Long range terrain approximation

User avatar
benajamin
Member
 
Posts: 48
Joined: Sat May 14, 2011 16:14

Long range terrain approximation

by benajamin » Sat Jun 18, 2011 16:53

I tried it out and it looks promising, but a lot of the polygons are white, especially those approximating the higher parts of the hills. I didn't notice any related errors being printed.
 

SachielMF
New member
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2011 19:13

by SachielMF » Sat Jun 18, 2011 18:35

I had a crash repeatedly when walking to a certain direction in a freshly generated world. After a restart I was several blocks away again, so it probably wasn't able to save my location correctly. Tried again several times and it always crashed with "This application has requested the runtime to terminate...". On the other hand, I don't think I had any white textures. And it seems to go pretty heavy on my system as the cooler's slowly turning up to full speed. I barely noticed it with older versions.
Cool concept, though. Didn't expect a kind of LOD system in this sort of game.
Last edited by SachielMF on Sat Jun 18, 2011 18:43, edited 1 time in total.
 

User avatar
Fishkilleur
Member
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2011 11:57

by Fishkilleur » Sat Jun 18, 2011 19:34

benajamin wrote:I tried it out and it looks promising, but a lot of the polygons are white, especially those approximating the higher parts of the hills. I didn't notice any related errors being printed.


Me too :

Image
 

Nocte
New member
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2011 05:46

by Nocte » Sat Jun 18, 2011 19:56

I think this is caused by farmesh.cpp line 364. Since the section has a comment that says "Add some trees if appropriate", my guess is that it should have been green instead:
Your phone or window isn't wide enough to display the code box. If it's a phone, try rotating it to landscape mode.
Code: Select all
c = video::SColor(255, b*107, b*134, b*51);


However, I think it looks better if you comment the whole section (358-400) out:

[img=Screenshot]http://lh5.googleusercontent.com/-RDuiPxjaMNE/Tf0CJJ2nNhI/AAAAAAAAANs/CTL2IcFrUGo/Screenshot-Untitled%252520Window.png[/img]
 

celeron55
Member
 
Posts: 430
Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2011 10:10

by celeron55 » Sat Jun 18, 2011 23:12

It looks like the new background tree texture (treeprop.png) is drawn as a plain white texture... seems quite strange. I can't think of any solution right now. Will have to investigate further some day.
 

Nocte
New member
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2011 05:46

by Nocte » Sun Jun 19, 2011 00:11

Gah, I missed that setMaterial call. :P Well it's pretty easy to fix then, treeprop.png wasn't added to the repository.
 

User avatar
benajamin
Member
 
Posts: 48
Joined: Sat May 14, 2011 16:14

by benajamin » Sun Jun 19, 2011 07:20

I would suggest that for sectors that have already been generated (and are within some distance), you texture the farmesh polygons with an image taken from a top-view map. However, it would be best to ignore water for the map, since it can look really strange to have blue on a slope. In fact, water should probably be done as a separate set of polygons, since the surface of water is almost always level and also because it would be nice to have an approximation of the sea floor as well.
 

celeron55
Member
 
Posts: 430
Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2011 10:10

by celeron55 » Sun Jun 19, 2011 08:39

Wrote a bit more about the subject: http://celeron.55.lt/blog/?p=275
 

User avatar
benajamin
Member
 
Posts: 48
Joined: Sat May 14, 2011 16:14

by benajamin » Sun Jun 19, 2011 08:57

I think this feature is really awesome and agree that it make exploring easier and more fun. I am eager to see how far you can take it!
 

User avatar
Fishkilleur
Member
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2011 11:57

by Fishkilleur » Sun Jun 19, 2011 09:25

Yes it treeprop.png file missing in the data.
If I take a picture of a tree on the internet and I rename it "treeprop.png", here's what happens:

Image
 

celeron55
Member
 
Posts: 430
Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2011 10:10

by celeron55 » Sun Jun 19, 2011 09:41

Uh oh, I seemed to forget to add it to the repo...

Added it now, and updated the link to the current version of the source in here: http://celeron.55.lt/blog/?p=268
 

User avatar
neko259
Member
 
Posts: 769
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2011 06:51

by neko259 » Sun Jun 19, 2011 09:55

Cuold you make antialiasing or something similar? So that that polygons from long range woult look more smooth, like hills.
Bitcoin donations: 18r66dJmUjwTmWRTFnorpGMzs8d4B8jzbw
 

User avatar
benajamin
Member
 
Posts: 48
Joined: Sat May 14, 2011 16:14

by benajamin » Sun Jun 19, 2011 10:41

I just tried out the new version and it works very nicely. It really makes the world feel larger and fuller. Thanks for all your hard work!
 


Return to Minetest Problems

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests

cron