Bad words for kids

SmellyBut

Bad words for kids

by SmellyBut » Wed Jul 17, 2013 05:15

If a kid does not know what a word means, does that make it okay for them to be exposed to it?

I am asking this simple question for a very specific reason.

You see it all started maybe about 2 weeks ago. I am still Fairly new to this game, still learning new things everyday. And so far I really have enjoyed my time on Minetest and all the wonderful people I met.
I came into Minetest for a few reasons, I love build games, I am a scripter, and really just to have fun and waste time when I can. So of course I picked the most stupidest name because after all this is just a game.
I go by “SmellyBut” in Minetest.

So far no one has ever gave me a problem with my name expect a few people in which I will get into shortly.

So one day I was went to check out a new server see what its like. (I will not name the server out of respect for them because I don’t want to people to grief or troll them in my name.)

So as soon as I came into the server I saw 3 names that stood out to me. 2 which where in reference to Marijuana and one which was a racist slur towards whites.
But I did not say anything because I figured the admins or mods knew what was best.

Then it began.

Within 10 seconds or less people started harassing me about my name, telling me it was inappropriate, and disgusting. Then people where telling me if I wanted to play on that server I needed to create a new name.

When I asked but why? They would tell me how it was bad for young kids to be subjected and exposed to such a name.

However when I mentioned about the three names I mentioned a few sentences back their exact words where.

“Young kids don’t know what those words mean, so it’s okay”

To make a long story short I would not change my name, which would cause me to be banned.
But yet players with Drug and racist referenced names are okay.

This does not make sense to me.