Nodes can not be placed on slabs

User avatar
Sergey
Member
 
Posts: 362
Joined: Wed Jan 11, 2017 13:28

Nodes can not be placed on slabs

by Sergey » Fri Mar 03, 2017 17:44

Wooden plank and corresponding wooden slab nearby.
Sand can not be placed on slab.

Image
Attachments
screenshot_20170303_204122.png
screenshot_20170303_204122.png (911.36 KiB) Viewed 5603 times
 

twoelk
Member
 
Posts: 1092
Joined: Fri Apr 19, 2013 16:19

Re: Objects can not be placed on slabs

by twoelk » Fri Mar 03, 2017 17:57

that is how voxel games work.
one node in one position at a time.
the slab is occupying the whole 1*1m node with the upper half being air.
You are requesting for the sand to occupy the same positition as it cannot be half in the lower and half in the upper node. The node grid the map information is stored in is 1*1m, that is hardcoded into the engine.

This is the same reason why placing torches, papyrus or slabs underwater displaces a complete cube of water.
This is simply how most voxelbased games work.
 

User avatar
Sergey
Member
 
Posts: 362
Joined: Wed Jan 11, 2017 13:28

Re: Objects can not be placed on slabs

by Sergey » Fri Mar 03, 2017 18:04

twoelk wrote:that is how voxel games work.
one node in one position at a time.
the slab is occupying the whole 1*1m node with the upper half being air.
You are requesting for the sand to occupy the same positition as it cannot be half in the lower and half in the upper node. The node grid the map information is stored in is 1*1m, that is hardcoded into the engine.

This is the same reason why placing torches, papyrus or slabs underwater displaces a complete cube of water.
This is simply how most voxelbased games work.

But nevertheless the player "feels" the half of cube. Being on slab, player is half meter higher, not 1 meter higher.
 

User avatar
Wuzzy
Member
 
Posts: 2161
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2012 15:01
GitHub: Wuzzy2
IRC: Wuzzy
In-game: Wuzzy

Re: Nodes can not be placed on slabs

by Wuzzy » Sat Mar 04, 2017 03:44

Your claim is not entirely true. You can actually place a slab on another slab (as long they are equal) to form a full block.
For everything else, this doesn't work as you want to. Technicaly, you CAN place blocks on top of the slab, but only on the voxel above the slab's voxel. Those are the rules.

But what do you want? How do you suggest to “fix” this?
Do you want the sand block to be half inside the voxel occupied by the wooden slab, and half in the voxel above it? Sorry, this would be breaking THE core rule of all voxel games like Minetest Game: Only one “thing” per voxel. This rule is very crucial to the gameplay. It's not going to changed.
I'm creating MineClone 2, a Minecraft clone for Minetest.
I made the Help modpack, adding in-game help to Minetest.
 

User avatar
TumeniNodes
Member
 
Posts: 1335
Joined: Fri Feb 26, 2016 19:49
GitHub: TumeniNodes

Re: Nodes can not be placed on slabs

by TumeniNodes » Sat Mar 04, 2017 06:01

comboblock

stack slabs

I would recommend the first mod, pithy's

edit: woops, sorry the link for pithy's comboblocks is here
Flick?... Flick who?
 

User avatar
sorcerykid
Member
 
Posts: 219
Joined: Fri Aug 26, 2016 15:36
In-game: Nemo

Re: Nodes can not be placed on slabs

by sorcerykid » Sat Mar 04, 2017 09:19

"Nodes can not be placed on slabs"

That awkward moment when slabs are nodes.
 

christoferlevich
Member
 
Posts: 55
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2016 23:44

Re: Nodes can not be placed on slabs

by christoferlevich » Sat Mar 04, 2017 12:12

I was recently creating a 'realistic' model of a local building in Minetest and had a similar issue trying to duplicate a brick and cement pattern. If you are looking for a cosmetic effect and you'll use it for a large number of blocks, create a custom block with the texture representing the 'half slab half node. It isn't a perfect solution, and I wouldn't make a custom block for single use, but when using hundreds of '2/3 brick 1/3 cement blocks, creating a custom block works great for me. I have a 'mod' that's really nothing more than a generic container for a half dozen or so custom blocks I had to create. I hope this helps. (BTW - isn't the player character able to stand on a slap and be in 'two nodes' at once because it is an 'entity' or something like that?)
 

User avatar
Sergey
Member
 
Posts: 362
Joined: Wed Jan 11, 2017 13:28

Re: Nodes can not be placed on slabs

by Sergey » Sat Mar 04, 2017 13:59

Wuzzy wrote:Do you want the sand block to be half inside the voxel occupied by the wooden slab, and half in the voxel above it?

Yes.
 

User avatar
Sergey
Member
 
Posts: 362
Joined: Wed Jan 11, 2017 13:28

Re: Nodes can not be placed on slabs

by Sergey » Sat Mar 04, 2017 14:03

sorcerykid wrote:"Nodes can not be placed on slabs"

That awkward moment when slabs are nodes.

That is awkward indeed. I see air. I see emptiness. Why should I think of it as something solid? I see it and understand that it could be occupied with something I place there.
Slab is optical illusion.
 

User avatar
burli
Member
 
Posts: 1313
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2015 13:18

Re: Nodes can not be placed on slabs

by burli » Sat Mar 04, 2017 14:20

Even a slab is a full node and you can't place nodes on "half" positions
 

User avatar
Sergey
Member
 
Posts: 362
Joined: Wed Jan 11, 2017 13:28

Re: Nodes can not be placed on slabs

by Sergey » Sat Mar 04, 2017 14:29

burli wrote:Even a slab is a full node and you can't place nodes on "half" positions

Why can player be on "half" positions?

Image
Last edited by Sergey on Sat Mar 04, 2017 14:32, edited 1 time in total.
 

User avatar
burli
Member
 
Posts: 1313
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2015 13:18

Re: Nodes can not be placed on slabs

by burli » Sat Mar 04, 2017 14:55

Because players aren't nodes. Would look a bit odd if a player "jumps" from node position to node position
 

User avatar
sorcerykid
Member
 
Posts: 219
Joined: Fri Aug 26, 2016 15:36
In-game: Nemo

Re: Nodes can not be placed on slabs

by sorcerykid » Sat Mar 04, 2017 15:05

A player is an object not a node.

Think of 3D voxel engines like the old gaming consoles that used 2D tiles and sprites. You could not position tiles outside of the grid. Only sprites could be moved independently.

Image
 

User avatar
TumeniNodes
Member
 
Posts: 1335
Joined: Fri Feb 26, 2016 19:49
GitHub: TumeniNodes

Re: Nodes can not be placed on slabs

by TumeniNodes » Sat Mar 04, 2017 16:45

so there you go..., make a 1+1/2 object... which pretends to be a node ; )

If you use pithy's comboblocks, you can use the two slabs combo you want, then place a full node of the top slab atop it... (solved). Thank you for shopping with us, have a nice day :D
Flick?... Flick who?
 


Return to Minetest Problems

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests

cron