
This can be done (by hand) with programs like irfanview, or ImageMagick.

As MinetestMapper already supports "--drawmapline", "--drawmaptext" etc.,
it would be nice if the program could add such things to the output-picture,
perhaps reading from an inputfile (e.g. world.txt).
Some of 'my' wiki-pages: Build-a-home - basic-robot - basic-machines - digtron
 

User avatar
addi
Member
 
Posts: 605
Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2012 03:16

Re: MinetestMapperGui - Graphical userinterface for mtmapper

by addi » Wed Oct 26, 2016 09:21

Thanks for your feedback.
hajo wrote:* map features/drawscale: the generated picture is not wide enough to show the last number of the x-axis

* map limits:
** scalefactor: for such a small map, an enlarging scalefactor would be nice
BTW, can the mapper use worldedit/schematics as input ?

yes, your right. But thats a problem of minetestmapper itself. Ill create a Issue there.
No, minetestmapper can only read minetest/freeminer maps no worldedit or shematic files. Not shure if there is a use for it.
hajo wrote:** Center/dimensions X,Y vs. min/max-Y (height): shouldn't that be Center X,Z ?

Well X,Y means the image, but yes, that could be missunderstandable. I think Center/dimensions width height (w,h) should be better.
hajo wrote:** the tooltips for geometrymode have no newlines, so they run all across the screen


Ill fix within the next release.
hajo wrote:* the placeholders <date> etc. for output-filename use the current date.
It would be nice to also have a placeholder for the filedate.

Not sure what you exactly mean by filedate.
A file (like map.sqlite) on Windows does have different dates: Create Date, Last modified date. Dont know if such a feature also exists on Linux
There are some database engines, that does not create a file inside the world directory so there could no date of them fetched.
hajo wrote:The output shows a lot of
[...]
How would I specify which colors to use for these ?

Within the latest download there is file called MakeColors.exe. Its a command line tool to create a colors.txt file out of a nodes.txt file. It will be soon integrated fully into MinetestMapperGui, you have to wait 2 weeks.
BTW ill upload a colors.txt file for the tutorial word this evening, please stand by.
hajo wrote:Also, I would like to put markers with text onto the map, for points-of-interest.
This can be done (by hand) with programs like irfanview, or ImageMagick.

As MinetestMapper already supports "--drawmapline", "--drawmaptext" etc.,
it would be nice if the program could add such things to the output-picture,
perhaps reading from an inputfile (e.g. world.txt).

Thats on my to do list. Maybe it comes with the next release or later.
 

hajo
Member
 
Posts: 262
Joined: Thu Oct 13, 2016 10:45

Re: MinetestMapperGui - Graphical userinterface for mtmapper

by hajo » Wed Oct 26, 2016 12:30

addi wrote:
hajo wrote:* map features/drawscale: the generated picture is not wide enough to show the last number of the x-axis

yes, your right. But thats a problem of minetestmapper itself. Ill create a Issue there.

With an option to also drawscale at right (and bottom), there would be enough space.

addi wrote:
hajo wrote:can the mapper use worldedit/schematics as input ?

No, minetestmapper can only read minetest/freeminer maps no worldedit or shematic files.
Not shure if there is a use for it.

My idea was to make maps of bigger schematics, e.g. villages.[/quote]

addi wrote:
hajo wrote:* the placeholders <date> etc. for output-filename use the current date.
It would be nice to also have a placeholder for the filedate.

Not sure what you exactly mean by filedate.
A file (like map.sqlite) on Windows does have different dates: Create Date, Last modified date.
Dont know if such a feature also exists on Linux
There are some database engines, that does not create a file inside the world directory
so there could no date of them fetched.

When creating a map from an old/archived world (e.g. Karsthafen),
a placeholder like <filedate> should expand to the date/time of the
state of the map, not the current date.

New:
* there is an error-message when trying to create a map of a freshly generated world.
I assume the database is still empty until a player actually enters the world.
Last edited by hajo on Wed Oct 26, 2016 15:36, edited 3 times in total.
Some of 'my' wiki-pages: Build-a-home - basic-robot - basic-machines - digtron
 

Fixerol
Member
 
Posts: 633
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2011 11:23
IRC: Fixer
In-game: Fixer

Re: MinetestMapperGui - Graphical userinterface for mtmapper

by Fixerol » Wed Oct 26, 2016 14:38

I have another question, on Map Limit there is min-Y / max-Y fields, when I enable them only and type my numbers it still processes all z-levels it seems.
 

