gsmapper + map mod

gsmanners
Member
 
Posts: 159
Joined: Fri Jan 10, 2014 21:37

Re: gsmapper

by gsmanners » Mon Jun 02, 2014 10:12

Sorry I derailed the thread. I think I needed a little break, there. Good news: 0.6!

What's new? Well, it actually seems to be working decently enough that I can start to work on features. Yay!
 

gsmanners
Member
 
Posts: 159
Joined: Fri Jan 10, 2014 21:37

Re: gsmapper

by gsmanners » Tue Jun 03, 2014 04:04

Nice to get past those stupid bugs. Now I can do some real work.
 

User avatar
Inocudom
Member
 
Posts: 2889
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2012 01:14
IRC: Inocudom
In-game: Inocudom

Re: gsmapper

by Inocudom » Tue Jun 03, 2014 05:40

gsmanners wrote:Nice to get past those stupid bugs. Now I can do some real work.

Are you planning to show these updates to the developers of Freeminer? They might provide valuable testing.
 

gsmanners
Member
 
Posts: 159
Joined: Fri Jan 10, 2014 21:37

Re: gsmapper

by gsmanners » Wed Jun 04, 2014 23:39

Updates are public. I don't see how I can show them any better.

https://github.com/minetest/minetest/pull/1209
 

gsmanners
Member
 
Posts: 159
Joined: Fri Jan 10, 2014 21:37

Re: gsmapper + map mod

by gsmanners » Tue Jun 10, 2014 22:30

If someone can explain how to do proper client-only settings, that would be much appreciated. This stuff is extremely lacking in documentation.
 

User avatar
stormchaser3000
Member
 
Posts: 407
Joined: Sun Oct 06, 2013 21:02

Re: gsmapper

by stormchaser3000 » Sun Jun 15, 2014 00:19

JPRuehmann wrote:Thats wrong I am using my Kubuntu since years for viewig DVD, Bluray, and everyting else (Audio and Video)
The only thing you have to do for DVD is installing libdecss2 and optional libdvdnav.
For BluRay there is makemkv, not as comfortable as an standalone BD Player but works.
MPlayer and Videolan will play BD to but only unencrypted ones.


in some countries libdvdcss and programs like that are illegal, including the U.S.

http://www.getgnulinux.org/en/linux/linux_faq/#dvd_mp3

(sorry i know this post is offtopic from this topic's actual topic)
 

User avatar
sfan5
Member
 
Posts: 3636
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 09:44
GitHub: sfan5
IRC: sfan5

Re: gsmapper

by sfan5 » Sun Jun 15, 2014 06:42

sorry for offtopic

JPRuehmann wrote:MPlayer and Videolan will play BD to but only unencrypted ones.

You can play encrypted ones too: https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/BluRay
Mods: Mesecons | WorldEdit | Nuke
Minetest builds for Windows (32-bit & 64-bit)
 

User avatar
Krock
Member
 
Posts: 3598
Joined: Thu Oct 03, 2013 07:48
GitHub: SmallJoker

Re: gsmapper

by Krock » Sun Jun 15, 2014 08:09

Inocudom wrote:However, if nobody includes this patch in a future Windows build of Minetest (or Freeminer,) then testing of it shall indeed be impossible for many Windows users.

I'll try to compile this after I'm done with the current build.

Error output:
Your phone or window isn't wide enough to display the code box. If it's a phone, try rotating it to landscape mode.
Code: Select all
"E:\Programme\MT_compiler\bin_gsmapper\ALL_BUILD.vcxproj" (Standardziel) (1) ->
"E:\Programme\MT_compiler\bin_gsmapper\src\minetest.vcxproj" (Standardziel) (4)
 ->
(ClCompile Ziel) ->
  ..\..\minetest_gsmapper\src\gsmapper.cpp(224): error C2668: 'floor': Mehrdeut
iger Aufruf einer überladenen Funktion [E:\Programme\MT_compiler\bin_gsmapper\s
rc\minetest.vcxproj]
  ..\..\minetest_gsmapper\src\gsmapper.cpp(226): error C2668: 'floor': Mehrdeut
iger Aufruf einer überladenen Funktion [E:\Programme\MT_compiler\bin_gsmapper\s
rc\minetest.vcxproj]
  ..\..\minetest_gsmapper\src\gsmapper.cpp(406): error C2666: 'fmod': 3 Überlad
ungen haben ähnliche Konvertierungen [E:\Programme\MT_compiler\bin_gsmapper\src
\minetest.vcxproj]

Translated:
Your phone or window isn't wide enough to display the code box. If it's a phone, try rotating it to landscape mode.
Code: Select all
src\gsmapper.cpp(224): error C2668: 'floor': Ambiguous call to an overloaded function
src\gsmapper.cpp(226):  ^
src\gsmapper.cpp(406): error C2666: 'fmod': 3 overloads have similar conversions


EDIT:
DOWNLOAD Link - Win32 build
I replaced those functions with round and %, now the cursor turns around wrongly but everything else works.
To enable the mapper, add
Your phone or window isn't wide enough to display the code box. If it's a phone, try rotating it to landscape mode.
Code: Select all
hud_map = true

to your minetest.conf
Newest Win32 builds - Find a mod - All my mods
ALL YOUR DONATION ARE BELONG TO PARAMAT (Please support him and Minetest)
New DuckDuckGo !bang: !mtmod <keyword here>
 

User avatar
Inocudom
Member
 
Posts: 2889
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2012 01:14
IRC: Inocudom
In-game: Inocudom

Re: gsmapper + map mod

by Inocudom » Sun Jun 15, 2014 13:21

So far, it appears that gsmapper can only map the surface, as caves don't show up. Two other issues involve how scrolling is handled and how node changes do not show up immediately (gsmapper has to be scrolled first.)
 

Amaz
Member
 
Posts: 328
Joined: Wed May 08, 2013 08:26
GitHub: Amaz1
IRC: Amaz
In-game: Amaz

Re: gsmapper + map mod

by Amaz » Sun Jun 15, 2014 21:47

Inocudom wrote:So far, it appears that gsmapper can only map the surface, as caves don't show up. Two other issues involve how scrolling is handled and how node changes do not show up immediately (gsmapper has to be scrolled first.)

To show caves, add hud_map_above = false to minetest.conf, rather buggy... Not sure if you mean it doesn't scroll when you move, if so, hud_map_tracking=1 in minetest.conf (Even buggier!)
And it seems to update the map without scrolling, for me...
 

User avatar
Inocudom
Member
 
Posts: 2889
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2012 01:14
IRC: Inocudom
In-game: Inocudom

Re: gsmapper + map mod

by Inocudom » Sun Jun 15, 2014 23:19

Amaz wrote:
Inocudom wrote:So far, it appears that gsmapper can only map the surface, as caves don't show up. Two other issues involve how scrolling is handled and how node changes do not show up immediately (gsmapper has to be scrolled first.)

To show caves, add hud_map_above = false to minetest.conf, rather buggy... Not sure if you mean it doesn't scroll when you move, if so, hud_map_tracking=1 in minetest.conf (Even buggier!)
And it seems to update the map without scrolling, for me...

Thank you for the information, but is there a command that makes the map bigger (to make it easier to see?)
 

Amaz
Member
 
Posts: 328
Joined: Wed May 08, 2013 08:26
GitHub: Amaz1
IRC: Amaz
In-game: Amaz

Re: gsmapper + map mod

by Amaz » Mon Jun 16, 2014 10:14

Inocudom wrote:...but is there a command that makes the map bigger (to make it easier to see?)


gsmanners wrote:Everything is done with /set commands at the moment. It would be nice to use keyboard shortcuts, but I want to leave that for a Lua interface (just have figure out how to support that at some point).

For now, you can do lots of stuff with commands like this:

/set hud_map_scale 1.5


The above will "zoom" in 50% (and it will become your new default the next time you run).

Some other settings:

hud_map_alpha <-- 0 to 255
hud_map_above <-- false = below-ground radar
hud_map_tracking <-- true = keep the player in the center (I still need to optimize this one, though)
hud_map_width and hud_map_height <-- the size of the map


That should be what you want!
 

User avatar
Inocudom
Member
 
Posts: 2889
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2012 01:14
IRC: Inocudom
In-game: Inocudom

Re: gsmapper + map mod

by Inocudom » Mon Jun 16, 2014 13:10

Amaz wrote:
Inocudom wrote:...but is there a command that makes the map bigger (to make it easier to see?)


gsmanners wrote:Everything is done with /set commands at the moment. It would be nice to use keyboard shortcuts, but I want to leave that for a Lua interface (just have figure out how to support that at some point).

For now, you can do lots of stuff with commands like this:

/set hud_map_scale 1.5


The above will "zoom" in 50% (and it will become your new default the next time you run).

Some other settings:

hud_map_alpha <-- 0 to 255
hud_map_above <-- false = below-ground radar
hud_map_tracking <-- true = keep the player in the center (I still need to optimize this one, though)
hud_map_width and hud_map_height <-- the size of the map


That should be what you want!

Thank you. That is everything I need.

On a more serious note, the bad allocation error happens a lot with Krock's build when I join servers like ShadowNinja's Creative Server and VanessaE's Creative Server.

The gsmapper branch of Minetest is many commits behind the master branch. For the sake of testing, it would be wise to update it.
 

Amaz
Member
 
Posts: 328
Joined: Wed May 08, 2013 08:26
GitHub: Amaz1
IRC: Amaz
In-game: Amaz

Re: gsmapper + map mod

by Amaz » Thu Jun 19, 2014 14:22

gsmanners, are you still working on this? Because the pull request has been closed to to a license change, and the patches no longer work with the dev version of Minetest. I would be very sad to see this die, as it is a great piece of work, and I have installed it system wide with Minetest... (https://github.com/minetest/minetest/pu ... t-46561514)
On a different note, it seems to crash whenever there is an unknown node loaded.
 

User avatar
Inocudom
Member
 
Posts: 2889
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2012 01:14
IRC: Inocudom
In-game: Inocudom

Re: gsmapper + map mod

by Inocudom » Thu Jun 19, 2014 14:32

Amaz wrote:gsmanners, are you still working on this? Because the pull request has been closed to to a license change, and the patches no longer work with the dev version of Minetest. I would be very sad to see this die, as it is a great piece of work, and I have installed it system wide with Minetest... (https://github.com/minetest/minetest/pu ... t-46561514)
On a different note, it seems to crash whenever there is an unknown node loaded.

It does crash whenever an unknown node is loaded.

This is one of those projects that requires more than one person working on it in order for it to succeed at all. Right now, to be blunt, gsmapper is on its deathbed. Even Freeminer won't accept it in its current state.
 

Amaz
Member
 
Posts: 328
Joined: Wed May 08, 2013 08:26
GitHub: Amaz1
IRC: Amaz
In-game: Amaz

Re: gsmapper + map mod

by Amaz » Thu Jun 19, 2014 14:50

Inocudom wrote:
Amaz wrote:gsmanners, are you still working on this? Because the pull request has been closed to to a license change, and the patches no longer work with the dev version of Minetest. I would be very sad to see this die, as it is a great piece of work, and I have installed it system wide with Minetest... (https://github.com/minetest/minetest/pu ... t-46561514)
On a different note, it seems to crash whenever there is an unknown node loaded.

It does crash whenever an unknown node is loaded.

This is one of those projects that requires more than one person working on it in order for it to succeed at all. Right now, to be blunt, gsmapper is on its deathbed. Even Freeminer won't accept it in its current state.


Yep. If I knew C/C++ I would volunteer to help, but unfortunately I don't. Someone needs to help, as this is too good a patch to let die.
 

User avatar
Inocudom
Member
 
Posts: 2889
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2012 01:14
IRC: Inocudom
In-game: Inocudom

Re: gsmapper + map mod

by Inocudom » Thu Jun 19, 2014 14:52

Those that are the most qualified to help are the ones that work on the various versions of minetestmapper.
 

Amaz
Member
 
Posts: 328
Joined: Wed May 08, 2013 08:26
GitHub: Amaz1
IRC: Amaz
In-game: Amaz

Re: gsmapper + map mod

by Amaz » Thu Jun 19, 2014 14:54

Yeah.
 

User avatar
Inocudom
Member
 
Posts: 2889
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2012 01:14
IRC: Inocudom
In-game: Inocudom

Re: gsmapper + map mod

by Inocudom » Mon Jun 30, 2014 22:58

I am guessing that there won't be any activity with this until autumn comes around. Too bad this feature isn't talked about very much. I guess most people either don't know about this, or don't care. Don't they know that this will make navigating worlds easier, or is that why they don't know/care about it?
 

User avatar
philipbenr
Member
 
Posts: 1665
Joined: Fri Jun 14, 2013 01:56
GitHub: philipbenr
IRC: philipbenr
In-game: WisdomFire or philipbenr

Re: gsmapper + map mod

by philipbenr » Mon Jun 30, 2014 23:32

Because they are too lazy to try and implement it into their game. Somebody has to be making regular builds of it/given a full tutorial of how to implement.
 

User avatar
Evergreen
Member
 
Posts: 2131
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 01:22
GitHub: 4Evergreen4
IRC: EvergreenTree
In-game: Evergreen

Re: gsmapper + map mod

by Evergreen » Tue Jul 01, 2014 01:10

philipbenr wrote:Because they are too lazy to try and implement it into their game. Somebody has to be making regular builds of it/given a full tutorial of how to implement.

Yes, I actually find engine patches like this quite interesting. It's just that it isn't n00b friendly to install.
 

User avatar
Inocudom
Member
 
Posts: 2889
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2012 01:14
IRC: Inocudom
In-game: Inocudom

Re: gsmapper + map mod

by Inocudom » Tue Jul 01, 2014 02:02

There is no longer a patch of gsmapper. Instead, there is now a Minetest branch that contains it:
https://github.com/gsmanners/minetest/tree/gsmapper
Of course, this branch has not been updated for a few weeks, so it does not contain important bug fixes and improvements that were recently made in the master branch. Very big problem that is.
 

