Greetings, and question about compiling under Windows 7 64bit

Leifanator

Greetings, and question about compiling under Windows 7 64bit

by Leifanator » Sat Nov 10, 2012 06:14

Hello, I have just registered. I am a small-time programmer who has done (very small and unreleased) work on various projects, the most significant one being editing C++ files on Celestia to enhance things related to graphic rendering and crap - I never released it because I felt that the changes were not significant enough for anyone else to care; but that's off topic.

I enjoy playing Minecraft, but I am becoming frustrated with Mojang's frequent major updates and the lack of ability to edit a closed-source program when I don't like something. I am interested in experimenting with Minetest to see what I can develop within its core code.

It's been a while since I last built C++ projects from source, and I was shocked to discover that Visual Studio 2008 is incompatible with Windows 7. If I am correct, VS-2010 is incompatible with Minetest - I am wondering if anyone recommends a certain C++ compiler that would run on Windows 7 - x64? I have only used Visual Studio in the past, and I am not sure how different others are.

Leifanator

PilzAdam

GitHub: PilzAdam
IRC: PilzAdam

by PilzAdam » Sat Nov 10, 2012 10:16

Welcome!

cosarara97

by cosarara97 » Sat Nov 10, 2012 11:46

MinGW. Read the readme here: https://github.com/celeron55/minetest
:D

Calinou

GitHub: Calinou
IRC: Calinou
In-game: Calinou

by Calinou » Sun Nov 11, 2012 09:07

Leifanator wrote:I enjoy playing Minecraft, but I am becoming frustrated with Mojang's frequent major updates and the lack of ability to edit a closed-source program when I don't like something. I am interested in experimenting with Minetest to see what I can develop within its core code.