User avatar
addi
Member
 
Posts: 605
Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2012 03:16

Re: MinetestMapperGui - Graphical userinterface for mtmapper

by addi » Wed Oct 26, 2016 15:02

hajo wrote:When creating a map from an old/archived world (e.g. Karsthafen),
a placeholder like <filedate> should expand to the date/time of the
state of the map, not the current date.

Uhm not shure if its possible to detect the correct date. Minetest might modify the database everytime you visit the world, so the filedate (last modified) might be incorrect.
Ill have to do some experiments first to get shure.
hajo wrote:New:
* there is an error-message when trying to create a map of a freshly generated world.
I assume the database is still empty until a player actually enters the world.

Yes thats right. A new world is empty and so there cant be a map created out of it.
Fixerol wrote:I have another question, on Map Limit there is min-Y / max-Y fields, when I enable them only and type my numbers it still processes all z-levels it seems.

The min-Y max-Y fields are meaning the hight of the world. if you set it you can cut mountains or displaying hughe caves, but It does not affect the z-level.
If you want to limit the Z-Axis, you have to specify a geometry.

+ colors.txt for tutorial world
 

twoelk
Member
 
Posts: 1092
Joined: Fri Apr 19, 2013 16:19

Re: MinetestMapperGui - Graphical userinterface for mtmapper

by twoelk » Wed Oct 26, 2016 15:22

Examples of somewhat larger color.txt files can be found here:
xaagle-colorfile for the mod collection used on the Xanadu server.
color.txt on digitalaudioconcepts for the mod collection as present in the Dreambuilder game/modpack.

btw have been using the MinetestMapperGui on different host systems and it works as expected :-)
I could use the same set of profiles even though I had never before run anything minetest related on some of the machines I tested. Pretty cool.
Last edited by twoelk on Mon Feb 13, 2017 04:25, edited 1 time in total.
 

Fixerol
Member
 
Posts: 633
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2011 11:23
IRC: Fixer
In-game: Fixer

Re: MinetestMapperGui - Graphical userinterface for mtmapper

by Fixerol » Sun Dec 04, 2016 18:18

More unknown nodes on latest minetest that will be in 0.4.15 release.
default:acacia_bush_leaves
default:acacia_bush_stem
default:aspen_leaves
default:aspen_tree
default:bush_leaves
default:bush_stem
default:coral_brown
default:coral_orange
default:coral_skeleton
default:silver_sand
nyancat:nyancat
nyancat:nyancat_rainbow
 

User avatar
addi
Member
 
Posts: 605
Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2012 03:16

Re: MinetestMapperGui - Graphical userinterface for mtmapper

by addi » Wed Dec 14, 2016 10:02

Sorry, for the late response.

Here is a new build of MinetestMapperGui:

MinetestMapperGui_Portable_x32.zip 7.2 MB
MinetestMapperGui_Portable_x64.zip 8.6 MB

It has two new features then the last build:
1. Extras->Start colors.txt assistant:
This Assistant helps you to generate a brand new and up to date colors.txt file out of a nodes.txt and the game and/or mods folder.
Download the dumpnodes mod and install it like each other mod. Start the game with all mods you want to support with the colors.txt file.
Execute /dumpnodes chatcommand.
Start MinetestMapperGui and Start colors.txt assistant. (Extras->Start colors.txt assistant)
Select the nodes.txt then select the game folder and the mods folder click generate and it will generate the colors.txt file for that world.

(3.) the default colors.txt schould now full support the newest and upcoming 0.4.15 Minetest Game.

2. Draw Figures Tab
MinetestMapperGui is now able to draw Figures to the map. (The --drawmap<figure> command of minetestmapper) This is currently in beta state, so It might crash if you do something unexpected. Im also not happy with the current look of the UI on this Tab, so there might be changes in the future. But please report all bugs you find there. You can also tell me any Idea to make the UI better or other suggestions
 

User avatar
texmex
Member
 
Posts: 226
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2016 21:08
GitHub: tacotexmex
In-game: texmex

Re: MinetestMapperGui - Graphical userinterface for mtmapper

by texmex » Mon Jan 23, 2017 16:19

Going to try this on macOS through Wine.
I spend all my days going down to the mines. Under the ground where the sun never shines. Breaking my back I put heat in your house. I’ve got the roar of a digtron, the breath of a mouse.
 

