Memory leak in texture handling

sapier
Member
 
Posts: 763
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2011 18:17

Memory leak in texture handling

by sapier » Wed Feb 01, 2012 21:53

There seems to be a huge memory leak somewhere in texture handling. It's triggered clientside by logging in and out roughly about 10 times without closing client.

You get dissorted Inventory items and following error messages on client console:
Your phone or window isn't wide enough to display the code box. If it's a phone, try rotating it to landscape mode.
Code: Select all
GL_OUT_OF_MEMORY
Could not bind Texture
GL_OUT_OF_MEMORY
Could not bind Texture
GL_OUT_OF_MEMORY
Could not bind Texture
GL_OUT_OF_MEMORY
Could not bind Texture
GL_OUT_OF_MEMORY
Could not bind Texture
GL_OUT_OF_MEMORY
Could not bind Texture
GL_OUT_OF_MEMORY
Could not bind Texture
GL_OUT_OF_MEMORY
Could not bind Texture
GL_OUT_OF_MEMORY
Could not bind Texture
DON'T mention coding style!
(c) sapier all rights reserved
 

User avatar
Jordach
Member
 
Posts: 4412
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2011 17:58
GitHub: Jordach
IRC: Jordach
In-game: Jordach

by Jordach » Wed Feb 01, 2012 21:59

I've seen this with directx nine, when minimising window then going to chrome, then back.

( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°) ( ͡o ͜ʖ ͡o) [$ ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°) $] ( ͡$ ͜ʖ ͡$) ヽ༼ຈل͜ຈ༽ノ



My image and media server is back online and is functioning as normal.
 

sapier
Member
 
Posts: 763
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2011 18:17

by sapier » Wed Feb 01, 2012 22:27

I don't think it's the same bug as i don't use direct x and don't minimize the window. I'm on ubuntu with nvidia graphics.
DON'T mention coding style!
(c) sapier all rights reserved
 

kahrl
Member
 
Posts: 236
Joined: Fri Sep 02, 2011 07:51

by kahrl » Thu Feb 02, 2012 03:12

 

User avatar
VanessaE
Member
 
Posts: 3894
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2012 12:38
GitHub: VanessaE
IRC: VanessaE
In-game: VanessaEzekowitz

by VanessaE » Mon Apr 16, 2012 20:37

This error seems to have reared its head again. For me, it happens fairly reliably the second time I leave one world and enter another via the main menu. High end video card (with I think 1GB of memory on it), 81 MB of texture data.
You might like some of my stuff:
Plantlife ~ More Trees ~ Home Decor ~ Pipeworks ~ HDX Textures (16-512px)
Tips (BTC): 13LdcdUFcNCFAm7HfvAXh5GHTjCnnQj6KE
 

sapier
Member
 
Posts: 763
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2011 18:17

by sapier » Sat Jul 14, 2012 09:41

this bug seems to be still present in 20120606
DON'T mention coding style!
(c) sapier all rights reserved
 

User avatar
Calinou
Member
 
Posts: 3124
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2011 14:26
GitHub: Calinou
IRC: Calinou
In-game: Calinou

by Calinou » Sat Jul 14, 2012 10:51

kahrl wrote:Patch


Dead link. ;)
 

sapier
Member
 
Posts: 763
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2011 18:17

by sapier » Mon Aug 06, 2012 17:14

great :-( where's kahrl I'm quite sure his patch fixed the problem but it's still back in 4.2rc1
DON'T mention coding style!
(c) sapier all rights reserved
 

User avatar
xyz
Member
 
Posts: 449
Joined: Thu Nov 10, 2011 14:25

by xyz » Mon Aug 06, 2012 19:20

That seems to be the patch.
 


Return to Minetest Problems

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron