[Game] Pixture

User avatar
eduardomezencio
Member
 
Posts: 73
Joined: Tue Sep 08, 2015 17:48
GitHub: eduardomezencio

Re: [Game] Pixture

by eduardomezencio » Sun Sep 27, 2015 16:51

Nice that the texture was fixed, but my problem was really about the seed and coordinates.

Even in -177, 5, 75, I can see nothing. Our maps are definitely generating differently. What could be causing that? I'm not using any mod with your game and I'm using Minetest 0.4.13
 

User avatar
kaadmy
Member
 
Posts: 627
Joined: Thu Aug 27, 2015 23:07
GitHub: kaadmy
IRC: KaadmY
In-game: KaadmY kaadmy NeD

Re: [Game] Pixture

by kaadmy » Sun Sep 27, 2015 17:03

Did you try waiting for about 10 seconds? The villages are a bit slow generating...
I also use minetest 0.4.13-dev, that might make a difference...
If you get tired of trying find a village, run the command /giveme village:grassland_village, then place it somewhere.
Never paint white stripes on roads near Zebra crossings.
 

User avatar
eduardomezencio
Member
 
Posts: 73
Joined: Tue Sep 08, 2015 17:48
GitHub: eduardomezencio

Re: [Game] Pixture

by eduardomezencio » Mon Sep 28, 2015 00:34

kaadmy wrote:Did you try waiting for about 10 seconds? The villages are a bit slow generating...
I also use minetest 0.4.13-dev, that might make a difference...
If you get tired of trying find a village, run the command /giveme village:grassland_village, then place it somewhere.


Yes, I waited. And I alse have already used the village node to spawn a village and check how it is.. but I'm still worried about this seed thing.. it's not very nice to think that you can't share seeds with others and get the same results..
 

User avatar
kaadmy
Member
 
Posts: 627
Joined: Thu Aug 27, 2015 23:07
GitHub: kaadmy
IRC: KaadmY
In-game: KaadmY kaadmy NeD

Re: [Game] Pixture

by kaadmy » Mon Sep 28, 2015 16:54

Hmm, i'll try it with Minetest 0.4.13, not the dev version, I thought the mgv7 mapgen hasn't changed much since 0.4.12 though...
Never paint white stripes on roads near Zebra crossings.
 

User avatar
AgentNagel42
Member
 
Posts: 33
Joined: Tue Sep 09, 2014 15:41
In-game: AgentNagel42

Re: [Game] Pixture

by AgentNagel42 » Tue Sep 29, 2015 19:31

ooh look a turtle it's so cute! wait why is it flashing? 'explodes', 'dies' :P

+1 on the weather, rain looks really nice but the particles stay on the ground for a little bit so its looks like
needles falling from the sky. lol :P
 

User avatar
kaadmy
Member
 
Posts: 627
Joined: Thu Aug 27, 2015 23:07
GitHub: kaadmy
IRC: KaadmY
In-game: KaadmY kaadmy NeD

Re: [Game] Pixture

by kaadmy » Tue Sep 29, 2015 21:49

AgentNagel42 wrote:[...]rain looks really nice but the particles stay on the ground for a little bit so its looks like
needles falling from the sky. lol :P

I can't do much about that, I use particles, which I can make go through nodes, which results in raining indoors, I can make them disappear sooner, which is ugly when looking down near a tallish cliff. So for now, I can't do much about that :(
Never paint white stripes on roads near Zebra crossings.
 

User avatar
eduardomezencio
Member
 
Posts: 73
Joined: Tue Sep 08, 2015 17:48
GitHub: eduardomezencio

Re: [Game] Pixture

by eduardomezencio » Wed Sep 30, 2015 03:35

kaadmy, I'm starting to believe that in different OSs the random number generator behaves differently. To be more specific, I think it has something to do with the C library implementation your OS uses, because the lua random generator calls the C rand() function. What's your OS? Could you test what are the 5 first numbers generated after seeding the number 100? Here's my result:

Your phone or window isn't wide enough to display the code box. If it's a phone, try rotating it to landscape mode.
Code: Select all
> math.randomseed(100)
> math.random()
0.28494340414181
> math.random()
0.24060135660693
> math.random()
0.48412656597793
> math.random()
0.37579324841499
> math.random()
0.053702678065747
 

User avatar
kaadmy
Member
 
Posts: 627
Joined: Thu Aug 27, 2015 23:07
GitHub: kaadmy
IRC: KaadmY
In-game: KaadmY kaadmy NeD

Re: [Game] Pixture

by kaadmy » Wed Sep 30, 2015 15:53

I use PsuedoRandoms for almost everything, and those are built-in to Minetest.
The village placement/generation should to entirely done with psuedo random.

[b]Edit:[b] My Lua random results:
Your phone or window isn't wide enough to display the code box. If it's a phone, try rotating it to landscape mode.
Code: Select all
> math.randomseed(100)
> print(math.random())
0.2849434042745
> print(math.random())
0.24060135671897
> print(math.random())
0.48412656620337
> print(math.random())
0.37579324858999
> print(math.random())
0.053702678090754
Never paint white stripes on roads near Zebra crossings.
 

User avatar
eduardomezencio
Member
 
Posts: 73
Joined: Tue Sep 08, 2015 17:48
GitHub: eduardomezencio

Re: [Game] Pixture

by eduardomezencio » Wed Sep 30, 2015 19:05

Is there some serious reason for using PseudoRandom instead of the lua builtin math.random? (sorry for taking so much fo your game's thread with this discussion)
 

User avatar
kaadmy
Member
 
Posts: 627
Joined: Thu Aug 27, 2015 23:07
GitHub: kaadmy
IRC: KaadmY
In-game: KaadmY kaadmy NeD

Re: [Game] Pixture

by kaadmy » Wed Sep 30, 2015 19:18

No problem about taking over this thread, although this might have fit better in Bugs and Problems :)
The reason I use PsuedoRandom for almost everything is that with th same see, everything is always the same, so you can duplicate the complete world with just the seed. Although mapgen decorations might use non PsuedoRandom, and I use decorations for village spawning...
Never paint white stripes on roads near Zebra crossings.
 

Soudon
Member
 
Posts: 167
Joined: Wed Apr 08, 2015 17:14
In-game: Soudon

Re: [Game] Pixture

by Soudon » Fri Oct 02, 2015 19:51

Ok the one thing I like about this is the fact you can shift click items in your inventory. I want to take the inventory system to minetestgame but for 4.12 as I have perfectly working x256 mob textures and they just don't work as they are all .x mesh and I can't get them to work with .b3d even changing the line character.b3d in the lua to .x doesnt seem to help. as the mesh I use for my mobs is the character.x from 4.12 just renamed to the mob. Works well in 4.12 but on 4.13 it just doesnt. so If you can tell me how to get the inventory setup to work with 4.12 that would be great.
 

User avatar
kaadmy
Member
 
Posts: 627
Joined: Thu Aug 27, 2015 23:07
GitHub: kaadmy
IRC: KaadmY
In-game: KaadmY kaadmy NeD

Re: [Game] Pixture

by kaadmy » Fri Oct 02, 2015 21:07

The inventory won't work in 0.4.12, the shift+clicking inventory was added in 0.4.13...
I will make the mobs .b3d meshes ASAP, but they probably will not work with the mods-redo mod, as the animations aren't compatible, and the textures have different UV coordinates.
Also, i'm using the mobs-redo mod, other ones might not work.
Never paint white stripes on roads near Zebra crossings.
 

Soudon
Member
 
Posts: 167
Joined: Wed Apr 08, 2015 17:14
In-game: Soudon

Re: [Game] Pixture

by Soudon » Fri Oct 02, 2015 21:14

Ok no problem I'm going to stick with 4.13 slowly I'm getting the textures to work I have a custom character texture, sheep, and npc1 its slow going but I'm getting there.
 

Soudon
Member
 
Posts: 167
Joined: Wed Apr 08, 2015 17:14
In-game: Soudon

Re: [Game] Pixture

by Soudon » Fri Oct 02, 2015 21:17

kaadmy wrote:The inventory won't work in 0.4.12, the shift+clicking inventory was added in 0.4.13...
I will make the mobs .b3d meshes ASAP, but they probably will not work with the mods-redo mod, as the animations aren't compatible, and the textures have different UV coordinates.
Also, i'm using the mobs-redo mod, other ones might not work.


also b3d is the problem I cant open them with anything. I have gimp,paint.net, and blender the best I can do is use the .x
 

User avatar
kaadmy
Member
 
Posts: 627
Joined: Thu Aug 27, 2015 23:07
GitHub: kaadmy
IRC: KaadmY
In-game: KaadmY kaadmy NeD

Re: [Game] Pixture

by kaadmy » Fri Oct 02, 2015 21:24

If you have blender, you can just open the .blend files instead.
Never paint white stripes on roads near Zebra crossings.
 

