ERROR__memory is not enough

fooljap
Member
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Jun 05, 2015 05:55
In-game: fooljap

ERROR__memory is not enough

by fooljap » Sun Jul 05, 2015 02:31

My minetest game is finished forcibly because that said memory is not enough.
But my PC has 16GB Physical memory & 16.8GB Virtual memory. (64bit_windows8.1_core i7)
The memory management of this game is too too terrible if said that memory is lacking in it with this performance.
It is a cause that I put a large quantity of MOD in a game, but is played a dull game without MOD.
How about all of development teams, or would you improve the issue of memory by some means or other?
 

User avatar
Krock
Member
 
Posts: 3598
Joined: Thu Oct 03, 2013 07:48
GitHub: SmallJoker

Re: ERROR__memory is not enough

by Krock » Sun Jul 05, 2015 07:04

I think you use a 64 bit version - how much memory does it occupy? (Task manager)

A screenshot of that message could be helpful.
Newest Win32 builds - Find a mod - All my mods
ALL YOUR DONATION ARE BELONG TO PARAMAT (Please support him and Minetest)
New DuckDuckGo !bang: !mtmod <keyword here>
 

fooljap
Member
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Jun 05, 2015 05:55
In-game: fooljap

Re: ERROR__memory is not enough

by fooljap » Sun Jul 05, 2015 09:22

up to neary 3GB memory & shatdown all over !!
Your phone or window isn't wide enough to display the code box. If it's a phone, try rotating it to landscape mode.
Code: Select all
2015-06-24 20:34:31: ERROR[ServerThread]: Item "homedecor:tatami_mat" not defined
2015-06-24 21:26:58: ERROR[main]: UNRECOVERABLE error occurred. Stopping server. Please fix the following error:
2015-06-24 21:26:58: ERROR[main]: not enough memory

In thread a70:
..\..\minetest\src\server.cpp:505: Server::step: A fatal error occurred: not enough memory
Debug stacks:
DEBUG STACK FOR THREAD 8e4:
#0 ServerThread::Thread
#1 Server::Receive
(Leftover data: #2 Server::SendBlocks)
(Leftover data: #3 RemoteClient::GetNextBlocks)
(Leftover data: #4 ItemStack::serialize)
(Leftover data: #5 getCraftingResult)
(Leftover data: #6 ItemStack::deSerialize)
(Leftover data: #7 ItemStack::deSerialize)
DEBUG STACK FOR THREAD a70:
#0 main
#1 Server::step
(Leftover data: #2 ClientEnvironment::step)
(Leftover data: #3 Client::Receive)
(Leftover data: #4 Client::ProcessData)
(Leftover data: #5 MeshUpdateQueue::addBlock)
DEBUG STACK FOR THREAD ea8:
#0 MeshUpdateThread::Thread
DEBUG STACK FOR THREAD fd4:
#0 EmergeThread::Thread
(Leftover data: #1 ServerMap::loadBlock)
(Leftover data: #2 ServerMap::loadBlock)
(Leftover data: #3 ServerMap::loadBlock)
 

User avatar
TenPlus1
Member
 
Posts: 1874
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2013 13:38
GitHub: tenplus1

Re: ERROR__memory is not enough

by TenPlus1 » Sun Jul 05, 2015 10:12

Add these lines to the end of your minetest.conf file to clean up some of the memory while running Minetest:

Your phone or window isn't wide enough to display the code box. If it's a phone, try rotating it to landscape mode.
Code: Select all
item_entity_ttl = 180
server_unload_unused_data_timeout = 60
client_unload_unused_data_timeout = 60
ignore_world_load_errors = true
enable_mesh_cache = false
enable_minimap = true
 

fooljap
Member
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Jun 05, 2015 05:55
In-game: fooljap

Re: ERROR__memory is not enough

by fooljap » Sun Jul 05, 2015 10:47

TenPlus1 wrote:Add these lines to the end of your minetest.conf file to clean up some of the memory while running Minetest:

Your phone or window isn't wide enough to display the code box. If it's a phone, try rotating it to landscape mode.
Code: Select all
item_entity_ttl = 180
server_unload_unused_data_timeout = 60
client_unload_unused_data_timeout = 60
ignore_world_load_errors = true
enable_mesh_cache = false
enable_minimap = true


Added these lines to the end of my minetest.conf
Because game setting changed, I see a state for a while. Thank you for an answers.
 

dannyplaysminetest
Member
 
Posts: 37
Joined: Sun Jun 28, 2015 19:20
In-game: Danny

Re: ERROR__memory is not enough

by dannyplaysminetest » Wed Jul 15, 2015 20:46

TenPlus1 wrote:Add these lines to the end of your minetest.conf file to clean up some of the memory while running Minetest:

Your phone or window isn't wide enough to display the code box. If it's a phone, try rotating it to landscape mode.
Code: Select all
item_entity_ttl = 180
server_unload_unused_data_timeout = 60
client_unload_unused_data_timeout = 60
ignore_world_load_errors = true
enable_mesh_cache = false
enable_minimap = true


Thanks i modified this snippet a little to suit my needs :

item_entity_ttl = 60 <---- i don´t need more than 60 seconds to kill a sheep ;-)
server_unload_unused_data_timeout = 60
client_unload_unused_data_timeout = 60
enable_mesh_cache = false

My computer is slow and the last 3 lines of script makes sense for me to use as is, however, today i spotted a Media Cache folder inside the MineTest mainfolder, that contains over 9.000 files with file names similair like this : 3235hj35gh34g5hj25g3254 and no extension, can i just dellete all items from that Media cache folder and use a line in the config file like : enable_media_cache = false
in order to disable minetest from storing data into the media cache folder?

i make a backup of my minetest folder, and then i just try it... i might be back in a bit.. ;-)

Done testing! delleted whole content of the Cache Media folder, as expected the game just starts as normal and it just puts new data into the Media Cache folder, now there is 5000+ less (unused old) files in that folder wich saves me some time each time i backup my minetest folder as a Tar.gz file ;-)
I did not add : enable_media_cache = false to the config file since i doubt it wil work in the way i want..
 

User avatar
sfan5
Member
 
Posts: 3636
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 09:44
GitHub: sfan5
IRC: sfan5

Re: ERROR__memory is not enough

by sfan5 » Fri Jul 17, 2015 19:14

*sigh*
Your phone or window isn't wide enough to display the code box. If it's a phone, try rotating it to landscape mode.
Code: Select all
item_entity_ttl = 180
server_unload_unused_data_timeout = 60
client_unload_unused_data_timeout = 60
ignore_world_load_errors = true
enable_mesh_cache = false
enable_minimap = true

The last three settings don't make any sense for this:
ignore_world_load_errors is not a good idea if you don't need it and might actually damage your map.
enable_mesh_cache is disabled by default anyway, setting it to false won't change anything.
enable_minimap doesn't have any effect on memory usage at all (actually it probably even uses more memory).
Mods: Mesecons | WorldEdit | Nuke
Minetest builds for Windows (32-bit & 64-bit)
 

paramat
Member
 
Posts: 2662
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2012 00:05
GitHub: paramat

Re: ERROR__memory is not enough

by paramat » Fri Jul 17, 2015 21:10

We currently have a memory leak problem, and are working on it.
 

est31
Member
 
Posts: 172
Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2014 01:49

Re: ERROR__memory is not enough

by est31 » Sat Jul 18, 2015 23:30

enable_mesh_cache has only been disabled lately. Its default on for 0.4.12. Setting it to false (where it defaults to true) can indeed reduce memory usage (see github issue for more talk about it).

Agreed, ignore_world_load_errors and enable_minimap don't have anything to do with memory usage.
 


Return to Minetest Problems

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests

cron