Map Limitations

User avatar
Gambit
Member
 
Posts: 452
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2011 19:31

Map Limitations

by Gambit » Sat Oct 13, 2012 05:47

I know that MineTest has an infinite-world block setup and everyone here is proud of that. However, what if someone (say myself) wanted to limit that maps' ratio? A built-in feature that does not require an average user to recompile.

Now before anyone goes on and post things such as "do not want", "-200", or any other phrases that contradicts open source; This is an optional choice for the owner of that map.

More options the better.

When the player creates a new world, there could be a select option to allow you to adjust the size of the map. Perhaps even how far up the sky you can be or how far underground you can go.

The invisible wall will most likely rest on the water to keep people from trying to go out. Also no new land will generate outside the invisible wall so it'll only show infinite sea. Also land inside the playable space should generate far enough away from the wall to avoid islands or mountain getting sliced.

So let's say I wanted to start a Hunger Games Server. Instead of building a huge wall on each corner around the playing field, I could create a new map with 300 x 300. Or if I wanted to make an adventure map that didn't require all that space such as an island survival challenge that is 50 x 50.

I just thought it would an excellent feature to have in MineTest.
Last edited by Gambit on Sat Oct 13, 2012 19:38, edited 1 time in total.
Current Projects: MineToon | PixelBOX
Gambit's Checkmate Server - 43.65.296.232 - port: 30001
 

User avatar
Calinou
Member
 
Posts: 3124
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2011 14:26
GitHub: Calinou
IRC: Calinou
In-game: Calinou

by Calinou » Sat Oct 13, 2012 05:51

You can easily make that with a Lua mod... see the Bedrock mod.
 

User avatar
Gambit
Member
 
Posts: 452
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2011 19:31

by Gambit » Sat Oct 13, 2012 05:59

Yes, but I'm not suggesting a mod. I'm more so advocating it be part of the engine by default and as user friendly as possible.

Think of it as opening a new project in Gimp and how they have a dialog box with the current sizes. Users can choose to easily input the size they want or leave it as infinite.
Current Projects: MineToon | PixelBOX
Gambit's Checkmate Server - 43.65.296.232 - port: 30001
 

User avatar
nomohakon
Member
 
Posts: 207
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2012 16:34
IRC: nomohakon
In-game: nomohakon

by nomohakon » Sat Oct 13, 2012 14:36

+1 This could be very useful! Especialy on slower PC's.
"To learn who rules over you, simply find out who you are not allowed to criticize." - Voltaire
"Knowledge, like air, is vital to life. Like air, no one should be denied it." - Alan Moore, V for Vendetta
- - -
"To never die... and to conquer all, that is winning." ―Illyria
 

User avatar
Menche
Member
 
Posts: 994
Joined: Sat Jul 02, 2011 00:43

by Menche » Sat Oct 13, 2012 15:02

I have done that, but it requires recompiling. Find this line the source file constants.h, currently line 63:
Your phone or window isn't wide enough to display the code box. If it's a phone, try rotating it to landscape mode.
Code: Select all
#define MAP_GENERATION_LIMIT (31000)

Just change 31000 to whatever number you want, then of course recompile. The actual map limits will be slightly lower for some reason.
Last edited by Menche on Sat Oct 13, 2012 15:02, edited 1 time in total.
An innocent kitten dies every time you top-post.
I am on the Voxelands Forums more often than here.
Try Voxelands (forked from Minetest 0.3) by darkrose
 

User avatar
PilzAdam
Member
 
Posts: 4026
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 16:19
GitHub: PilzAdam
IRC: PilzAdam

by PilzAdam » Sat Oct 13, 2012 15:09

nomohakon wrote:+1 This could be very useful! Especialy on slower PC's.

This it not useful for slow PCs.
 

User avatar
nomohakon
Member
 
Posts: 207
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2012 16:34
IRC: nomohakon
In-game: nomohakon

by nomohakon » Sat Oct 13, 2012 16:38

It is useful when PC is slowed down by harddisk. For example, i have old 6GB harddisk (little slow piece of Sith).
"To learn who rules over you, simply find out who you are not allowed to criticize." - Voltaire
"Knowledge, like air, is vital to life. Like air, no one should be denied it." - Alan Moore, V for Vendetta
- - -
"To never die... and to conquer all, that is winning." ―Illyria
 

User avatar
cHyper
Member
 
Posts: 587
Joined: Fri May 06, 2011 08:49
IRC: cHyper
In-game: cHyper

by cHyper » Sat Oct 13, 2012 16:43

Menche wrote:I have done that, but it requires recompiling. Find this line the source file constants.h, currently line 63:
Your phone or window isn't wide enough to display the code box. If it's a phone, try rotating it to landscape mode.
Code: Select all
#define MAP_GENERATION_LIMIT (31000)

Just change 31000 to whatever number you want, then of course recompile. The actual map limits will be slightly lower for some reason.



can somebody make a minetest-version with highter Map-Limit for fast computers... (win32)....

thanxs....
--------------------------------------------------------
 

User avatar
Gambit
Member
 
Posts: 452
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2011 19:31

by Gambit » Sun Oct 14, 2012 11:19

can somebody make a minetest-version with highter Map-Limit for fast computers... (win32)....

thanxs....


Wrong thread.
Current Projects: MineToon | PixelBOX
Gambit's Checkmate Server - 43.65.296.232 - port: 30001
 

cornernote
Member
 
Posts: 844
Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2012 15:02

by cornernote » Sun Oct 14, 2012 12:03

nomohakon wrote:It is useful when PC is slowed down by harddisk. For example, i have old 6GB harddisk (little slow piece of Sith).


Is it faster with less blocks? I would have thought it wouldnt make much difference once the SQLite indexes are loaded into ram.
 

Sokomine
Member
 
Posts: 2980
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2012 17:31

by Sokomine » Sun Oct 14, 2012 14:11

I got the impression that servers lag more when one enters new areas which have to be generated first. It may be due to mods that place all kind of desirable things (flowers etc.) on newly generated ground. But I may be mistaken.
A list of my mods can be found here.
 

User avatar
nomohakon
Member
 
Posts: 207
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2012 16:34
IRC: nomohakon
In-game: nomohakon

by nomohakon » Sun Oct 14, 2012 14:30

Yes, a lot faster. That is the reason for building this:
Image
All in one place without unnecesary blocks.

Edit: ...unnecesary blocks in sight i mean.
Last edited by nomohakon on Sun Oct 14, 2012 14:32, edited 1 time in total.
"To learn who rules over you, simply find out who you are not allowed to criticize." - Voltaire
"Knowledge, like air, is vital to life. Like air, no one should be denied it." - Alan Moore, V for Vendetta
- - -
"To never die... and to conquer all, that is winning." ―Illyria
 

CTMN
Member
 
Posts: 113
Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2012 15:02

by CTMN » Sun Oct 14, 2012 17:29

Such stone walls r often generated. It´s the seed, not the mods.
 

User avatar
Tedypig
Member
 
Posts: 284
Joined: Tue Mar 05, 2013 12:33
IRC: Piggybear87
In-game: Piggybear

by Tedypig » Thu Mar 14, 2013 01:39

When you are at the 'single player/create world' screen there is a configure button. Why not utilize it with map sizes and types, turn mods on / off, stuff like that? I know in 0.4.4 it just said "nothing to do" or something, now it doesn't, I guess it works now.
01010100 01100101 01100100 01111001 01110000 01101001 01100111
 

lord_james
Member
 
Posts: 51
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2012 22:06

by lord_james » Thu Mar 14, 2013 15:20

+200

I think that it's cool add a menu for world generation. It's nice add features like the restriction of the world's size.
 

User avatar
Gambit
Member
 
Posts: 452
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2011 19:31

by Gambit » Sat Sep 07, 2013 22:03

Since this topic was brought up back in 0.4.4, but now with 0.4.7 and 0.4.8 coming soon what are the conditions for this type of feature?
Last edited by sfan5 on Sun Sep 08, 2013 06:06, edited 1 time in total.
Current Projects: MineToon | PixelBOX
Gambit's Checkmate Server - 43.65.296.232 - port: 30001
 

paramat
Member
 
Posts: 2662
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2012 00:05
GitHub: paramat

by paramat » Sun Sep 08, 2013 01:02

The future mapgen V7 is intended to have 3 types of definable realms: sky realm, surface and underworld, but these are meant to be reachable physically.

It's an excellent idea to have horizontal dividers that could seal off the realms in the realm stack that are meant to be other dimensions only reachable by portal. I hadn't thought of vertical dividers too, since each realm in the realm stack usually extends to the world's edge in all 4 directions.

It would be good if these invisible impassable barriers show only air even if there are nodes actually stored just behind the barrier.
I rely on donations to help provide an income https://forum.minetest.net/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=14935
 

User avatar
Gambit
Member
 
Posts: 452
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2011 19:31

by Gambit » Sun Sep 15, 2013 00:34

paramat wrote:The future mapgen V7 is intended to have 3 types of definable realms: sky realm, surface and underworld, but these are meant to be reachable physically.

It's an excellent idea to have horizontal dividers that could seal off the realms in the realm stack that are meant to be other dimensions only reachable by portal. I hadn't thought of vertical dividers too, since each realm in the realm stack usually extends to the world's edge in all 4 directions.

It would be good if these invisible impassable barriers show only air even if there are nodes actually stored just behind the barrier.


I like the vertical concept, especially the underworld. Perhaps a player who digs 30000 deep might fall into the abyss and chased by evil things.

What does this mapgen V7 do or is this all that is designed for?
Current Projects: MineToon | PixelBOX
Gambit's Checkmate Server - 43.65.296.232 - port: 30001
 

paramat
Member
 
Posts: 2662
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2012 00:05
GitHub: paramat

by paramat » Sun Sep 15, 2013 01:17

If you're interested enough in MGV7 search the last few months of IRC logs minetest-dev channel for hmmm's posts especially, he doesn't post here much but he's the mapgen dev.
I rely on donations to help provide an income https://forum.minetest.net/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=14935
 


Return to Minetest Features

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron