Real-time, Overhead-view, 2D Map - Is It Possible?

LazyJ
Member
 
Posts: 479
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2012 12:29

Real-time, Overhead-view, 2D Map - Is It Possible?

by LazyJ » Thu Jul 03, 2014 06:36

A real-time, ingame map would be nice to have but the file size of the minetestmapper images alone would make it impractical.

Do you remember "Doom" from the late 1990's?

That was a 3D, immersive world game that came on three or four floppy disks. The game had a real-time map function. Granted, the world map was pre-designed so that made things a lot easier. Minetest would require an adaptive worldmap.

Back on point... the ingame map of Doom was a very basic, colored, single-line, 2D shapes on a black background. The player and their facing direction was represented by an arrow.

Image


I wonder if such a map would be possible in Minetest with some front work by the players?

Sokomine's Travelnet mod sets up a network of linked booths that players can use to travel from one booth to another.

Take that particular network concept, apply it so a special node or set of nodes (depending on what they would represent in the map) that can be placed, and all those nodes "network" to create two or more points in a line that the ingame mapper would detect and use to generate the 2D, above-view map.

That's the rough idea, anyway.
.: Minetest 0.4.14 ~ Linux Mint ~ A moka pot, a French press, a dirty coffee cup, and a spoiled-rotten kitty :.
Visit our Minetest server at: LinuxGaming2.com, port 30000
Screenshots, overview maps, and server info at: http://forum.minetest.net/viewtopic.php?f=10&t=5684
My blog: http://lazyjminetest.blogspot.com/
 

User avatar
RHR
Member
 
Posts: 214
Joined: Mon Jan 27, 2014 20:07
GitHub: RHRhino

Re: Real-time, Overhead-view, 2D Map - Is It Possible?

by RHR » Thu Jul 03, 2014 07:43

Honestly I don't know how minetestmapper work and if a real-time ingame map is possible, but a comparison of minetest and doom is irrelevant.
Minetest is a full 3D game while Doom is a pseudo-3D game (maps, tiles, sprites are 2D but the game looks like 3D because of smart mathematics ^^ ). In Doom maps are looking like this which is very simple to convert to a map (e.g. 1 is a solid wall which is a red pixel)
Your phone or window isn't wide enough to display the code box. If it's a phone, try rotating it to landscape mode.
Code: Select all
map={
  {1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1},
  {1,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,1},
  {1,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,1},
  {1,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,1},
  {1,0,0,0,0,0,2,2,2,2,2,0,0,0,0,3,0,3,0,3,0,0,0,1},
  {1,0,0,0,0,0,2,0,0,0,2,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,1},
  {1,0,0,0,0,0,2,0,0,0,2,0,0,0,0,3,0,0,0,3,0,0,0,1},
  {1,0,0,0,0,0,2,0,0,0,2,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,1},
  {1,0,0,0,0,0,2,2,0,2,2,0,0,0,0,3,0,3,0,3,0,0,0,1},
  {1,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,1},
  {1,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,1},
  {1,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,1},
  {1,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,1},
  {1,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,1},
  {1,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,1},
  {1,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,1},
  {1,4,4,4,4,4,4,4,4,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,1},
  {1,4,0,4,0,0,0,0,4,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,1},
  {1,4,0,0,0,0,5,0,4,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,1},
  {1,4,0,4,0,0,0,0,4,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,1},
  {1,4,0,4,4,4,4,4,4,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,1},
  {1,4,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,1},
  {1,4,4,4,4,4,4,4,4,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,1},
  {1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1}
};


Minetest doesn't store it's mapdata that simple, so it is more dificult to create a map. For example which nodes should be defined as walls? You can use all solid nodes to create a building and walls.
You should also remember that most games have a map, which does not change. So they only have to update player and enemy positions. A minetest map can be changed entirely, so the map has to update everything.
Another point is that the minetestmapper I tested was quite slow. I tooks several seconds to render a map of ~1500x1500px if that would happen ingame the game would be not playable, because of lags.
I hope this answer is a bit helpfull. Maybe minetest developers find a nice way to create ingame maps! ^^
 

User avatar
Evergreen
Member
 
Posts: 2131
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 01:22
GitHub: 4Evergreen4
IRC: EvergreenTree
In-game: Evergreen

Re: Real-time, Overhead-view, 2D Map - Is It Possible?

by Evergreen » Thu Jul 03, 2014 12:05

Use gsmapper.
 

User avatar
Calinou
Member
 
Posts: 3124
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2011 14:26
GitHub: Calinou
IRC: Calinou
In-game: Calinou

Re: Real-time, Overhead-view, 2D Map - Is It Possible?

by Calinou » Thu Jul 03, 2014 16:03

It's possible for sure.

You may start looking at a Minecraft mod which does it and has available source code, for reference.

There's also the gsmapper C++ mod for Minetest.

LazyJ wrote:Do you remember "Doom" from the late 1990's?


Late 1993, actually.
 

User avatar
Inocudom
Member
 
Posts: 2889
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2012 01:14
IRC: Inocudom
In-game: Inocudom

Re: Real-time, Overhead-view, 2D Map - Is It Possible?

by Inocudom » Thu Jul 03, 2014 16:04

Krock wrote:gsmapper build, 2014-07-01
With a minimap on the screen.

Download (Dropbox)

Post nr 1337! Enjoy.

Try this build that Krock made.
 

Sokomine
Member
 
Posts: 2980
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2012 17:31

Re: Real-time, Overhead-view, 2D Map - Is It Possible?

by Sokomine » Thu Jul 03, 2014 19:04

The trouble with the nice overview images minetestmapper generates is not limited to their size alone. They're far too detailed to act as maps. Maps are abstractions, not sattelite photos of the world. What players need to know is where they can find points of intrest: Villages, roads, their own structures, entrances to mines, noteworthy buildings, shops, other players (which tend to move around), ..

Marking roads with a special block (or special tool?) and displaying those on the overview map sounds like a good idea. Perhaps showing protected areas might help as well (many protected areas = high probability that it's something worth looking at).

The background image for all those dynamically added lines, points and rectangles could be a very scaled-down and blurred image generated by Minetestmapper and updated whenever the server is restarted.
A list of my mods can be found here.
 

User avatar
Inocudom
Member
 
Posts: 2889
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2012 01:14
IRC: Inocudom
In-game: Inocudom

Re: Real-time, Overhead-view, 2D Map - Is It Possible?

by Inocudom » Thu Jul 03, 2014 19:12

Inocudom wrote:I am guessing that there won't be any activity with this until autumn comes around. Too bad this feature isn't talked about very much. I guess most people either don't know about this, or don't care. Don't they know that this will make navigating worlds easier, or is that why they don't know/care about it?

I guess what I said in the topic for gsmapper really is true.
 

User avatar
Calinou
Member
 
Posts: 3124
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2011 14:26
GitHub: Calinou
IRC: Calinou
In-game: Calinou

Re: Real-time, Overhead-view, 2D Map - Is It Possible?

by Calinou » Thu Jul 03, 2014 19:36

Sokomine wrote:The trouble with the nice overview images minetestmapper generates is not limited to their size alone. They're far too detailed to act as maps. Maps are abstractions, not sattelite photos of the world. What players need to know is where they can find points of intrest: Villages, roads, their own structures, entrances to mines, noteworthy buildings, shops, other players (which tend to move around), ..

Marking roads with a special block (or special tool?) and displaying those on the overview map sounds like a good idea. Perhaps showing protected areas might help as well (many protected areas = high probability that it's something worth looking at).

The background image for all those dynamically added lines, points and rectangles could be a very scaled-down and blurred image generated by Minetestmapper and updated whenever the server is restarted.


Resize a generated map to a smaller size, maybe?
 

Sokomine
Member
 
Posts: 2980
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2012 17:31

Re: Real-time, Overhead-view, 2D Map - Is It Possible?

by Sokomine » Thu Jul 03, 2014 23:12

Calinou wrote:Resize a generated map to a smaller size, maybe?

That might help, yes. Can anyone try on a large server map?
A list of my mods can be found here.
 

User avatar
Evergreen
Member
 
Posts: 2131
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 01:22
GitHub: 4Evergreen4
IRC: EvergreenTree
In-game: Evergreen

Re: Real-time, Overhead-view, 2D Map - Is It Possible?

by Evergreen » Fri Jul 04, 2014 14:32

Inocudom wrote:
Inocudom wrote:I am guessing that there won't be any activity with this until autumn comes around. Too bad this feature isn't talked about very much. I guess most people either don't know about this, or don't care. Don't they know that this will make navigating worlds easier, or is that why they don't know/care about it?

I guess what I said in the topic for gsmapper really is true.

Why is everyone discussing about how to do it when It's already been done? Grr.
 

User avatar
Inocudom
Member
 
Posts: 2889
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2012 01:14
IRC: Inocudom
In-game: Inocudom

Re: Real-time, Overhead-view, 2D Map - Is It Possible?

by Inocudom » Mon Jul 07, 2014 18:26

This happened in the topic for gsmapper today:
Inocudom wrote:
gsmanners wrote:Still works for me, though I'm dropping this. It seems that there's just not enough interest in this, which is a shame. Feel free to fork it or whatever. It is open source and I honestly don't care what you do with it.

I knew that this would be the fate of gsmapper. I don't know of anyone who could or would continue work on it.

To me, this is bad news, but to some, this is good news.
 

emugod
Member
 
Posts: 33
Joined: Tue Aug 13, 2013 19:49

Re: Real-time, Overhead-view, 2D Map - Is It Possible?

by emugod » Tue Jul 08, 2014 00:33

A big problem in minetest would be, where's the 'top'? It's a fully 3D environment, and gameplay is highly vertical. A map showing just a top-down view of the surface (from worldheight cast down to the first solid block), would be very possible, and in fact exists (a few different mods for minecraft, plus the official maps which work this way, plus i'm pretty sure this is how gsmapper works?). But it wouldn't actually be very useful or good. Most true full-3D games even with prebuilt maps struggle with this problem. You could do something like casting out from the player to solve this, maybe, but I suspect that would be far too resource intensive.
 

thetoon
Member
 
Posts: 106
Joined: Tue Dec 11, 2012 12:55

Re: Real-time, Overhead-view, 2D Map - Is It Possible?

by thetoon » Tue Jul 08, 2014 11:49

emugod wrote:gameplay is highly vertical


{{Citation needed}}
 

Sokomine
Member
 
Posts: 2980
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2012 17:31

Re: Real-time, Overhead-view, 2D Map - Is It Possible?

by Sokomine » Tue Jul 08, 2014 15:25

emugod wrote:It's a fully 3D environment, and gameplay is highly vertical.

Only in theory. For most players and maps, 2d overview maps work quite well. If in doubt, add an additional layer for that sky town overthere and figure out a way to map that cave town. But overall, only a slim slice of the height is actually used.
A list of my mods can be found here.
 

User avatar
Calinou
Member
 
Posts: 3124
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2011 14:26
GitHub: Calinou
IRC: Calinou
In-game: Calinou

Re: Real-time, Overhead-view, 2D Map - Is It Possible?

by Calinou » Tue Jul 08, 2014 16:14

Depth mapping can be done, to show higher areas as brighter and lower areas as darker. Such a thing should be configurable by the player.
 

User avatar
Inocudom
Member
 
Posts: 2889
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2012 01:14
IRC: Inocudom
In-game: Inocudom

Re: Real-time, Overhead-view, 2D Map - Is It Possible?

by Inocudom » Tue Jul 08, 2014 16:21

Inocudom wrote:This happened in the topic for gsmapper today:
Inocudom wrote:
gsmanners wrote:Still works for me, though I'm dropping this. It seems that there's just not enough interest in this, which is a shame. Feel free to fork it or whatever. It is open source and I honestly don't care what you do with it.

I knew that this would be the fate of gsmapper. I don't know of anyone who could or would continue work on it.

To me, this is bad news, but to some, this is good news.

Depth mapping can be done because gsmapper can be configured to do it:
Amaz wrote:To show caves, add hud_map_above = false to minetest.conf, rather buggy... Not sure if you mean it doesn't scroll when you move, if so, hud_map_tracking=1 in minetest.conf (Even buggier!)
And it seems to update the map without scrolling, for me...

See?
 


Return to Minetest Features

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests

cron