Page 2 of 5

PostPosted: Fri Feb 21, 2014 09:38
by thetoon
grey wrote:Normally the Raspberry Pi is more than capable of running 3D games, including Minecraft. Though I like Minetest a whole lot better than Minecraft. If anyone know's what I should do here, please tell me!


The Pi is rather capable, but as far as I know it doesn't speak OpenGL, but rather OpenGL ES. These are two related, but different, way of dealing with 3d things.

A way of making Minetest Pi-compatible would be to port it to OpenGL ES, or more precisely to lay upon Irrlicht ogl-es, as soon as it's working.

There's a branch here, if anyone feels like it : https://github.com/kizzx2/irrlicht-ogl-es

Please note that some people predict OpenGL will slowly die and ES will prevail. So it might be useful for normal desktops too, in the end.

PostPosted: Fri Feb 21, 2014 13:18
by sfan5
thetoon wrote:
grey wrote:Normally the Raspberry Pi is more than capable of running 3D games, including Minecraft. Though I like Minetest a whole lot better than Minecraft. If anyone know's what I should do here, please tell me!


The Pi is rather capable, but as far as I know it doesn't speak OpenGL, but rather OpenGL ES. These are two related, but different, way of dealing with 3d things.

A way of making Minetest Pi-compatible would be to port it to OpenGL ES, or more precisely to lay upon Irrlicht ogl-es, as soon as it's working.

There's a branch here, if anyone feels like it : https://github.com/kizzx2/irrlicht-ogl-es

Please note that some people predict OpenGL will slowly die and ES will prevail. So it might be useful for normal desktops too, in the end.

There is a working irrlicht ogl-es listed here:
http://irrlicht.sourceforge.net/contributing/

I tried compiling Minetest on the Raspberry Pi and it resulted in tons of linking errors.

PostPosted: Sun Mar 02, 2014 17:10
by Hiradur
Minetest 0.3.1 is in the Raspbian repository. So somebody was able to compile it. But it only uses the software renderer I think.

PostPosted: Mon Mar 03, 2014 14:49
by kaurdump
thanks for this! could someone recommend a one-line script to update this method of install? i use the portable method.

PostPosted: Mon Mar 03, 2014 16:17
by Calinou
kaurdump wrote:thanks for this! could someone recommend a one-line script to update this method of install? i use the portable method.


Use this:
Your phone or window isn't wide enough to display the code box. If it's a phone, try rotating it to landscape mode.
Code: Select all
cd ~/minetest; git pull; cd src; make -j4

PostPosted: Tue Mar 04, 2014 00:30
by kaurdump
Calinou wrote:
kaurdump wrote:thanks for this! could someone recommend a one-line script to update this method of install? i use the portable method.


Use this:
Your phone or window isn't wide enough to display the code box. If it's a phone, try rotating it to landscape mode.
Code: Select all
cd ~/minetest; git pull; cd src; make -j4


Merci!

PostPosted: Wed Mar 05, 2014 22:07
by testOmine
Thank You - I spend hours on 0.4.7.

. . . . . now I restart the PC . . . .

. . . .

PostPosted: Mon Mar 10, 2014 16:27
by kaurdump
where should the minetest config file be located in the portable install?

PostPosted: Wed Apr 02, 2014 13:01
by grey
Calinou wrote:
kaurdump wrote:thanks for this! could someone recommend a one-line script to update this method of install? i use the portable method.


Use this:
Your phone or window isn't wide enough to display the code box. If it's a phone, try rotating it to landscape mode.
Code: Select all
cd ~/minetest; git pull; cd src; make -j4


Would it be the same for a non-portable install? Or would just runing the whole script over again just work?

PostPosted: Thu Apr 03, 2014 08:32
by Calinou
It's the same, regardless of portable or not, since the game data is located in ~/minetest.

PostPosted: Thu Apr 17, 2014 16:42
by grey
If one wanted to update Minetest, would we just run the same command again?

PostPosted: Thu Apr 17, 2014 17:03
by PilzAdam
grey wrote:If one wanted to update Minetest, would we just run the same command again?

No, you dont have to install the dependencies again and you dont have to clone again. Just git pull in the repo of the engine and minetest_game and run cmake and make again.

PostPosted: Thu Apr 17, 2014 17:43
by sfan5
PilzAdam wrote:
grey wrote:If one wanted to update Minetest, would we just run the same command again?

No, you dont have to install the dependencies again and you dont have to clone again. Just git pull in the repo of the engine and minetest_game and run cmake and make again.

You only need to run make, if the build files are changed CMake is automatically run again.

Re: One-line script for installing Minetest Git, Debian-base

PostPosted: Wed Jun 11, 2014 15:59
by Hiradur
One can slightly improve performane by adding
Your phone or window isn't wide enough to display the code box. If it's a phone, try rotating it to landscape mode.
Code: Select all
-DCMAKE_CXX_FLAGS="-march=native -O3 -pipe"

to cmake arguments. This should especially increase performance on AMD bulldozer based systems.

Note that -pipe only increases compile speed but does not optimize anything. If your compiler goes out of memory then remove -pipe. If your game runs unstable then try -O2 instead of -O3. From my testing -O3 seems to be stable though.

Re: 1-line script for installing Minetest Git, Debian-based

PostPosted: Mon Jul 21, 2014 03:16
by lightonflux
If you need to update several git repo (mods and games etc.), then you can use this line:

Your phone or window isn't wide enough to display the code box. If it's a phone, try rotating it to landscape mode.
Code: Select all
alias rgit='find . -type d -name .git -exec sh -c "cd \"{}\"/../ && pwd && git pull" \;'
to register the rgit alias which will search recursive for git repos and "update" them.



And also the following alias to update and compile minetest.


Your phone or window isn't wide enough to display the code box. If it's a phone, try rotating it to landscape mode.
Code: Select all
minetest-dev-update='cd ~/.minetest-dev && pwd && time rgit && time cmake . -DRUN_IN_PLACE=1 -DENABLE_GETTEXT=1 && time make -j2 && echo Done'

Re: 1-line script for installing Minetest Git, Debian-based

PostPosted: Tue Jul 22, 2014 00:02
by philipbenr
I have a script that is really nice to use. (I use Slackware 14.0, not Ubuntu or anything like that...Anyhow, here :)

Your phone or window isn't wide enough to display the code box. If it's a phone, try rotating it to landscape mode.
Code: Select all
cd minetest
start=`pwd`
for path in `find -name ".git"`; do
  cd $path/..
  echo "updating " $(basename `pwd`)
  git pull
done

echo "building updates"
cd $start
make -j4


This script automatically updates anything you used the git http clone for:
+ "Have to use this: (very big; on accident)"

Put this in a .sh file and run chmod +x filenameyoucalledit.sh
Have it outside your minetest dir and try it; if you met the requirements...

Edit:

Requirements:
Used the git clone function
Compiled MT from source
All mods you want auto updated were downloaded using git clone.
Have this file executable
Outside main minetest dir
You use linux...(Don't know which distro)

That should do it.

Re: 1-line script for installing Minetest Git, Debian-based

PostPosted: Tue Jul 29, 2014 03:38
by Inocudom
The master server list does not show up, but everthing else is fine.

Re: 1-line script for installing Minetest Git, Debian-based

PostPosted: Tue Jul 29, 2014 07:55
by Krock
Inocudom wrote:The master server list does not show up, but everthing else is fine.

Seems like someone forgot the curl library.

Re: [Debian/Ubuntu] 1-line script: install Minetest Git

PostPosted: Sun Nov 23, 2014 08:30
by Calinou
Builds now support LevelDB.

Re: [Debian / Ubuntu] 1-line script: install Minetest Git

PostPosted: Fri Dec 26, 2014 09:59
by Gael de Sailly
I think this topic should be always at the head of the list.

Re: [Debian / Ubuntu] 1-line script: install Minetest Git

PostPosted: Mon Dec 29, 2014 12:41
by indriApollo
When launching minetest via 'minetest' in a terminal (as the Exec in minetest.desktop) the game crashes when I try to display the server list.
Your phone or window isn't wide enough to display the code box. If it's a phone, try rotating it to landscape mode.
Code: Select all
Irrlicht log: Irrlicht Engine version 1.8.1
Irrlicht log: Linux 3.16.0-28-generic #38-Ubuntu SMP Fri Dec 12 17:37:40 UTC 2014 x86_64
Irrlicht log: Using renderer: OpenGL 4.4.0
Irrlicht log: GeForce GTX 650/PCIe/SSE2: NVIDIA Corporation
Irrlicht log: OpenGL driver version is 1.2 or better.
Irrlicht log: GLSL version: 4.4
terminate called after throwing an instance of 'LuaError'
  what():  C++ exception
Abandon (core dumped)



GDB output :
Your phone or window isn't wide enough to display the code box. If it's a phone, try rotating it to landscape mode.
Code: Select all
[Thread 0x7fffdd7fb700 (LWP 6700) exited]
terminate called after throwing an instance of 'LuaError'
  what():  C++ exception

Program received signal SIGABRT, Aborted.
[Switching to Thread 0x7fffdf7fe700 (LWP 6697)]
0x00007ffff50fbd27 in __GI_raise (sig=sig@entry=6)
    at ../nptl/sysdeps/unix/sysv/linux/raise.c:56
56   ../nptl/sysdeps/unix/sysv/linux/raise.c: Aucun fichier ou dossier de ce type.


I have no problems however with :
Your phone or window isn't wide enough to display the code box. If it's a phone, try rotating it to landscape mode.
Code: Select all
cd /home/me/minetest/bin
./minetest

Re: [Debian / Ubuntu] 1-line script: install Minetest Git

PostPosted: Tue Jan 06, 2015 11:34
by indriApollo
Nevermind : I had two minetest installs, one from the repo and the self compiled one. The repo version launched via 'minetet' is outdated.

Re: [Debian / Ubuntu] 1-line script: install Minetest Git

PostPosted: Thu Jan 22, 2015 21:40
by Minetestforfun
Hi,

The package "libluajit-5.1-dev" seems to have problems...

Your phone or window isn't wide enough to display the code box. If it's a phone, try rotating it to landscape mode.
Code: Select all
root@Terre:/Applications# apt-get install git build-essential libirrlicht-dev libgettextpo0 libfreetype6-dev cmake libbz2-dev libpng12-dev libjpeg8-dev libxxf86vm-dev libgl1-mesa-dev libsqlite3-dev libogg-dev libvorbis-dev libopenal-dev libcurl4-openssl-dev libluajit-5.1-dev liblua5.1-0-dev libleveldb-dev
Lecture des listes de paquets... Fait
Construction de l'arbre des dépendances       
Lecture des informations d'état... Fait
E: Impossible de trouver le paquet libluajit-5.1-dev
E: Impossible de trouver de paquet correspondant à l'expression rationnelle « libluajit-5.1-dev »
root@Terre:/Applications#


Your phone or window isn't wide enough to display the code box. If it's a phone, try rotating it to landscape mode.
Code: Select all
root@Terre:/Applications# uname -a
Linux Terre 3.2.0-4-amd64 #1 SMP Debian 3.2.65-1+deb7u1 x86_64 GNU/Linux

Re: [Debian / Ubuntu] 1-line script: install Minetest Git

PostPosted: Fri Jan 23, 2015 17:12
by Calinou
Minetestforfun wrote:Hi,

The package "libluajit-5.1-dev" seems to have problems...


It looks like Debian wheezy does not have it (only in wheezy-backports, jessie and sid).

Re: [Debian / Ubuntu] 1-line script: install Minetest Git

PostPosted: Fri Jan 23, 2015 17:19
by Minetestforfun
Yes,

It solved my problem. I installed Minetest on a fresh and new Debian computer, and i haven't added contrib, non-free, backports repository to my sources.list

Thank you ;)

Re: [Debian / Ubuntu] 1-line script: install Minetest Git

PostPosted: Sun Feb 01, 2015 20:09
by superschizo
Thank you for a way to install the current minetest 0.4.11 in ubuntu 14.10.

In my ubuntu 14.10 64 bit, this doesn't install a launch icon for minetest in the menu bar or search applications function. I can launch minetest by terminal, but I'm not sure my 7 year old will remember the steps or even have terminal access in his standard profile. Is there a way to place a launch icon for minetest on the desktop or menu bar?

Re: [Debian / Ubuntu] 1-line script: install Minetest Git

PostPosted: Mon Feb 02, 2015 00:02
by everamzah
You can make a .desktop file in ~/.local/share/applications. http://standards.freedesktop.org/desktop-entry-spec/latest/apa.html

Re:

PostPosted: Tue Feb 10, 2015 01:09
by roalex543
kaeza wrote:Cool thing. Gonna try it :)

y esta script donde se debe poner o que? no se mucho ingles :/

Re: Re:

PostPosted: Fri Feb 13, 2015 16:55
by superschizo
roalex543 wrote:
kaeza wrote:Cool thing. Gonna try it :)

y esta script donde se debe poner o que? no se mucho ingles :/

No comprende espanol bien, pero si yo comprende esta entonces esta script poner en "Terminal"

Re: [Debian / Ubuntu] 1-line script: install Minetest Git

PostPosted: Fri Feb 13, 2015 17:30
by superschizo
I noticed with the installation of minetest with this script on a fresh installation of Ubuntu 14.10 is that it won't work if the folders don't yet exist. I had to install the old minetest in the normal fashion, remove it with the Ubuntu software center, and then run this script again to make it work.

As for a desktop icon, I had to go to Home/minetest/bin, right click the minetest application, and then copy it to the desktop.