Soudon
Member
 
Posts: 167
Joined: Wed Apr 08, 2015 17:14
In-game: Soudon

Re: [Game] Pixture

by Soudon » Fri Oct 02, 2015 21:34

kaadmy wrote:If you have blender, you can just open the .blend files instead.


True now to find the .blend file for simplemobs sheep so I can set there coords properly atm they are one block too high. I have the blend file of the mob mesh I want to use for the sheep but I can't get the dimensions right I had the texture on the sheep before fine, now its all messed up and a block high I just need to know the coords of the sheep included in mobs redo so I can set the one I want to it so they are actually on the ground and not floating.
 

Soudon
Member
 
Posts: 167
Joined: Wed Apr 08, 2015 17:14
In-game: Soudon

Re: [Game] Pixture

by Soudon » Fri Oct 02, 2015 23:20

Soudon wrote:
kaadmy wrote:If you have blender, you can just open the .blend files instead.


True now to find the .blend file for simplemobs sheep so I can set there coords properly atm they are one block too high. I have the blend file of the mob mesh I want to use for the sheep but I can't get the dimensions right I had the texture on the sheep before fine, now its all messed up and a block high I just need to know the coords of the sheep included in mobs redo so I can set the one I want to it so they are actually on the ground and not floating.


Going a new direction with this so I'm going to make a thread on my plan.
 

User avatar
kaadmy
Member
 
Posts: 627
Joined: Thu Aug 27, 2015 23:07
GitHub: kaadmy
IRC: KaadmY
In-game: KaadmY kaadmy NeD

Re: [Game] Pixture

by kaadmy » Fri Oct 02, 2015 23:24

All right, hope you have a good time while doing it :)
Feel free to use any of my image and model assets as WTFPL, sounds are mostly CC0, some are GPL/other.
Never paint white stripes on roads near Zebra crossings.
 

Soudon
Member
 
Posts: 167
Joined: Wed Apr 08, 2015 17:14
In-game: Soudon

Re: [Game] Pixture

by Soudon » Sat Oct 03, 2015 00:19

kaadmy wrote:All right, hope you have a good time while doing it :)
Feel free to use any of my image and model assets as WTFPL, sounds are mostly CC0, some are GPL/other.


alright thank you and for the most part I'm attempting to not use other peoples work but I will credit those who I do use stuff from. Planing a HD version of the mintest-game all textures 512x256 just have to decide weather to do a realistic approach or like a "toony" look.
 

paramat
Member
 
Posts: 2662
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2012 00:05
GitHub: paramat

Re: [Game] Pixture

by paramat » Sat Oct 03, 2015 04:27

Just played this for the first time, stunning, i love the textures. The rain is good and seems surprisingly lightweight, good use of skybox for rainclouds.
We really need more subgames to bundle with Minetest, i will certainly be supporting this one.
 

paramat
Member
 
Posts: 2662
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2012 00:05
GitHub: paramat

Re: [Game] Pixture

by paramat » Sat Oct 03, 2015 04:43

water_level = 0
This is better set to 1 as normal, the reason is a water surface at 0 is at mapblock borders, this slows down the appearence of the water surface when exploring the world.
 

Soudon
Member
 
Posts: 167
Joined: Wed Apr 08, 2015 17:14
In-game: Soudon

Re: [Game] Pixture

by Soudon » Sat Oct 03, 2015 08:07

Just a preview of what I am working on I added a HD version of the carbonsteel armor just as a test run here is how it turned out.


Preview.png
carbonsteel armor
Preview.png (36.61 KiB) Viewed 2720 times
 

Ivà
Member
 
Posts: 115
Joined: Sun Feb 22, 2015 07:11
GitHub: melzua
IRC: melzua
In-game: melzua

Re: [Game] Pixture

by Ivà » Sat Oct 03, 2015 13:42

paramat wrote:We really need more subgames to bundle with Minetest, i will certainly be supporting this one.


+1, it's a great game.
 

User avatar
kaadmy
Member
 
Posts: 627
Joined: Thu Aug 27, 2015 23:07
GitHub: kaadmy
IRC: KaadmY
In-game: KaadmY kaadmy NeD

Re: [Game] Pixture

by kaadmy » Sat Oct 03, 2015 15:27

Thanks for all the compliments :)

paramat wrote:water_level = 0
This is better set to 1 as normal, the reason is a water surface at 0 is at mapblock borders, this slows down the appearence of the water surface when exploring the world.

Ah, I didn't realize that, i'll change it back to 1.
Never paint white stripes on roads near Zebra crossings.
 

Soudon
Member
 
Posts: 167
Joined: Wed Apr 08, 2015 17:14
In-game: Soudon

Re: [Game] Pixture

by Soudon » Sat Oct 03, 2015 19:19

kaadmy wrote:Thanks for all the compliments :)

paramat wrote:water_level = 0
This is better set to 1 as normal, the reason is a water surface at 0 is at mapblock borders, this slows down the appearence of the water surface when exploring the world.

Ah, I didn't realize that, i'll change it back to 1.


If you want I can give you a link I added swords back into the game I kept the spears just added swords as well. Let me know.

I also updated the recipes for each so it goes
"", "group:planks", ""
"", "group:planks", ""
"default:fiber", "default:stick", "default:fiber"

and that is for the wood sword obviously
 

User avatar
kaadmy
Member
 
Posts: 627
Joined: Thu Aug 27, 2015 23:07
GitHub: kaadmy
IRC: KaadmY
In-game: KaadmY kaadmy NeD

Re: [Game] Pixture

by kaadmy » Sat Oct 03, 2015 20:39

I think i'll just keep spears for now, although the crafting is messy right now.
Never paint white stripes on roads near Zebra crossings.
 

Soudon
Member
 
Posts: 167
Joined: Wed Apr 08, 2015 17:14
In-game: Soudon

Re: [Game] Pixture

by Soudon » Sat Oct 03, 2015 20:42

kaadmy wrote:I think i'll just keep spears for now, although the crafting is messy right now.



The crafting is too bad I don't think had to look what the recipes were but after that it was pretty simple just a matter of getting used to that setup, as in minecraft it is different just something to get used to wasn't too bad I like it.

Currently working on adding a 3d model for the swords for now if I can iron that out I'll do it for tools too so they aren't so small. Because currently the way swords or spears are they look like daggers lol.
 

User avatar
kaadmy
Member
 
Posts: 627
Joined: Thu Aug 27, 2015 23:07
GitHub: kaadmy
IRC: KaadmY
In-game: KaadmY kaadmy NeD

Re: [Game] Pixture

by kaadmy » Sat Oct 03, 2015 21:03

Yes, also, do you mean model, or image?
Never paint white stripes on roads near Zebra crossings.
 

Soudon
Member
 
Posts: 167
Joined: Wed Apr 08, 2015 17:14
In-game: Soudon

Re: [Game] Pixture

by Soudon » Sat Oct 03, 2015 22:03

I meant model but I figured out the easy way underneath each sword below the description line I put
wield_scale = {x=1,y=3,z=2},

solved the dagger look.

Also if you want to simplify your recipes an easier method but still using fiber would be and I'm going to use the wooden pick as an example but

Your phone or window isn't wide enough to display the code box. If it's a phone, try rotating it to landscape mode.
Code: Select all
             plank,plank,plank
            ""     fiber     ""
            ""     stick     ""


That would be "cleaner"
 

User avatar
kaadmy
Member
 
Posts: 627
Joined: Thu Aug 27, 2015 23:07
GitHub: kaadmy
IRC: KaadmY
In-game: KaadmY kaadmy NeD

Re: [Game] Pixture

by kaadmy » Sat Oct 03, 2015 22:40

Soudon wrote:Also if you want to simplify your recipes an easier method but still using fiber would be and I'm going to use the wooden pick as an example
[...]

I'll do that, see if it makes it intuitive to craft.
Never paint white stripes on roads near Zebra crossings.
 

PreviousNext

Return to Subgame Releases

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 27 guests

cron