Random Ore question

Nubelite
Member
 
Posts: 161
Joined: Mon Jul 16, 2012 23:10

Random Ore question

by Nubelite » Thu Nov 08, 2012 23:02

Is it possible to have stone to give a random ore, stone, or nothing?
 

User avatar
Topywo
Member
 
Posts: 1718
Joined: Fri May 18, 2012 20:27

by Topywo » Thu Nov 08, 2012 23:59

Yes, but you need to do some coding:

http://minetest.net/forum/viewtopic.php?id=3620
 

Nubelite
Member
 
Posts: 161
Joined: Mon Jul 16, 2012 23:10

by Nubelite » Fri Nov 09, 2012 00:28

i mean using none default items. for example the more ores mod.
 

User avatar
Topywo
Member
 
Posts: 1718
Joined: Fri May 18, 2012 20:27

by Topywo » Fri Nov 09, 2012 00:39

In that case you need to make your mod(ification) depended on the non-default mod and change the mod from (example) default:cobble to moreores:copper_lump

or integrate the node-registering and the textures of the nodes from the desired non-default nodes (and ask if the authors don't have a problem with that)

Edit: with changing the mod, I mean changing the mod you call in your lines/in your codes from default to the one you want to use.
Last edited by Topywo on Fri Nov 09, 2012 00:40, edited 1 time in total.
 

Nubelite
Member
 
Posts: 161
Joined: Mon Jul 16, 2012 23:10

by Nubelite » Fri Nov 09, 2012 00:53

is there a way to change the drop of stone? or change all default stone to moreores:stone?

maybe using this

generate_ore("moreores:stone", "default:stone", minp, maxp, get_next_seed(), 1/1/1/1, 8, -31000, 64)

i am not sure the full details of it.
Last edited by Nubelite on Fri Nov 09, 2012 00:57, edited 1 time in total.
 

User avatar
Topywo
Member
 
Posts: 1718
Joined: Fri May 18, 2012 20:27

by Topywo » Fri Nov 09, 2012 01:08

You mean changing all the stone into moreores:stone. I'm not sure. You can override default nodes, see the last part of post 6 of this link:

http://minetest.net/forum/viewtopic.php?id=3496

Post 8 might help you too.

Changing the droppings of any node can be done by changing the 'drop' line. Changing the output is what the leaves/saplings do.
 

Nubelite
Member
 
Posts: 161
Joined: Mon Jul 16, 2012 23:10

by Nubelite » Fri Nov 09, 2012 03:01

im trying to use

Example: Any mod can redefine experimental:tnt by using the name
":experimental:tnt" when registering it.
can't seem to get it to replace the item.

does it have to be
minetest.register_node("stone:stone:default:stone"
or
minetest.register_node(":default:stone"

writing a separate mode named stone.
Last edited by Nubelite on Fri Nov 09, 2012 03:02, edited 1 time in total.
 

Nubelite
Member
 
Posts: 161
Joined: Mon Jul 16, 2012 23:10

by Nubelite » Fri Nov 09, 2012 03:06

just got it
 

Nubelite
Member
 
Posts: 161
Joined: Mon Jul 16, 2012 23:10

by Nubelite » Fri Nov 09, 2012 03:51

what i am trying to do now is have a new empty item that will fall into the players inventory. Then depending on the players pos have it be swapped out for an ore lump.

trying to use the documentation but not full sure as to how to completely do this.
 

User avatar
GloopMaster
Member
 
Posts: 213
Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2012 18:03

by GloopMaster » Fri Nov 09, 2012 04:03

hrm... dunno.
Meow.

That is all.
 

Nubelite
Member
 
Posts: 161
Joined: Mon Jul 16, 2012 23:10

by Nubelite » Fri Nov 09, 2012 06:39

got it working now. thanks for the help guys. i need to fine tune it then i will post it.
 


Return to WIP Mods

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 17 guests

cron