User avatar
addi
Member
 
Posts: 605
Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2012 03:16

Re: MinetestMapperGui - Graphical userinterface for mtmapper

by addi » Sat Jan 28, 2017 10:14

texmex wrote:Going to try this on macOS through Wine.

And? Did you had success?
 

User avatar
texmex
Member
 
Posts: 226
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2016 21:08
GitHub: tacotexmex
In-game: texmex

Re: MinetestMapperGui - Graphical userinterface for mtmapper

by texmex » Sat Jan 28, 2017 13:40

addi wrote:And? Did you had success?

Still going to. :)
I spend all my days going down to the mines. Under the ground where the sun never shines. Breaking my back I put heat in your house. I’ve got the roar of a digtron, the breath of a mouse.
 

User avatar
texmex
Member
 
Posts: 226
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2016 21:08
GitHub: tacotexmex
In-game: texmex

Re: MinetestMapperGui - Graphical userinterface for mtmapper

by texmex » Sun Jan 29, 2017 20:00

The 32 bit version works just fine. I used Wineskin Winery to build a stand-alone Wine package.
I spend all my days going down to the mines. Under the ground where the sun never shines. Breaking my back I put heat in your house. I’ve got the roar of a digtron, the breath of a mouse.
 

Fixerol
Member
 
Posts: 633
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2011 11:23
IRC: Fixer
In-game: Fixer

Re: MinetestMapperGui - Graphical userinterface for mtmapper

by Fixerol » Sun Feb 26, 2017 17:22

Please update minetestmappergui including newest minetestmapper, current one will not work with new version of map format of minetest.
 

User avatar
addi
Member
 
Posts: 605
Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2012 03:16

Re: MinetestMapperGui - Graphical userinterface for mtmapper

by addi » Sun Feb 26, 2017 17:28

Sorry, there is no newer version available: https://github.com/Rogier-5/minetest-ma ... /issues/19
 

hajo
Member
 
Posts: 262
Joined: Thu Oct 13, 2016 10:45

Re: MinetestMapperGui - Graphical userinterface for mtmapper

by hajo » Mon Feb 27, 2017 04:40

BTW, sometimes I get an error
Your phone or window isn't wide enough to display the code box. If it's a phone, try rotating it to landscape mode.
Code: Select all
Exception: Failed to prepare SQL statement (blockPosListStatement)

Just pressing the generate-button again, without changing anything,
and the program runs successfully.
Some of 'my' wiki-pages: Build-a-home - basic-robot - basic-machines - digtron
 

User avatar
addi
Member
 
Posts: 605
Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2012 03:16

Re: MinetestMapperGui - Graphical userinterface for mtmapper

by addi » Mon Feb 27, 2017 08:22

I added now support for newer maps in minetestmapper. Sourcecode can be found here: https://github.com/adrido/minetest-mapp ... ialization
Download the new version of MinetestMapperGui: https://bitbucket.org/adrido/minetestma ... _v07-a.zip
x32 builds may follow tomorrow. In that version I rewrote many things, so there are bugs, but feel free to report them too :-)
This version might also a little bit slower (some ms) on startup, but is some seconds faster on mapping.

hajo wrote:BTW, sometimes I get an error
Your phone or window isn't wide enough to display the code box. If it's a phone, try rotating it to landscape mode.
Code: Select all
Exception: Failed to prepare SQL statement (blockPosListStatement)

Just pressing the generate-button again, without changing anything,
and the program runs successfully.

Thats odd. The new build uses a newer version of sqlite, maybe its fixed there. Try it out and if its happen again report it again. :-)
 

Fixerol
Member
 
Posts: 633
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2011 11:23
IRC: Fixer
In-game: Fixer

Re: MinetestMapperGui - Graphical userinterface for mtmapper

by Fixerol » Fri Mar 03, 2017 17:39

Tried new version, works :)
 

User avatar
addi
Member
 
Posts: 605
Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2012 03:16

Re: MinetestMapperGui - Graphical userinterface for mtmapper

by addi » Sun Mar 05, 2017 13:37

New Release:
(Same features as I told above but less bugs and some code optimizations)
Installers:
Setup Minetest Mapper Gui x64.exe(0.7.0) 20.8 MB
Setup Minetest Mapper Gui x32.exe(0.7.0) 18.8 MB
"Portable" versions:
MinetestMapperGui_64.zip(0.7.0) 24.0 MB
MinetestMapperGui_32.zip(0.7.0) 21.7 MB
 

Previous

Return to Minetest-Related

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron