[Mod] 3D Animated NPC [1.5]

4aiman
Member
 
Posts: 1208
Joined: Mon Jul 30, 2012 05:47

by 4aiman » Tue Dec 18, 2012 07:03

jojoa1997,
They're neutral at the day time while you didn't hurt them. If you're OK with that, you could try to remove some lines from init.lua which makes them hostile at the night time.


A little offtopic... or not?
Anyway, I've noticed (yeah, I've read changelog ;)) that players are 3d now and they share the same model with NPCs, right?
So, PilzAdam, is there a way to add selected item mesh to the "hands" of npc/player? (Maybe by using added in 0.4.4 ability to "link" the entities?) That way anyone would know whether another player/mob is preparing an attack with his/her sword or just holding some block.
I'm saying "mobs", because a hostile 24/7 NPC is a mob to me :)

Moreover, is it possible to make mobs "draw their weapons" when they get hurt by someone?

And even more: could you possibly add some kind of config file, so mod would read it and add various NPC?
That file could be smth like this:
Your phone or window isn't wide enough to display the code box. If it's a phone, try rotating it to landscape mode.
Code: Select all
+---------------+------------------------+--------------------------------+-----------------------------+
|               |     Name, HP, Speed,   |                                |                             |
|     ID        | Weapon, Mesh, Textures |             Type               |      profession             |
+---------------+------------------------+--------------------------------+-----------------------------+
| IDK for       | Obvious for a mob/npc  | 0 - neutral mob                | if type=0 or type=1 then:   |
| what purpose, | properties, maybe some |     (never becomes hostile,    | 0 - animal (domestic/wild)  |
| it's just a   | privileges, like       |      but runs away if hurt)    | 1..n - npc/villager         |
| habbit ;)     | flying (but the last   | 1 - passive mob #1             |                             |
|               | one is too early to    |     (becomes hostile, if hurt) | IDK, what "professions" are |
|               | think about).          | 2 - passive mob #2             | needed, but it'll be good   |
|               |                        |     (hostile at night,         | to have a Smith and a       |
|               |                        |      otherwise passive;        | merchant. Maybe a doctor    |
|               |                        |      becomes hostile, if hurt) | would be nice.              |
|               |                        | 3 - regular mob (hostile 24/7) |                             |
+---------------+------------------------+--------------------------------+-----------------------------+

Using such a file could help others to add their own mobs/npc.

PS: All above is just questions, though. Don't get me wrong, please!
Last edited by 4aiman on Tue Dec 18, 2012 07:05, edited 1 time in total.
 

User avatar
jojoa1997
Member
 
Posts: 2890
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2012 05:11

by jojoa1997 » Tue Dec 18, 2012 12:17

4aiman wrote:jojoa1997,
They're neutral at the day time while you didn't hurt them. If you're OK with that, you could try to remove some lines from init.lua which makes them hostile at the night time.


A little offtopic... or not?
Anyway, I've noticed (yeah, I've read changelog ;)) that players are 3d now and they share the same model with NPCs, right?
So, PilzAdam, is there a way to add selected item mesh to the "hands" of npc/player? (Maybe by using added in 0.4.4 ability to "link" the entities?) That way anyone would know whether another player/mob is preparing an attack with his/her sword or just holding some block.
I'm saying "mobs", because a hostile 24/7 NPC is a mob to me :)


Moreover, is it possible to make mobs "draw their weapons" when they get hurt by someone?

And even more: could you possibly add some kind of config file, so mod would read it and add various NPC?
That file could be smth like this:
Your phone or window isn't wide enough to display the code box. If it's a phone, try rotating it to landscape mode.
Code: Select all
+---------------+------------------------+--------------------------------+-----------------------------+
|               |     Name, HP, Speed,   |                                |                             |
|     ID        | Weapon, Mesh, Textures |             Type               |      profession             |
+---------------+------------------------+--------------------------------+-----------------------------+
| IDK for       | Obvious for a mob/npc  | 0 - neutral mob                | if type=0 or type=1 then:   |
| what purpose, | properties, maybe some |     (never becomes hostile,    | 0 - animal (domestic/wild)  |
| it's just a   | privileges, like       |      but runs away if hurt)    | 1..n - npc/villager         |
| habbit ;)     | flying (but the last   | 1 - passive mob #1             |                             |
|               | one is too early to    |     (becomes hostile, if hurt) | IDK, what "professions" are |
|               | think about).          | 2 - passive mob #2             | needed, but it'll be good   |
|               |                        |     (hostile at night,         | to have a Smith and a       |
|               |                        |      otherwise passive;        | merchant. Maybe a doctor    |
|               |                        |      becomes hostile, if hurt) | would be nice.              |
|               |                        | 3 - regular mob (hostile 24/7) |                             |
+---------------+------------------------+--------------------------------+-----------------------------+

Using such a file could help others to add their own mobs/npc.

PS: All above is just questions, though. Don't get me wrong, please!


I mean could you make a command Vanessa wont have it on here server unless it is always peaceful even if you hit the npc. Also could the command need the server priv. I also would want to have them sometimes hostile in single player but other rimes peaceful.
Coding;
1X coding
3X debugging
12X tweaking to be just right
 

User avatar
jojoa1997
Member
 
Posts: 2890
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2012 05:11

by jojoa1997 » Tue Dec 18, 2012 16:32

Is the above post possible
Coding;
1X coding
3X debugging
12X tweaking to be just right
 

User avatar
jojoa1997
Member
 
Posts: 2890
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2012 05:11

by jojoa1997 » Fri Dec 21, 2012 18:15

Any news?
Coding;
1X coding
3X debugging
12X tweaking to be just right
 

User avatar
jordan4ibanez
Member
 
Posts: 1865
Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2011 18:44
GitHub: jordan4ibanez
IRC: jordan4ibanez
In-game: jordan4ibanez

by jordan4ibanez » Sat Dec 22, 2012 03:32

I changed the license to WTFPL so anyone can make a mod of it, but please, no one make a shitty mod of it, i haven't tested this, but it sounds pretty good :)
Last edited by jordan4ibanez on Sat Dec 22, 2012 03:56, edited 1 time in total.
If you can think it, you can make it.
 

RobotSnakeMaster
New member
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Dec 22, 2012 04:33

by RobotSnakeMaster » Sat Dec 22, 2012 04:44

I got this and my lag reduced!!

I had:
More Ores
Stairs+
Moreblocks
Nuke
Mesecons 0.5

P.S: Why can`t I find a single NPC?
Last edited by RobotSnakeMaster on Sat Dec 22, 2012 04:55, edited 1 time in total.
 

User avatar
jojoa1997
Member
 
Posts: 2890
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2012 05:11

by jojoa1997 » Sat Dec 22, 2012 05:30

jordan4ibanez wrote:I changed the license to WTFPL so anyone can make a mod of it, but please, no one make a shitty mod of it, i haven't tested this, but it sounds pretty good :)


Thank you. I was wondering if we could collaborate to make a better mod. You could have normal NPCs while i have peaceful ones. :-)
Also i am a beginner modder so i only know how to do basic stuff.
Coding;
1X coding
3X debugging
12X tweaking to be just right
 

RobotSnakeMaster
New member
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Dec 22, 2012 04:33

by RobotSnakeMaster » Sat Dec 22, 2012 05:33

After I added a Herobrine texture and put it in the .lua file, i cant run minetest or it says"ModError: Failed to load and run the init.lua file.
 

User avatar
jojoa1997
Member
 
Posts: 2890
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2012 05:11

by jojoa1997 » Sat Dec 22, 2012 05:35

That is my problem. jordan4ipbanez where is the npc health set in the script?
Coding;
1X coding
3X debugging
12X tweaking to be just right
 

RobotSnakeMaster
New member
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Dec 22, 2012 04:33

by RobotSnakeMaster » Sat Dec 22, 2012 05:48

I have made a Slenderman Texture and put it in this one, replacing the zombie.
 

User avatar
jordan4ibanez
Member
 
Posts: 1865
Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2011 18:44
GitHub: jordan4ibanez
IRC: jordan4ibanez
In-game: jordan4ibanez

by jordan4ibanez » Fri Dec 28, 2012 05:07

Here is a version of santa which will turn smoothly, I have not yet made it turn with calculations based on which direction to turn left or right is smoother, but here is a simple sample of it, it's quite nice.
https://dl.dropbox.com/s/cs0vhq8kkzpcvre/santa.zip?dl=1
If you can think it, you can make it.
 

aximx51v
Member
 
Posts: 60
Joined: Fri Dec 07, 2012 03:47

by aximx51v » Tue Jan 15, 2013 02:14

Wow. really cool intellegence on these NPCs!
any idea's as to why I'm not getting injured? they chase me, i let them walk inside of me, but i could stand there all day and they never do damage. i run 4.4-d1, does it need to be a different version?
also, the game likes to crash whenever an NPC jumps while occupying the same space as me.
 

User avatar
jojoa1997
Member
 
Posts: 2890
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2012 05:11

by jojoa1997 » Tue Jan 15, 2013 02:30

aximx51v wrote:Wow. really cool intellegence on these NPCs!
any idea's as to why I'm not getting injured? they chase me, i let them walk inside of me, but i could stand there all day and they never do damage. i run 4.4-d1, does it need to be a different version?
also, the game likes to crash whenever an NPC jumps while occupying the same space as me.

Is your damage off.
Coding;
1X coding
3X debugging
12X tweaking to be just right
 

User avatar
Mito551
Member
 
Posts: 1271
Joined: Sat Jun 16, 2012 15:03

by Mito551 » Tue Jan 15, 2013 04:09

PilzAdam wrote:Maybe you should think about using the Simple Mobs API.

+1

jojoa1997 wrote:
aximx51v wrote:Wow. really cool intellegence on these NPCs!
any idea's as to why I'm not getting injured? they chase me, i let them walk inside of me, but i could stand there all day and they never do damage. i run 4.4-d1, does it need to be a different version?
also, the game likes to crash whenever an NPC jumps while occupying the same space as me.

Is your damage off.

do you have armors mod installed?
Last edited by Mito551 on Tue Jan 15, 2013 04:10, edited 1 time in total.
 

aximx51v
Member
 
Posts: 60
Joined: Fri Dec 07, 2012 03:47

by aximx51v » Thu Jan 17, 2013 16:51

Mito551 wrote:
PilzAdam wrote:Maybe you should think about using the Simple Mobs API.

+1

jojoa1997 wrote:
aximx51v wrote:Wow. really cool intellegence on these NPCs!
any idea's as to why I'm not getting injured? they chase me, i let them walk inside of me, but i could stand there all day and they never do damage. i run 4.4-d1, does it need to be a different version?
also, the game likes to crash whenever an NPC jumps while occupying the same space as me.

Is your damage off.

do you have armors mod installed?


The "enable damage" box is checked. I do have the armor (older version) mod installed, and i had wondered if that could be the issue, but when i removed my armor (in the game) it didn't seem to affect anything. MOB framework works well with the armor mod, i guess i just assumed that the NPC did too.

I just removed the armor mod, and yes, that was it. i now get damage. is there a way to fix the compatibility, or does the newer armor mod work?
 

User avatar
Likwid H-Craft
Member
 
Posts: 1113
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 14:20

by Likwid H-Craft » Thu Jan 17, 2013 17:00

I am going use this if all fine with you make my mobs for Metroidtest.
My Domain's/others:
http://likwidtest.hj.cx/ (Not Done)
 

User avatar
jojoa1997
Member
 
Posts: 2890
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2012 05:11

by jojoa1997 » Thu Jan 17, 2013 20:31

Likwid H-Craft wrote:I am going use this if all fine with you make my mobs for Metroidtest.

The license is WTFPL and also he doesnt mind cause he changed it when i used code from his mod. You can also use my mod if you want peaceful aspects in it.
Coding;
1X coding
3X debugging
12X tweaking to be just right
 

aximx51v
Member
 
Posts: 60
Joined: Fri Dec 07, 2012 03:47

by aximx51v » Fri Jan 18, 2013 04:21

(follow up from my last comment)
I installed the newer armor mod, and still have invulnerability to NPCs. the animals mod isn't affected, however; wolves can eat me.
anybody know how to fix this?

also, it'd be nice to have a working spawning algorithm :)
 

User avatar
jordan4ibanez
Member
 
Posts: 1865
Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2011 18:44
GitHub: jordan4ibanez
IRC: jordan4ibanez
In-game: jordan4ibanez

by jordan4ibanez » Sat Mar 23, 2013 23:45

Oh here this is, I need this at the front page of mods so I can refer back to it and such.
If you can think it, you can make it.
 

kamarajitsu
Member
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Apr 02, 2013 04:20

by kamarajitsu » Wed Apr 03, 2013 01:16

I installed the mod, but my inventory to the left doesn't show up now. Then when I deleted the mod, my inventory still isn't showing up. Help?
 

User avatar
jojoa1997
Member
 
Posts: 2890
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2012 05:11

by jojoa1997 » Wed Apr 03, 2013 01:22

that is your creative inventory. on the main menu you should see 2 checkboxes. damage and creative. check the creative
Coding;
1X coding
3X debugging
12X tweaking to be just right
 

kamarajitsu
Member
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Apr 02, 2013 04:20

by kamarajitsu » Wed Apr 03, 2013 01:36

Thanks :) Now I'm trying to reinstall the mod, I put it into the /mod/minetest folder. And when I open up the game the mod is not showing in the configure window
 

kamarajitsu
Member
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Apr 02, 2013 04:20

by kamarajitsu » Wed Apr 03, 2013 14:16

Help? Figured out a way to get it show in the configure window, but now it won't run.

EDIT: I figured out the problem, I had two minetest folders in one. It works perfectly, haha, good job! :)
Last edited by kamarajitsu on Wed Apr 03, 2013 16:34, edited 1 time in total.
 

Rhys
Member
 
Posts: 379
Joined: Wed May 22, 2013 15:22

by Rhys » Tue Sep 10, 2013 17:25

How do I download this mod? - Link broken? D:
 

User avatar
AMMOnym
Member
 
Posts: 682
Joined: Tue Sep 10, 2013 14:18
IRC: AMMOnym
In-game: AMMOnym

by AMMOnym » Tue Sep 10, 2013 17:30

rhys u can download this mod its awesome :https://forum.minetest.net/viewtopic.php?id=4167 but u must have this mod too : plantlife from vannesa
 

User avatar
AMMOnym
Member
 
Posts: 682
Joined: Tue Sep 10, 2013 14:18
IRC: AMMOnym
In-game: AMMOnym

by AMMOnym » Tue Sep 10, 2013 17:30

 

Rhys
Member
 
Posts: 379
Joined: Wed May 22, 2013 15:22

by Rhys » Wed Sep 11, 2013 15:08



Uh... I have nearly every mod on my computer. xD. Just don't use many.
 

User avatar
AMMOnym
Member
 
Posts: 682
Joined: Tue Sep 10, 2013 14:18
IRC: AMMOnym
In-game: AMMOnym

by AMMOnym » Thu Sep 12, 2013 06:40

I want to make a some Horse mod like ostrich in mobframework for any adventure map
 

Sokomine
Member
 
Posts: 2980
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2012 17:31

by Sokomine » Thu Sep 12, 2013 14:55

AMMOnym wrote: want to make a some Horse mod like ostrich in mobframework for any adventure map

Then start by making the blender model! The rest can be done pretty easily. Also, you may consider doing a donkey or pony instead of a real horse as those are smaller animals - and smaller animals usually look more realistic as far as movement goes.
A list of my mods can be found here.
 

User avatar
AMMOnym
Member
 
Posts: 682
Joined: Tue Sep 10, 2013 14:18
IRC: AMMOnym
In-game: AMMOnym

by AMMOnym » Thu Sep 12, 2013 18:03

its interesting idea
 

PreviousNext

Return to WIP Mods

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 20 guests

cron