User avatar
philipbenr
Member
 
Posts: 1665
Joined: Fri Jun 14, 2013 01:56
GitHub: philipbenr
IRC: philipbenr
In-game: WisdomFire or philipbenr

Re: gsmapper + map mod

by philipbenr » Tue Jul 01, 2014 04:52

Evergreen wrote:
philipbenr wrote:Because they are too lazy to try and implement it into their game. Somebody has to be making regular builds of it/given a full tutorial of how to implement.

Yes, I actually find engine patches like this quite interesting. It's just that it isn't n00b friendly to install.

*Blushes*
Yes, it isn't. ;) Anyhoo, I hope that somebody does make a working build for a couple of n00bs out here...

*Looks at self* :)
 

Amaz
Member
 
Posts: 328
Joined: Wed May 08, 2013 08:26
GitHub: Amaz1
IRC: Amaz
In-game: Amaz

Re: gsmapper + map mod

by Amaz » Tue Jul 01, 2014 10:00

Inocudom wrote:There is no longer a patch of gsmapper. Instead, there is now a Minetest branch that contains it:
https://github.com/gsmanners/minetest/tree/gsmapper
Of course, this branch has not been updated for a few weeks, so it does not contain important bug fixes and improvements that were recently made in the master branch. Very big problem that is.

Actually, the patch still exists in the first post. However, it no longer works, as the code it was placed in has been changed.
 

Amaz
Member
 
Posts: 328
Joined: Wed May 08, 2013 08:26
GitHub: Amaz1
IRC: Amaz
In-game: Amaz

Re: gsmapper + map mod

by Amaz » Tue Jul 01, 2014 18:11

Okay, don't want to double post, however, this (imo) needs another post!
I got gsmapper working with the latest minetest git. (As of 1/7/14, 18:09 GMT).
You can view the changes here: https://github.com/Amaz1/minetest/tree/ ... r-uptodate (It should be compilable, at least on Linux.)
 

User avatar
JPRuehmann
Member
 
Posts: 334
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2014 21:40

Re: gsmapper + map mod

by JPRuehmann » Tue Jul 01, 2014 18:45

Hello
What´s with tomorrow?
Thanks,
JPR

;-)
 

User avatar
Inocudom
Member
 
Posts: 2889
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2012 01:14
IRC: Inocudom
In-game: Inocudom

Re: gsmapper + map mod

by Inocudom » Tue Jul 01, 2014 19:13

Amaz wrote:Okay, don't want to double post, however, this (imo) needs another post!
I got gsmapper working with the latest minetest git. (As of 1/7/14, 18:09 GMT).
You can view the changes here: https://github.com/Amaz1/minetest/tree/ ... r-uptodate (It should be compilable, at least on Linux.)

What would keep it from working on Windows and OSX?
 

Amaz
Member
 
Posts: 328
Joined: Wed May 08, 2013 08:26
GitHub: Amaz1
IRC: Amaz
In-game: Amaz

Re: gsmapper + map mod

by Amaz » Tue Jul 01, 2014 19:17

Inocudom wrote:
Amaz wrote:Okay, don't want to double post, however, this (imo) needs another post!
I got gsmapper working with the latest minetest git. (As of 1/7/14, 18:09 GMT).
You can view the changes here: https://github.com/Amaz1/minetest/tree/ ... r-uptodate (It should be compilable, at least on Linux.)

What would keep it from working on Windows and OSX?

Nothing! Linux was the only one I tried it on, and in fact, since I wrote this, Krock made a build for Windows with it in, see viewtopic.php?f=3&t=9515&p=146851#p146851
 

User avatar
Inocudom
Member
 
Posts: 2889
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2012 01:14
IRC: Inocudom
In-game: Inocudom

Re: gsmapper + map mod

by Inocudom » Tue Jul 01, 2014 21:54

How would a programmer address the issue of unknown nodes causing gsmapper to crash? I guess something similar to what was done in minetestmapper could be a viable solution. When gsmapper comes back, he could use whatever solution is proposed.
 

User avatar
Jordach
Member
 
Posts: 4412
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2011 17:58
GitHub: Jordach
IRC: Jordach
In-game: Jordach

Re: gsmapper + map mod

by Jordach » Tue Jul 01, 2014 23:53

Inocudom wrote:How would a programmer address the issue of unknown nodes causing gsmapper to crash? I guess something similar to what was done in minetestmapper could be a viable solution. When gsmapper comes back, he could use whatever solution is proposed.

It's trying to get a texture to use as a colour, and failing non-gracefully.

( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°) ( ͡o ͜ʖ ͡o) [$ ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°) $] ( ͡$ ͜ʖ ͡$) ヽ༼ຈل͜ຈ༽ノ



My image and media server is back online and is functioning as normal.
 

PreviousNext

Return to Minetest Engine

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron