Page 1 of 1

mods ?

PostPosted: Wed Apr 25, 2012 09:46
by fullbuster93
i don't know if someone had the same probleme , but i can't add new mod .
it tell me that I don't have the permission
what should I do to have the permission ?

PostPosted: Wed Apr 25, 2012 11:00
by Calinou
Don't put your Minetest folder in Program Files, if you're on Windows.
If you're on Linux, if you use a packaged version, put the mods in .minetest (in your home folder, you might have to create the folder) then in "mods" folder.

PostPosted: Wed Apr 25, 2012 11:20
by fullbuster93
i can find the mod folder in .minetest

PostPosted: Wed Apr 25, 2012 11:25
by cosarara97
Then make it :)

PostPosted: Wed Apr 25, 2012 11:38
by fullbuster93
i create the folder , put a door mod , but i don't work
any suggestion ?

PostPosted: Wed Apr 25, 2012 12:31
by Calinou
There are already doors in the official game.
Also, I wasn't specific enough (sorry) - mods should be in "~/.minetest/mods/minetest", then you put the mod folders there (they should contain init.lua and all that stuff).

PostPosted: Wed Apr 25, 2012 15:02
by fullbuster93
it still not work
and everything is done like you said

PostPosted: Wed Apr 25, 2012 16:55
by Death Dealer
Access permission errors are the video driver. Try editing you .conf with a open gl as your selected driver. This error has nothing to do with mod or modding.

PostPosted: Wed Apr 25, 2012 21:02
by fullbuster93
i don't understand
can you explain

PostPosted: Wed Apr 25, 2012 21:52
by Menche
Uh, a permission error could be related to trying to install a mod where you don't have write privilege, for example /usr where the game is installed.

PostPosted: Wed Apr 25, 2012 23:47
by Death Dealer
Menche wrote:Uh, a permission error could be related to trying to install a mod where you don't have write privilege, for example /usr where the game is installed.

Every time I've encountered it that was the problem.

PostPosted: Thu Apr 26, 2012 11:38
by fullbuster93
ok , and what must I do ?

PostPosted: Thu Apr 26, 2012 13:23
by Death Dealer
try putting this into your minetest.conf file

video_driver = opengl

PostPosted: Fri Apr 27, 2012 22:34
by fullbuster93
done , but nothing change

can someone who use ubuntu make a video to show how to add mod ? ( prefering ubuntu 12.04 or 11.10 )

PostPosted: Sat Apr 28, 2012 06:32
by Calinou
...are you using a packaged, or self-compiled version?
On a packaged version, put the mods in (you may have to create folders):
~/.minetest/mods/minetest/mod_folder_here/init.lua

I put the init.lua so you know where the mod files should be - they must be directly inside the mod folder..

PostPosted: Sat Apr 28, 2012 09:15
by fullbuster93
ok , i found it
its because i play in minimal and not in minetest

now , have someone a good mod for animals or mobs that work correctlly ?

PostPosted: Sat Apr 28, 2012 13:10
by Death Dealer
Yep Enderfreak works pretty well:D I like it because it's only one animal ATM.