Making Mining Music

Libervurto

GitHub: Libervurto
IRC: owb
In-game: Libervurto Owly

Making Mining Music

by Libervurto » Thu Sep 15, 2016 01:29

Hello there!

I have been writing music for a long time but I am very new to music production and this is my first project with LMMS, so be kind, I am learning.

I have made two versions of a main theme that tries to evoke a whimsical, adventurous spirit.

First, using the NES synth: https://soundcloud.com/libervurto/wandering
Second, using other synths I experimented with: https://soundcloud.com/libervurto/wandering-alt

Both versions are quite small in file size, <600KB. I feel like the NES one could be much smaller but I don't know how. I want to keep my music as small as possible so that if some day (I wish) it is included in Minetest it does not bloat the files. I play Minetest on an old laptop that cannot even run The Other Mining Game™ (at a playable frame-rate) so I don't want to provide anything that harms performance—any advice toward this goal is appreciated.

I will continue to compose and practice with LMMS. I want to eventually write music for each biome, perhaps some night/day variants and cave music too. (If this music I uploaded were a biome it would be plains.)

Any suggestions, criticism (helpful), and advice welcome.

Thanks.

celeron55

Re: Making Mining Music

by celeron55 » Tue Sep 20, 2016 06:09

This is probably among the best original music about/for Minetest made so far.

Yes, quite frankly, the bar isn't very high here. I listened the first one two times. 8)

Byakuren

GitHub: raymoo
IRC: Hijiri

by Byakuren » Tue Sep 20, 2016 09:43

It looks like they're licensed CC-BY-NC-SA, which wouldn't be compatible with the CC-BY-SA license used for Minetest assets.
Every time a mod API is left undocumented, a koala dies.

paramat

GitHub: paramat

by paramat » Wed Sep 21, 2016 01:36

This is cool you're doing this.