Minetest Worlds Backup

franky97
New member
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 10:36

Minetest Worlds Backup

by franky97 » Tue Dec 27, 2011 11:25

I created a program written in Gambas (for now only works on Ubuntu) that allows you to create backup copies of files in the world.
It is very easy to use:
1 - Open the program.
2 - Click on the button for backup.
3 - Select the folder where to create backup.

Screenshot:

Image

Download 0.0.1:

http://www.uploading.to/p7q1yeg0xsqu


Sorry for my bad english.
 

User avatar
sfan5
Member
 
Posts: 3636
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 09:44
GitHub: sfan5
IRC: sfan5

by sfan5 » Tue Dec 27, 2011 11:33

You should change the button text
Mods: Mesecons | WorldEdit | Nuke
Minetest builds for Windows (32-bit & 64-bit)
 

franky97
New member
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 10:36

by franky97 » Tue Dec 27, 2011 11:37

The text in the screenshot is in Italian because the language I use on Ubuntu is Italian. English is also available.
 

User avatar
neko259
Member
 
Posts: 769
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2011 06:51

by neko259 » Tue Dec 27, 2011 11:49

Write a program with window and button instead of using one copy command to copy sqlite base? No way >_<
Bitcoin donations: 18r66dJmUjwTmWRTFnorpGMzs8d4B8jzbw
 

User avatar
xyz
Member
 
Posts: 449
Joined: Thu Nov 10, 2011 14:25

by xyz » Tue Dec 27, 2011 12:42

Your phone or window isn't wide enough to display the code box. If it's a phone, try rotating it to landscape mode.
Code: Select all
xyz@keeg:~/_minetest-backups$ cat dobackup.sh 
DATE=`/bin/date '+%d.%m.%Y'`
rm -r /home/xyz/_minetest-backups/.minetest/
cp -r /home/minetest/.minetest/ /home/xyz/_minetest-backups/
tar -cvzf /home/xyz/_minetest-backups/backup_$DATE.tar.gz /home/xyz/_minetest-backups/.minetest/

Putin' to cron and enjoy ;)
 

User avatar
RAPHAEL
Member
 
Posts: 627
Joined: Tue Nov 01, 2011 09:09

by RAPHAEL » Tue Dec 27, 2011 17:31

Or... fire up a file manager. Copy world folder somewhere else. Rename it with a date.

However I have been tempted to write up a bash script for "properly backing up minetest settings". Just been too busy.
"Before you speak, ask yourself: Is it kind, is it true, is it necessary, does it improve upon the silence?"
My mods: http://goo.gl/n4kpn
(Currently Various, Industrial, Fakeblocks, Jail, MoarCraft, Christmas, Replicator, minetest dev installer for linux, bash mod installer, windows mod installer)
 

User avatar
jordan4ibanez
Member
 
Posts: 1865
Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2011 18:44
GitHub: jordan4ibanez
IRC: jordan4ibanez
In-game: jordan4ibanez

by jordan4ibanez » Tue Dec 27, 2011 18:54

or get simple backup!

i use it on mine and it auto backs up the map every hour!
http://imgur.com/gyz9i,oW8E4,bjOxz (theres 3 images)

and the best part is ITS FREE, AAAAAND, it secures your files!

the website:
http://simplelinuxbkup.sourceforge.net/

heres the ppa:
ppa:nssbackup-team/ppa

search up:
sbackup

and install the gtk version

if i left anything out let me know :D
If you can think it, you can make it.
 

User avatar
neko259
Member
 
Posts: 769
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2011 06:51

by neko259 » Tue Dec 27, 2011 19:35

/0

Why use graphical software for backups? You can always write 3 lines script instead of installing megabytes of software with strange front-ends.
Bitcoin donations: 18r66dJmUjwTmWRTFnorpGMzs8d4B8jzbw
 

User avatar
jordan4ibanez
Member
 
Posts: 1865
Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2011 18:44
GitHub: jordan4ibanez
IRC: jordan4ibanez
In-game: jordan4ibanez

by jordan4ibanez » Tue Dec 27, 2011 19:53

that is not a strange front end..its a direct front end..and it has been working and encrypting the world data of my servers map for 2 days straight...and with that software you do not even need to manually replace the world if something happens..you just start up the restoration manage..select the date..and then click the time and it will replace that world back into the server
If you can think it, you can make it.
 

maddogg
Member
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Wed Dec 21, 2011 23:55

by maddogg » Wed Dec 28, 2011 16:48

cool tool mate gr8 work
 

celeron55
Member
 
Posts: 430
Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2011 10:10

by celeron55 » Thu Dec 29, 2011 12:46

You should note that the sqlite database should never be copied on-the-fly, because the copy can get corrupted if minetest writes to the original at the same time.

Personally I have ended up with a corrupted copy at least once. It will load just fine, but many parts of the world can be complete rubbish.

You need to lock the database, then copy, and then unlock it. There are some examples for doing that on the net. Eg. here is something: http://stuvel.eu/blog/55/safely-copy-a-sqlite-database
 

User avatar
jordan4ibanez
Member
 
Posts: 1865
Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2011 18:44
GitHub: jordan4ibanez
IRC: jordan4ibanez
In-game: jordan4ibanez

by jordan4ibanez » Sat Dec 31, 2011 05:27

i just realized that that was a program..i misread the post..good job :D
If you can think it, you can make it.
 


Return to Minetest Engine

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron